Switch Theme:

ap1 immolator with act of faith: divine guidance?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Tucson AZ

I am kinda new to using the witchhunter acts of faith...

I was curious if using divine guidance on a squad of sisters inside a immolator transport infers the benefit to the vehicles weapon as it is part of "the entire unit"

I have not tried doing this, but the idea dawned on me today for some reason, and after rrules review I can't see a reason why it would not result in ap1 immolator spam

& both sold in 4th ed
2000 painted, WTB Nightlords character & FOC jank kthx
5000 playable/paint 85% done
STC explorator force in production
Elysians planned, awaiting Raging Heroes Kickstarter goodies
preplanning, almost backburnered 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






a transport vehilce is not part of the unit it is transporting, this can be seen repeatedly throughout the rules but I don't have my rulebook so I will have to go with something I am confident about.

If the vehicle was part of the unit, given the fact a unit has to be either entirely embarked or entirely not-embarked, the transport would have to embark into itself.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Not to mention the fact the transport is not Faithful, so if it was part of the unit the unit itself could not use an AoF.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Not to mention that if the transport was part of the unit, you would be forced to remain in coherency with it all game...

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Gwar! wrote:Not to mention that if the transport was part of the unit, you would be forced to remain in coherency with it all game...


What a bummer that would be if you got an immobilized result.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

calypso2ts wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Not to mention that if the transport was part of the unit, you would be forced to remain in coherency with it all game...


What a bummer that would be if you got an immobilized result.


Nah, that wouldn't be too bad. Vehicles in a squadron are destroyed on an immobilized result. And, I can only assume a vehicle that's part of an infantry squad would obey the same rules as vehicles in a squadron.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Grakmar wrote:Vehicles in a squadron are destroyed on an immobilized result. And, I can only assume a vehicle that's part of an infantry squad would obey the same rules as vehicles in a squadron.


Why? It's an infantry squad, not a vehicle squadron.
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Tucson AZ

calypso2ts wrote:Not to mention the fact the transport is not Faithful, so if it was part of the unit the unit itself could not use an AoF.


This was the part that made me raise the question in the first part... an immolator is crewed by sisters, not admechs or other heathans.

& both sold in 4th ed
2000 painted, WTB Nightlords character & FOC jank kthx
5000 playable/paint 85% done
STC explorator force in production
Elysians planned, awaiting Raging Heroes Kickstarter goodies
preplanning, almost backburnered 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

edweird wrote:
calypso2ts wrote:Not to mention the fact the transport is not Faithful, so if it was part of the unit the unit itself could not use an AoF.


This was the part that made me raise the question in the first part... an immolator is crewed by sisters, not admechs or other heathans.

Crew means exactly nothing.

Does the vehicle have the "Faithful" special rule? No. So it can't benefit from Acts of Faith.

Furthermore, the vehicle isn't even part of the unit using the Act of Faith, so even if it WAS Faithful, it couldn't use the Act anyway.

So, bottom line, no.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







edweird wrote:
calypso2ts wrote:Not to mention the fact the transport is not Faithful, so if it was part of the unit the unit itself could not use an AoF.


This was the part that made me raise the question in the first part... an immolator is crewed by sisters, not admechs or other heathans.
So? It could be crewed by Saint Celestine herself, unless it had the "Faithful" or the "Adepta Soritatas" rule, it doesn't benefit from Acts of Faith.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Tucson AZ

Okie dokie, I guess that solves that then...

Side point, I beleive its a-ok to use an act of faith on an embarked unit and fire there ap1 heavy flamer out of the fire point? Right?

& both sold in 4th ed
2000 painted, WTB Nightlords character & FOC jank kthx
5000 playable/paint 85% done
STC explorator force in production
Elysians planned, awaiting Raging Heroes Kickstarter goodies
preplanning, almost backburnered 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Yes it's OK to use an act of faith on an embarked faithful unit. However you seem to be laboring under a misconception. The act of faith that you are referring to only makes a roll of "6" on the wounding into an AP1 wound regardless of the weapon used. All other wounds are normal for the weapon.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Florida

Vehicles are not faithful.

/thread

Comparing tournament records is another form of e-peen measuring.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: