Switch Theme:

Stupid question regarding Independent Characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator




Holy Terra - Lexington, SC

I've got a question. I have a "counts as" Blood Angels army, and was wondering something. Is it possible to have an independent character joined by another independent character? Also, is it possible for an independent character with a jump pack to join a character without the jump pack so long as they aren't more than 2 inches apart, and don't move more than 6 inches? My actual example is that I was wondering if it were possible for a Sanquinary Priest with jump pack to join Mephiston?

Thorian Enclave Inquisitorial Guard - 6000points
Grey Knights - 4000pts
Divine Crusaders - 5000pts
Order of the Argent Shroud - 3500pts
Kabal of the Black Heart - 3000pts
Wife's Deathskulls - 4000pts
My armor is contempt, My shield is disgust, My sword is Hatred. In the Emperor's name, Let none survive.  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





1. An IC can join an IC.

2. Doesn't matter what equipment they have. They always move at the slowest rate.

and for your real question.

3. Mephiston is not an IC. No one can join him.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

^ What he said.

All these rules are spelled out in the Independent Characters ruleset, on page 48.

And like he said, Mephiston is not an Independent Character. He cannot join or be joined by anything, ever.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

I thought this was confusing at first as well, but both Hazard and Darkness are right.

I once had a Captain on a Bike join a Sternguard squad, along with a Librarian in Terminator armor. As long as you keep them in coherency together, they are joined as a single unit.

Follow up question, to build on the OP's (if you don't mind, Lord Astaroth), if I have a retinue that is bought as an upgrade (ie - a Techmarine with Servitors), can I have the Techmarine and Servitors join another squad?

I was under the impression "No", because I always considered the Techmarine and Servitors as their own squad. And since squads can't join with other squads, my gut told me "no", but then someone had recently used this in a list that I played against. This has confused me for awhile, and would like some clarification.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/21 15:52:18


"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

No. An IC with a retinue is no longer an IC, until the retinue is killed. Then the IC becomes an IC again. However, a unit of Servitors is not a retinue, it's a unit to which you may join the Techmarine if you wish. You can join any IC to a unit of Servitors, technically, but only the Techmarine allows them to act normally without taking a Ld test, IIRC.

The only exception to this rule is Tau Battlesuit Commanders with Drones. Drones don't count as a retinue - the Commander and Drones, even though they're a unit of three models, can still join other units like any other IC.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

Ok, so if the Servitors are not a retinue, can the Techmarine join another squad, along with the Servitors? That part is still a little hazy for me.

Btw, you are correct that the Techmarine allows them to act normally without a Ld test.

"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Rurouni Benshin wrote:Ok, so if the Servitors are not a retinue, can the Techmarine join another squad, along with the Servitors? That part is still a little hazy for me. .


No. An IC can only join one unit. If he joins the Servitors (yes, they are a unit) then he cannot join another unit as well.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Mondo is correct. The Servitors are a seperate unit. The Techmarine, who is an IC, may join them. An IC may not join two units at once, unless it's another IC joining the same unit. So no, a Techmarine joined to a unit of Servitors may not then join another unit.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator




Holy Terra - Lexington, SC

Okay, makes sense guys. Thanks!

Thorian Enclave Inquisitorial Guard - 6000points
Grey Knights - 4000pts
Divine Crusaders - 5000pts
Order of the Argent Shroud - 3500pts
Kabal of the Black Heart - 3000pts
Wife's Deathskulls - 4000pts
My armor is contempt, My shield is disgust, My sword is Hatred. In the Emperor's name, Let none survive.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

SaintHazard wrote:^ What he said.

All these rules are spelled out in the Independent Characters ruleset, on page 48.

And like he said, Mephiston is not an Independent Character. He cannot join or be joined by anything, ever.


then this is 100% true.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 06:04:40


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Ohio

DeathReaper wrote:
SaintHazard wrote:^ What he said.

All these rules are spelled out in the Independent Characters ruleset, on page 48.

And like he said, Mephiston is not an Independent Character. He cannot join or be joined by anything, ever.


not 100% true

Mephiston is not an Independent Character, he is a powerful one model unit in his own right, therefore IC's may join his one man unit.



Wrong! PG. 48. Independent character cannot join units that always consist of a single model, such as MC's or most Vehicles.

Orks W-L-D
27-10-8
Daemons W-L-D
6-5-3
Warboss Lemmy's Speed Freaks: 1730pts painted
+ Skullbearers: 750pts painted
DT:90S++G+MB-I+Pw40k09#+D++A+/hWD-R+++T(T)DM+
My Battle Reports: Orks against: Tau , Tau , Tau  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Nice edit there Deathreaper.

In any case, Mephy is always alone because of the rules on page 48. Simple!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: