Switch Theme:

Veil Of Darkness  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne





Daytona Beach

I have some questions about Veil of Darkness. I've never read the Necrons codex, so I'm unfamiliar with its exact rules and such. One of the members of my casual playing group plays necrons and uses veil of darkness, quite frequently.

My first queston is: Is there a limit to how many times you can use its teleportation?

My second: how does its teleportation work? (we've been playing with it as deep strike rules)

My third: does the whole squad the Necron Lord is attached to also get to teleport?

I'm sorry if I posted this in the wrong place I didnt really know where to put such a topic.

W-T-L
15-3-7
12-1-5
2-0-0 Ogre Kingdoms
1-0-1
1-0-2 'nidz
1-0-0  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







B-DWAGGG wrote:I have some questions about Veil of Darkness. I've never read the Necrons codex, so I'm unfamiliar with its exact rules and such. One of the members of my casual playing group plays necrons and uses veil of darkness, quite frequently.

My first queston is: Is there a limit to how many times you can use its teleportation?

My second: how does its teleportation work? (we've been playing with it as deep strike rules)

My third: does the whole squad the Necron Lord is attached to also get to teleport?

I'm sorry if I posted this in the wrong place I didnt really know where to put such a topic.
1) Per game, No. Per turn, once.
2) Covered in the codex.
3) Covered in the codex.

Ask your opponent to let you read his codex. This forum is not a replacement for codexes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/26 06:49:03


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





@OP: You'll get better answers if you have more specific questions. My advice is, as Gwar! says, to get ahold of the 'Dex and read the entry. Once you've read it and played a game, if the ability is still causing confusion, come back and post the parts of it that cause problems. That way, we know specifically what needs addressing. It also makes it look less like you're trying to get rules without purchasing the requisite GW products.







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch






Odenton, MD

ohhh noes..... can't generally go over the rules for a new player cuz he didn't buy all his opponents codex...


Stop being tools and just answer the questions from posters or don't. Saying its in the codex does not help anyone, of course its in the codex captain obvious.



1. once per movement phase
2. deepstrike is correct
3. yes the unit he is attached to goes with him
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except its in the forum rules, you know.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Except its in the forum rules, you know.
Pffft. Not like anyone follows those things!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch






Odenton, MD

Show me were what I posted broke forum rules. Or are you just going to post "see rules"
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The personal insults, or did you miss that?

Additionally this forum isnt meant to be a replacement for codexes. If you dont have access to the codex that isnt the fault of the forum.
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

It's not in the forum rules, it's in the Legal Stuff. GW has copyrighted those codices (and those copyrights have fewer inaccuracies than the material they copyright ) and we're not allowed to post illegal stuff. Some is tolerated, but page references are preferred.

It's simple, really. If you want your forum to keep a happy existence, then you keep the number of posts your users make containing copyrighted material to a minimum.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne





Daytona Beach

Thanks for the responses, I'm sorry if my questions went against GW copyrights or whatever, but it doesnt seem like asking about 1 rule would really hurt codex sales for them or anything . I've seen alot more covered about rules in this forum then even what I was asking. I tried not to ask about like every single part of the rule, but I did ask about alot of it .

W-T-L
15-3-7
12-1-5
2-0-0 Ogre Kingdoms
1-0-1
1-0-2 'nidz
1-0-0  
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

There is a general principle that users should not give out big chunks of rules allowing other users to avoid having to buy the codex.

In this case however I think three little bits of info about the Veil of Darkness are hardly likely to "break the bank".

Maybe someone could PM the answers?

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

Well, then, without giving out too much:
Q1: See Gwar!
Q2: You've been playing that part right. There are further allowances which I feel I must direct you to your friend's codex*.
Q3: The lord joins the squad he teleports. He can't teleport more than one squad.

Q. Can the veil of darkness be used to teleport a
falling back unit? What if the Lord with the veil
is falling back himself?

A. Veil of darkness may not be used by a Lord
who is Falling Back at the start of the turn (as he
is not free to move normally), and may not be
used to teleport a unit who is Falling Back at the
start of the turn (as he may not join a unit that is
falling back).

Q. Does a Lord who teleports a unit using the
veil of darkness join that unit?

A. Yes. When they deep strike, the Lord has
already joined the unit.

This is from GW's official FAQ.

* What I mean is, which unit type you may choose, what the unit can or can not be doing when you choose them, how far they may be, etc.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne





Daytona Beach

Mahtamori wrote:Well, then, without giving out too much:
Q1: See Gwar!
Q2: You've been playing that part right. There are further allowances which I feel I must direct you to your friend's codex*.
Q3: The lord joins the squad he teleports. He can't teleport more than one squad.

Q. Can the veil of darkness be used to teleport a
falling back unit? What if the Lord with the veil
is falling back himself?

A. Veil of darkness may not be used by a Lord
who is Falling Back at the start of the turn (as he
is not free to move normally), and may not be
used to teleport a unit who is Falling Back at the
start of the turn (as he may not join a unit that is
falling back).

Q. Does a Lord who teleports a unit using the
veil of darkness join that unit?

A. Yes. When they deep strike, the Lord has
already joined the unit.

This is from GW's official FAQ.

* What I mean is, which unit type you may choose, what the unit can or can not be doing when you choose them, how far they may be, etc.



Thank you Mahtamori, this was a very helpful response. Yeah next time I play I'll look over his codex with him to make sure we fully understand it.

W-T-L
15-3-7
12-1-5
2-0-0 Ogre Kingdoms
1-0-1
1-0-2 'nidz
1-0-0  
   
Made in au
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge



Tongala, Victoria, Australia

Clthomps wrote:ohhh noes..... can't generally go over the rules for a new player cuz he didn't buy all his opponents codex...


Stop being tools and just answer the questions from posters or don't. Saying its in the codex does not help anyone, of course its in the codex captain obvious.



1. once per movement phase
2. deepstrike is correct
3. yes the unit he is attached to goes with him


The 'dex actually says any unit within 6"
   
Made in gb
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






And remember you can veil out of combat too which is a BIG thing.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: