Switch Theme:

Deep Strike Land Speeder Storm Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine




Can Scouts embarked on a Land Speeder Storm assault after the Land Speeder deep strikes (pending that they are within assault range of an enemy unit)?

The Land Speeder Storm entry is open-topped and does not have the same stipulations as a Drop Pod (which is also open-topped), a StormRaven or a BA Land Raider (whereas they specifically state that though they are open-topped or assault vehicles, their embarked units may not assault in the turn they arrive).


   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Deep striking vehicles count as moving at cruising speed. Check the disembarking rules for vehicles that have moved at cruising speed and you will have your answer as to whether they can assault.
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





Not really.

A unit that is deep-striking can in it's movement phase diembark, but can't assualt. Even if it's an open-topped vehicle.

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







It is clearly spelled out on Page 95. Units that have Deep Struck can only disembark from their vehicle but make no other moves (including assaults).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





How about running?

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Oscarius wrote:How about running?
Why not read the rules?

Page 95 explicitly Details what you can and cannot do in each phase after a deep strike.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





I wasn't serious.
I even checked the rules before I posted the comment, I was just nitpicking a bit on the "no other moves" part. ^^

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

I believe you can, however, move if you can move in the Assault phase instead of assaulting (for example, units with Jet Packs).

Not that this matters regarding transports, since jump infantry cannot embark in them to begin with.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine




Gwar! wrote:It is clearly spelled out on Page 95. Units that have Deep Struck can only disembark from their vehicle but make no other moves (including assaults).



I understand this completely.... but it seems that that ruling doesn't account for the Land Speeder Storm's open-toppedness.

Which is why Drop Pods and the others I've mentioned (whose 'Assault Vehicle' rules are very much like an open-topped vehicle's rule on assaulting) go on to specifially state that those units still cannot assault after deep striking.... but the Storm has no such restriction.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Tsannik wrote:
Gwar! wrote:It is clearly spelled out on Page 95. Units that have Deep Struck can only disembark from their vehicle but make no other moves (including assaults).
I understand this completely.... but it seems that that ruling doesn't account for the Land Speeder Storm's open-toppedness.

Which is why Drop Pods and the others I've mentioned (whose 'Assault Vehicle' rules are very much like an open-topped vehicle's rule on assaulting) go on to specifially state that those units still cannot assault after deep striking.... but the Storm has no such restriction.
So? It's just reminding you what the rulebook says.

You cannot claim one allowance removes a unrelated restriction. If it did, you could assault with Fleet units after disembarking from a Rhino. (Note: You can't do this. )

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/24 23:19:22


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: