| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2005/12/07 08:36:35
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Chosen Baal Sec Youngblood
|
As we all know it clearly states in the Rule Book that you may only launch an assault against the same unit you shot at previously. What if, however, you destroy the enemy unit you shot at and they are no longer on the table. Do you forfeit your assault with that unit or can you pick another target? This is a debate that happens with a few of my friends. I think you can pick a different unit to assault if that is the case, but I might be wrong. Any thoughts?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/28 06:36:38
Fight For The Living. Fight For The Dead! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 06:39:15
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
The Ministry of Love: Room 101
|
No, the only time you can assault something you didn't shoot at is if you shot and destroyed a transport.
In that case you may assault the unit that cam out of said tranport.
Bottom Line: If you think you might kill something you want to assault by shooting it, dont shoot it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 08:25:26
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Neo - Yep, you are wrong.
Once you've shot at a unit that is your only valid target for assault (with the exception for transport vehicles).
Careful what you shoot if you're planning to assault.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 09:04:14
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
So, if you shoot at a transport and crack it open, the formerly carried troops are now valid targets for assault? Then we have been screwing that up...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 09:07:59
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:So, if you shoot at a transport and crack it open, the formerly carried troops are now valid targets for assault? Then we have been screwing that up...
That is correct.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 09:19:37
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
See the Note under "Destroyed" on P67
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 09:33:58
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
d-oh!!! missed that one! now I feel dumb, RTFM!!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 09:51:25
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Don't feel dumb, it's not like all of us would look for Assault rules under Transports in the Vehicle section. ;-)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 10:51:49
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
And it's tucked at the end of note about not splitting fire between the transport and the occupants.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 14:38:17
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is also a change from 3rd and 4th ed rules, so if you're playing with us old timers they may have not quite caught up yet...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 14:52:12
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yeah, I miss being able to go 12" with my Rhinos, Disembark my GH 2" out the front, Shoot at a unit 12" away and then assault another unit.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 15:06:09
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! - context man, context
I meant the change in 5th that allowed you to assault a transports contents. Although i miss RR...Bezerkers need access to Thunderrhinos!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 16:02:19
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Scott-S6 wrote:
Once you've shot at a unit that is your only valid target for assault (with the exception for transport vehicles).
That's not entirely correct, only mostly.
You can assault more than one unit, not just the one you shot at, assuming you follow all the rules for assault moves under Moving Assaulting Models and Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 16:25:25
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Scott-S6 wrote:
Once you've shot at a unit that is your only valid target for assault (with the exception for transport vehicles).
That's not entirely correct, only mostly.
You can assault more than one unit, not just the one you shot at, assuming you follow all the rules for assault moves under Moving Assaulting Models and Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units.
Yes, but you can only DECLARE an assault against the unit you shot at. If the unit is destroyed, you can't declare an assault against another unit, even if you would have been able to multi assault it had you not destroyed the first unit.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 16:37:11
Subject: Assaulting the same unit you just shot at....or?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Gwar! wrote:Yeah, I miss being able to go 12" with my Rhinos, Disembark my GH 2" out the front, Shoot at a unit 12" away and then assault another unit. 
I miss going 18" with my Rhinos, disembarking my blood angels 2" out the front, shooting a unit 12" and first turn assaulting another unit with furious charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|