Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 07:38:51
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
the said squad also fired its bolter guns after disembarking. its a noob question, but hay, atleast it only needs a short answer. ty
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/03 07:39:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 08:21:06
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Powerful Pegasus Knight
|
Short answer: Yes.
Long answer: Yes, but this should really be in the 40k section.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 10:23:14
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, you cannot disembark after moving flat out, which rhinos cannot do, meaning you can disembark at cruising speed.
As above - please take note of the section you post in
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 10:28:11
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Moving thread to 40K YMDC.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 11:46:18
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
Not only you can disembark, but also unload bolter fire from the squad
|
"Any problem caused by a tank, can be solved by a tank." - Peter Griffin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 15:51:49
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
Breaking Something Valuable
|
You definitley can- though you can't move or assault. I think you can still run, tho.
Make sure to unload and shoot with everything you've got- enough bolter shots can down almost anything, especially if you have multiple squads.
|
YOU ALL!
DS:90S++G++MB++I+Pw40k09#+D++A+/eWD-R++T(S)DM+
: ANGRY MARINES! RAGE INFINITE!
Tyr Redfang's Great Company
: The Primal Host- Double as Angry Marines who went to far... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 16:27:39
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Your Question is backward OP; it should read: Can marines shoot there bolters after disembarking from a rhino that moved 12"(or over 6").
To which the answer is yes; but they cannot Fire their bolters while still on board a Rhino that moved over 6"
Nos: Blood Angels Rhinos can move flat out; in which case the marines could neither disembark, nor fire their bolters out of the firing point(Note: the Blood angels still could not fire from the firing point if the Rhino moved more than 6")
Darkwolf:Yes you can still run(since it is done instead of shooting and their are no caveats stating you cannot run). Also so long as you disembark in such a manner as to get the whole squad within double-tap range(12" or less) you must fire twice per marine(there is no holding back you always fire to full effect). Just wanted to state the last part because remembering to "unload and shoot with everything you've got" is unnecessary; you Have to do that.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 16:33:21
Subject: Re:can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Except in this instance the unit still counts as moving. So you can not fire heavy weapons or shoot past 12". Remember no matter how far the vehicle moved (even a pivot in place) the unit inside counts as moving.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 16:37:03
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
Breaking Something Valuable
|
Nah, I meant that you should concentrate multiple units on what you want to kill, if possible. That alludes to the 'Rhino Rush' Strategy.
|
YOU ALL!
DS:90S++G++MB++I+Pw40k09#+D++A+/eWD-R++T(S)DM+
: ANGRY MARINES! RAGE INFINITE!
Tyr Redfang's Great Company
: The Primal Host- Double as Angry Marines who went to far... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 19:18:42
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Darkwolf:Yes you can still run(since it is done instead of shooting and their are no caveats stating you cannot run). Also so long as you disembark in such a manner as to get the whole squad within double-tap range(12" or less) you must fire twice per marine(there is no holding back you always fire to full effect).
This is not true - there is no rule saying you always fire to full effect or that obligates you to fire twice per marine (in fact, with a typical tac squad you can't). While it is true that if you fire a rapid-fire weapon at a target under 12" away you always fire twice, normal marines are equipped with a bolt gun and bolt pistol, and can choose to fire the bolt pistol (12" one shot) instead of the bolt gun. While typically you fire the bolt pistols instead of bolt guns because you want to assault, there is no rule that you have to fire the bolters if you can't assault. You're also not obligated to use special weapons, so the flamer guy can use his bolt pistol if he can't line up a shot (friendly models have caught me on that) and the plasma gunner can use his bolt pistol if you want to avoid a gets hot, the heavy weapons guy has to use the pistol, and of course you don't have to use up a combi-weapon if you don't want to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/03 19:35:08
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
BearersOfSalvation wrote:Kommissar Kel wrote:Darkwolf:Yes you can still run(since it is done instead of shooting and their are no caveats stating you cannot run). Also so long as you disembark in such a manner as to get the whole squad within double-tap range(12" or less) you must fire twice per marine(there is no holding back you always fire to full effect).
This is not true - there is no rule saying you always fire to full effect or that obligates you to fire twice per marine (in fact, with a typical tac squad you can't). While it is true that if you fire a rapid-fire weapon at a target under 12" away you always fire twice, normal marines are equipped with a bolt gun and bolt pistol, and can choose to fire the bolt pistol (12" one shot) instead of the bolt gun. While typically you fire the bolt pistols instead of bolt guns because you want to assault, there is no rule that you have to fire the bolters if you can't assault. You're also not obligated to use special weapons, so the flamer guy can use his bolt pistol if he can't line up a shot (friendly models have caught me on that) and the plasma gunner can use his bolt pistol if you want to avoid a gets hot, the heavy weapons guy has to use the pistol, and of course you don't have to use up a combi-weapon if you don't want to.
May statement was in regards to firing with the Bolters, not any other weapons; Yes you can choose to fire the bolt pistols in any shooting phase(handy when you want to soften up a unit a little before you want to assault).
The rules do however tell you how a rapid fire weapon fires when you are within 12"(2 shots); and gives you no option to fire any less shots.
What I had meant was that you cannot "hold Back" with any given weapon; you must fire it to full effect. And had only said that because of how Darkwolf had worded his post.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/04 10:37:44
Subject: Re:can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
Related question to fast transports: If a transport moves flat out, passengers can not disembark. If the transport becomes wrecked, the passengers have to disembark. Does that mean, since they can not disembark, they are destroyed?
|
From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/04 11:04:25
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Powerful Pegasus Knight
|
They cannot disembark in YOUR movement phase, in the opponent's shooting phase this restriction does not apply.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/04 11:05:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/04 13:55:11
Subject: can a rhino disembark its troops after moving 12 inches?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:May statement was in regards to firing with the Bolters, not any other weapons; Yes you can choose to fire the bolt pistols in any shooting phase(handy when you want to soften up a unit a little before you want to assault).
The rules do however tell you how a rapid fire weapon fires when you are within 12"(2 shots); and gives you no option to fire any less shots.
Except, of course, that not all the units in the model are required to fire. ("a player may choose not to fire with certain models if he prefers" P16) You are referring to P27 "If a model does fire it must do so at full effect and cannot reduce it's weapons firepower".
So, even if you did want to fire the bolters you would not be required to fire two shots from all models in the squad - any number of models may elect not to fire. However, those that do fire must fire the maximum number shots.
|
|
 |
 |
|