Switch Theme:

moving through squadrons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ie
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




Say you have a unit of Leman Russ tanks. There's a gap of 4" between them. Can an enemy unit move through that gap as normal? I'm sure they cannot, since it's 'moving through an enemy unit'.
   
Made in gb
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge



Norfolk (the UK one)

As long as they dont come within 1" of either model then I would think it ok. Havnt got my book to check exact wordings tho.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







The only restiction is "a model may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting."

So yes, you can move through the squadron all you want, so long as there is actually space.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Correct. The rule is that you may not pass within 1" of an enemy model. If your model, with, say a 1" base, wishes to pass between two vehicles that are 4" apart, you've got more than half an inch clearance on either side of your 1" base, giving you plenty of room to move through there. You could even more your troops through two-by-two in that situation if you wanted!

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ie
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




"[...] unless assaulting."

So if the unit is NOT assaulting, and the Tanks are spaced 3" apart, they can't move through the gap to say, contest an objective? At 3" apart, that would mean that moving through the unit is possible, but that the enemy units will be within 1" of a tank.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have to be within 1", if you are at 1.0001" you are fine.

Remember that your base also isnt exactly 1" across...
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

There is no restriction on moving through an enemy unit.

You cannot move closer than 1" outside of assaulting.

As long as there is space to put a model between 2 enemies and maintain a 1" distance from each enemy, the move is perfectly legal.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:You have to be within 1", if you are at 1.0001" you are fine.

Remember that your base also isnt exactly 1" across...
Even 1" is fine, as evidenced by the assault rules that allow you to assault on a 1,1 if 1" away.

Page 36:
Note that if a model stopped 1" away from the enemy in the Movement or Shooting phase...

Though this might be an example of the Famous "GW rule that cannot actually work at all", ala Doom of Malan'tai's Warp Field or Taking Skimmers off the base when Immobile. -Shrug-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/29 20:23:32


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I think this was an exception to the rule - to stop the infamous double-1 assault denial result...
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:I think this was an exception to the rule - to stop the infamous double-1 assault denial result...
Yes, but the rule explicitly states that this only applies to a "model stopped 1" away".

Since on page 3 it is defined that something that is exactly 2" away is "Within 2 [inches]" (although I will be the first to admit that it is somewhat vague), this means models may never move exactly 1" away, as the Movement rules state that models "may not move within 1" of an enemy model unless assaulting."

So, yay for useless rules! Who wants a pint?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/29 20:35:20


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Washington DC

garigon wrote:Say you have a unit of Leman Russ tanks. There's a gap of 4" between them. Can an enemy unit move through that gap as normal? I'm sure they cannot, since it's 'moving through an enemy unit'.
only if that unit is on a "Terminator" sized base or smaller (even the termi base is arguable).

4" across = maximum of 2" corridor (as you can't move within 1" of EITHER of my vehicles in the squadron.

In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster

Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Termi bases are 40mm, so perfectly fine.

No Dreadnought sized bases can fit through though.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: