Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 22:47:30
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
New Troy
|
I recently played a game and my opponent moved his tank into difficult terrain and got immobilized. I just so happened to have a biker with melta bombs so I decided to assault so two questions remain. It is immobilized so do I hit automatically or have to role because he moved beforehand? Also, can vehicles still fire within one inch?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 22:49:34
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
NamTaey wrote:I recently played a game and my opponent moved his tank into difficult terrain and got immobilized. I just so happened to have a biker with melta bombs so I decided to assault so two questions remain. It is immobilized so do I hit automatically or have to role because he moved beforehand? Also, can vehicles still fire within one inch?
You auto hit and Yes. The rules for hitting vehicles in assault explicitly say if you are Immobilised you auto hit. Nothing prevents vehicles shooting within 1" so long as they have line of sight.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/28 22:50:18
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 22:50:59
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
New Troy
|
Holy crap, that was exactly one minute Gwar!
That is what I thought, thank you!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 22:52:05
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Vehicles without a WS are never locked in combat, so yes they could still fire IF they have LoS to the target from the weapon.
Assaulting a vehicle = BRB pg 63, look at the chart on the left as it will tell you clearly what happens when immobilized.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 22:55:49
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Now what if he decided to assault your bikers, as they are "involved in the melee combat" with the vehicle, would he strike at I1 for assaulting through difficult terrain to get there, or would the "its already involved in an assault" rule apply?
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 22:59:56
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
You are not locked in combat with a vehicle though, which is what the assault through cover rules mention as needed. Editing to clarify: vehicle without a weapon skill
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/28 23:04:53
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/28 23:02:21
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
kirsanth wrote:You are not locked in combat with a vehicle though, which is what the assault through cover rules mention as needed.
True that, good to know!
|
In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster
Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 04:21:43
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
Alabama
|
If Kharn assaults my Land Raider but is right next to the Lascannon mount (so the gun can't point directly at him because the barrels are to long) can the Land Raider still shoot him? I told him there was nothing preventing me from shooting him as I had no minimum fireing distance and I wasted Kharn's face. Was this the wrong call or correct one?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 04:42:23
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, you said it yourself, Kharn was not in your weapons Arc of Fire....
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 06:33:37
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
ChrisCP wrote:Well, you said it yourself, Kharn was not in your weapons Arc of Fire....
He was within the Arc of Fire (180 degrees), but since you cannot draw a line from the muzzle of the gun to Kharn...then it cannot fire.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 06:44:16
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
?How can something that's behind an arc of fire be with-in the arc of fire?
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 06:45:59
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer
The Ministry of Love: Room 101
|
I believe he was referring to the Arc of the sponson, rather than the Arc of fire from the gun barrel
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 06:51:13
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Lubeck
|
Actually, the point is that you have to draw LOS from the gun barrel IIRC? Nothing tells you that this line of sight has to be parallel to the gun barrel. Theoretically, you could "shoot a shell out of a gun barrel at 90°", as far as I know - as long the target is inside the firing arc. Anybody want to support/correct me?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/29 06:52:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 06:56:36
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Witzkatz wrote:Actually, the point is that you have to draw LOS from the gun barrel IIRC? Nothing tells you that this line of sight has to be parallel to the gun barrel. Theoretically, you could "shoot a shell out of a gun barrel at 90°", as far as I know - as long the target is inside the firing arc. Anybody want to support/correct me? 
Theoretically, I could smash all your models with a hammer and call it victory by Wipe Out.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 07:06:12
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Lubeck
|
Theoretically, I could smash all your models with a hammer and call it victory by Wipe Out.
No, because smashing models with hammers isn't allowed by the rulebook. Why the aggression, by the way?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 07:58:04
Subject: One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It tells you to draw line ALONG the barrel, so yes you do need to have LOS parallel to the barrel.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 08:26:12
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Witzkatz wrote:Theoretically, I could smash all your models with a hammer and call it victory by Wipe Out.
No, because smashing models with hammers isn't allowed by the rulebook.
And neither is what you posted. I was posting two similar things, without using "like" or "as": a metaphor.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/29 15:26:52
Subject: Re:One Inch of a Vehicle
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Lubeck
|
Ah, I apologize to you two. I forgot about the "along" part, I'm a few thousand miles away from my rulebook right now. Just to be clear, I'm happy that this rule isn't as crazy as I thought it would be.
|
|
 |
 |
|