Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
In previous incarnations of 40k I used to get hammered as people claimed that they could see the large fins on the back of the old raider (you know above the rocket engine!)
Now with tlos and the new raider mini I have the following question:
does the sail count as part of the vehicle (as in not an antenna or whatever) ie if you can only see the sail can you shoot the raider down?
and is it cheesy to remove the tall parts so your raiders can more easily hide as in the bottom picture below?
If your answer is "no" then it doesnt matter if you remove it or not, it isnt a valid target.
This.
If I were to pick up DE again, I would remove the sail anyway because it looks silly!
BTW, your question is the 2nd into my Local draft of the FAQ (After "How do ranged poisoned weapons work?", as I assume they don't fix that for DE when ignoring it for SM and BA).
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/28 00:25:51
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail. Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
If your answer is "no" then it doesnt matter if you remove it or not, it isnt a valid target.
This.
If I were to pick up DE again, I would remove the sail anyway because it looks silly!
BTW, your question is the 2nd into my Local draft of the FAQ (After "How do ranged poisoned weapons work?", as I assume they don't fix that for DE when ignoring it for SM and BA).
I'm expecting we will need a FAQ for the special rule that grants bonuses for wiping out enemy units when combats aren't a straight 1 on 1 affair.
I just have no faith that GW can navigate the delicate minefield that that rule has the potential to be.
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers
If your answer is "no" then it doesnt matter if you remove it or not, it isnt a valid target.
This.
If I were to pick up DE again, I would remove the sail anyway because it looks silly!
BTW, your question is the 2nd into my Local draft of the FAQ (After "How do ranged poisoned weapons work?", as I assume they don't fix that for DE when ignoring it for SM and BA).
Yay - sensible people :-)
Basically this is what used to be shot at (assume the green was cover that you can't see through)
And I'd get a krak rocket in the tail... But if its not the hull then jolly good :-)
This is what my raiders will be playing as they capture souls for She Who Thirsts:
sail is not a hull. Wings are not a hull. antenna are not a hull.
I dont think DE are tacking their way across the board so the sail is just cosmetic. That and the slave skimm...er raider looks better without it.
Oh I come from a land, from a faraway space
Where the caravan shuttles roam
Where the war is immense
And the fights are intense
It's barbaric, but hey, it's home
Imperium nights
Like Imperium days
More often than not
Are hotter than hot
In a lot of good ways
Walrus wrote:sail is not a hull. Wings are not a hull. antenna are not a hull.
I dont think DE are tacking their way across the board so the sail is just cosmetic. That and the slave skimm...er raider looks better without it.
Actually, wings can magically become part of the hull if we're talking about a Valkyrie, even though every definition I've ever seen of either of those terms screams otherwise.
daedalus wrote:Actually, wings can magically become part of the hull if we're talking about a Valkyrie, even though every definition I've ever seen of either of those terms screams otherwise.
You have serious issues targeting Eldar vehicles as well then?
(Also, the word on a. . .flyer should be "fusilage" if you want to nit-pick)
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
The issue with Valkyries and Vendettas is that they have weapons mounted out on their wings, which means technically they can shoot around corners without being shot back, so most players seem to reason that you can shoot back.
It would be like if you mounted your Dark Lance up on top of the sail of the Raider. It sits behind cover and is "completely out of LOS" but "its gun can see you."
Similar issue to Deffrolla size, as a matter of fact.
Xca|iber wrote:The issue with Valkyries and Vendettas is that they have weapons mounted out on their wings, which means technically they can shoot around corners without being shot back
You mean like tons of other vehicles? (Aka almost everything with Sponsons)
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/29 04:11:33
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail. Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
Yeah, how is that different from anything with sponsons, a razorback, a whirlwind, an exorcist, the Tau ship that has the smart missile rack going across the top of it...?
daedalus wrote:Yeah, how is that different from anything with sponsons, a razorback, a whirlwind, an exorcist, the Tau ship that has the smart missile rack going across the top of it...?
Well, to be fair, the Whirlywind of Doomâ„¢ is Barrage...
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail. Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
daedalus wrote:Yeah, how is that different from anything with sponsons, a razorback, a whirlwind, an exorcist, the Tau ship that has the smart missile rack going across the top of it...?
Because normal sponsons don't stick out nearly as far. Even if a predator/russ was in a position to shoot around a corner with a sponson weapon, anything it's shooting at would almost certainly be able to reposition to gain LOS to the hull of the vehicle. Due to the distance that Valk sponsons stick out (with regard to the wing-mounted weapons), this may not always be the case. Naturally, it shouldn't really come up that much due to how tall the thing sits above the battlefield.
I was really just responding to why lots of people play that you can shoot Valkyries if only their wings are visible.
The rules don't give any explicit rules for determining what is a turret or not, I think that in general people are going to treat any weapons mount as a turret (and hence targetable) because otherwise you get the 'I can shoot you, you can't shoot me' silliness going on.
BearersOfSalvation wrote:The rules don't give any explicit rules for determining what is a turret or not, I think that in general people are going to treat any weapons mount as a turret (and hence targetable) because otherwise you get the 'I can shoot you, you can't shoot me' silliness going on.
Except that there are "Turret mounted" weapons, "Hull Mounted" weapons, "Sponson mounted" Weapons and "Pintle Mounted" weapons. Two of those 4 would constitute as "Hull or Turret". If you are saying that you can target my sponson (as it is a "turret") I certainly hope that you are willing to give me the full range of fire of the turret(360 degree arc)!
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
BearersOfSalvation wrote:The rules don't give any explicit rules for determining what is a turret or not, I think that in general people are going to treat any weapons mount as a turret (and hence targetable) because otherwise you get the 'I can shoot you, you can't shoot me' silliness going on.
Except that there are "Turret mounted" weapons, "Hull Mounted" weapons, "Sponson mounted" Weapons and "Pintle Mounted" weapons. Two of those 4 would constitute as "Hull or Turret". If you are saying that you can target my sponson (as it is a "turret") I certainly hope that you are willing to give me the full range of fire of the turret(360 degree arc)!
A sponson is a projection of a ship or airplane's hull, it's not a turret.
In my experience, most people tend to be pretty reasonable about what is 'hull'. This tends to be, but is not limited to:
any part of the model which is mandatory for the construction of the vehicle
turrets
But does NOT include:
gun barrels
antenna
banners
In this case, I think there is a pretty strong argument for treating the sail like a banner. It is optional, decorative, fulfils no obvious purpose in keeping the raider functioning...
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote:Except that there are "Turret mounted" weapons, "Hull Mounted" weapons, "Sponson mounted" Weapons and "Pintle Mounted" weapons. Two of those 4 would constitute as "Hull or Turret". If you are saying that you can target my sponson (as it is a "turret") I certainly hope that you are willing to give me the full range of fire of the turret(360 degree arc)!
There are no rules specifically about 'wing mounted weapons' or 'really long antenna mounted' weapons. If you have a weapon mounted on some object that projects 6" from what you're calling the hull around cover and try to fire it at me, I'm going to shoot back at you. I certainly hope that you're not the kind of TFG who models for advantage and then tries to use specific rule wording that doesn't even cover the situation to argue that he can shoot but can't be shot back at, but that's apparently not the case here. If you stick a brightlance onto an antenna and try to shoot without being shot, don't try to paint me as the unreasonable one.
If I feel really adventurous, I show up next week with a round barrel mounted on a 3 foot flexible extension arm and start firing my vindicator 50" around buildings and past my LOS-blocking rhinos that have extra armor modeled as a 6" high 12" long rectangular shield on one side and tell you that you can't target me because, hey, it's not a turret.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/01 16:54:12