Switch Theme:

Chimera Mobile Command Vehicle  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne





Daytona Beach

I was looking through my codex a few minutes ago and was reading the mobile command vehicle rule. It pretty much says that a commad sqaud/pcs can issue orders out of it, but my question is if the squad you are issuing the orders to is in a chimera as well would they be able to receive the order? Or does them being in a Chimera not allow it?

W-T-L
15-3-7
12-1-5
2-0-0 Ogre Kingdoms
1-0-1
1-0-2 'nidz
1-0-0  
   
Made in be
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






In the Wasteland

for example, how can a unit IN a chimera execute the 'Get down!' or, MOVE,MOVE,MOVE!' order.

They can't recieve the order. hope this helped.



 
   
Made in us
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne





Daytona Beach

Scrazza wrote:for example, how can a unit IN a chimera execute the 'Get down!' or, MOVE,MOVE,MOVE!' order.

They can't recieve the order. hope this helped.


Yeah, some orders wouldnt work at all, but im mainly asking about orders like "Fire on my target" and "Bring it down" stuff like that. Because I know you can fire 5 shots from your squad out of the hatch, and if you could have them following orders this could be a very good thing lol.

W-T-L
15-3-7
12-1-5
2-0-0 Ogre Kingdoms
1-0-1
1-0-2 'nidz
1-0-0  
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





No, if the unit is in vehicle it can't be ordered around. This strangely include the Commander's own unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/02 18:41:38


If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne





Daytona Beach

Oscarius wrote:No, if the unit is in vehicle it can't be ordered around. This strangely include the Commander's own unit.


Thank you for your help, both posters.

W-T-L
15-3-7
12-1-5
2-0-0 Ogre Kingdoms
1-0-1
1-0-2 'nidz
1-0-0  
   
Made in be
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






In the Wasteland

I think is says somewhere in the codex that you can't give orders to embarked units. But problem solved, and was glad to help.



 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






P29 "Orders cannot be issued to squads that are embarked in a transport vehicle or units that have already run, made a shooting attack or have already received an order that turn."

So, technically, you could issue an order to an embarked IC. Very strange wording - why switch from squads to units mid-sentence?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Scott-S6 wrote:why switch from squads to units mid-sentence?
GW Are idiots who can't proofread?

Also, "Squads" doesn't mean anything in the rules, so you can't target an IC.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






You're allowed to target "units".
"select a single friendly non-vehicle unit"

You are not allowed to target embarked squads. So an embarked IC is valid.

If the word squad is considered to be meaningless then you can target all embarked units.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/02 20:32:18


 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

Gwar! wrote:
Also, "Squads" doesn't mean anything in the rules, so you can't target an IC.


Wouldn't this make Scott's observation valid? If you can't give orders to derp embarked in a transport, then I'd think you could still give orders to units embarked, especially since they differentiated between the two in the very same sentence, accident or otherwise.

Something I'd never play, just by virtue of so few of the orders actually making sense in that situation, and I'd go for intent of rules at this point.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






daedalus wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Also, "Squads" doesn't mean anything in the rules, so you can't target an IC.


Wouldn't this make Scott's observation valid? If you can't give orders to derp embarked in a transport, then I'd think you could still give orders to units embarked, especially since they differentiated between the two in the very same sentence, accident or otherwise.

Something I'd never play, just by virtue of so few of the orders actually making sense in that situation, and I'd go for intent of rules at this point.


I almost said the same thing as scott; then I read the IG codex. Every unit(comprised of more than 1 model, except for Conscripts) is Named a Squad; so we do have a term that holds meaning, it is specifying names.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Quite so. In which case embarked ICs are valid targets for orders (they are a non-vehicle unit and they are not an embarked squad).
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Embarked ANYTHING are a target. IC's are Units, as is an Infantry Squad.

Yeah, I made a booboo and misread.

-sigh- Why can't GW hire proofreaders.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/03 17:00:24


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Gwar; an infantry Squad is a unit(not forbidden by virtue of unit status), but it is still by name a Squad(Squads are specifically forbidden)


P.S. Given GWs history of writing Squad when they mean unit(they have done it several times in this editions Codexes, and have changed most of them through Errata) I generally Play(and just about read) any instances of "squad" to mean "Unit" in Army rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/03 19:54:22


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: