Switch Theme:

Ramming and CC with Walkers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

I had a very odd game with some strange rule questions.
My opponent had 2 dreadnoughts side by side 11" from my gunless Vindicator, so of course I rammed them both.
Not quite as silly as it seems, one was immobile the other had lost its DCCW.
The Disarmed dread took the ram and the immobile one went with Death or Glory.
Then with more luck than a person should have my Vindicator survived.
I shook the immobile dread and immobilized the other.
Comes my assault phase he wanted to attack my Vindy with the Dreads as we were BtB.
We decided that since they had not assaulted last turn they could not.
Next turn his shooting immobilzed the Vindicator.
Comes his assault phase he wishes to assault the Vindy...LOL even though all the vehicles were immobile and Base to Base, I agreed that he could at this point.
I wonder if this was the best way to handle this? any other thoughts?

Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Correct that the dreads cannot attack since they did not launch an assault, even though they were in BTB.

There is nothing specifically prohibiting an immobilized dread from launching an assault.
However, a model launching an assault is required to make an assault move, which an immobilized walker cannot do.
On the other hand, it needs to make an assault move of 0".

I would have to say no - the dread cannot make an assault move so cannot launch an assault.
I would probably allow it though - it's a very extreme case which the rules don't really cover and it makes sense.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

"Moving 0 inches" is not the same thing as "immobilized."

In order to launch an assault, an assault move must be made. If the Dread cannot move, it cannot launch an assault. Unfortunately, that Dread just gets to sit there and stare at the Vindicator all day.

It's a silly situation, but them's the breaks.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





SeattleDV8 wrote:
The Disarmed dread took the ram and the immobile one went with Death or Glory.
Then with more luck than a person should have my Vindicator survived.
I shook the immobile dread and immobilized the other.
Comes my assault phase he wanted to attack my Vindy with the Dreads as we were BtB.


The Dread that used Death or Glory died immediately after failing to stop your Vindicator.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

A dread doesn't die on a DoG hit, it takes the ram on its rear armor instead.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Ah, so it will.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Uh, aren't they supposed to be moved 1" away from the vehicle that rammed anyway?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Kevin949 wrote:Uh, aren't they supposed to be moved 1" away from the vehicle that rammed anyway?

Er, no? Where in the rules for ramming is that stated?

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






SaintHazard wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:Uh, aren't they supposed to be moved 1" away from the vehicle that rammed anyway?

Er, no? Where in the rules for ramming is that stated?


Page 68, little red book. States that if enemy models in the enemy unit would end up underneath the vehicle then they must be moved at least 1" away from the ramming vehicle and maintain unit coherency.

It does also state that if it comes into contact with an enemy vehicle that it stops immediately 1" away, and before you say that tank shocking =! ramming, Ramming is a form of tank shocking as stated by the rules.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/01 04:51:51


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Kevin949 wrote:
SaintHazard wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:Uh, aren't they supposed to be moved 1" away from the vehicle that rammed anyway?

Er, no? Where in the rules for ramming is that stated?


Page 68, little red book. States that if enemy models in the enemy unit would end up underneath the vehicle then they must be moved at least 1" away from the ramming vehicle and maintain unit coherency.

It does also state that if it comes into contact with an enemy vehicle that it stops immediately 1" away, and before you say that tank shocking =! ramming, Ramming is a form of tank shocking as stated by the rules.


While it is true that ramming is a type of tank shock; it also has it's own rules that trump Tank shock:

1)Ramming must be declared on it's own

2)Ramming forces full movement available, tank shock allows declaration of distance

3)Ramming requires contact with the enemy vehicle, Tank shock stops you 1" away

In the situation given the models are indeed in Base contact and remain as such for the rest of the game.

The dreads can in fact attack the Vindicator all game long in every dreadnought assault phase(and can even shoot it, or other units in the shooting phase) Page 63 og the BRB, under the heading "Successive Turns", first and third paragraphs.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

That successive terms paragraphs refers to being in base contact after an assault, bot just being in base contact.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






You are correct: I took the Paragraph and it's rules out of context, which is my own mistake(I find Context to be very important in GW rules)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

No problem, I just realized I told you it was "bot just being in base contact"...I have no idea what that means!

Maybe I meant not...

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Kevin949 wrote:
SaintHazard wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:Uh, aren't they supposed to be moved 1" away from the vehicle that rammed anyway?

Er, no? Where in the rules for ramming is that stated?


Page 68, little red book. States that if enemy models in the enemy unit would end up underneath the vehicle then they must be moved at least 1" away from the ramming vehicle and maintain unit coherency.

It does also state that if it comes into contact with an enemy vehicle that it stops immediately 1" away, and before you say that tank shocking =! ramming, Ramming is a form of tank shocking as stated by the rules.

That's my point. You're quoting the rules for tank shocking, not ramming.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Ya, just another case of walkers getting the best benefit of both vehicle/infantry with none of the drawbacks of either.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: