Switch Theme:

Power of the Machine Spirit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Bounding Black Templar Assault Marine





United Kingdom

I'm considering taking a Vindicator for my Marine army, and everywhere I look I see constant references to the Machine Spirit and how useful it is on Vindicators. My question is:
How exactly do I go about giving a Vindicator Power of the Machine Spirit? It's not listed in the codex and I'm wondering if they removed it or something, but most of the posts saying I should take it are fairly recent, so that can't be right.
Also, how many points does it cost to give a Vindicator Machine Spirit?

Help me Dakkaites, you're my only hope!

purplefood wrote:Dante wears nipple armour and thus is exculded from coolness competitions.

Chaos - The Scholars - 1 Wins, 0 Draws, 2 Losses
3000pts - Hell Guard
2000pts - The Scholars 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Your instincts are correct, there is no PotMS for a Vindicator. A CSM one, however, can take Daemonic Possession which probably does what you are looking for.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Boosting Black Templar Biker




California

My Codex is at home but I believe BT can take PotMS on most if not all of their ground vehicles. It's probably something we'll lose in the next update. Of course that could be a while so I'll just shut up.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

I should ahve been more specific - thanks Zeshin - In Codex: Space Marines Vindicators cannot take PotMS.

I think BT can take it basically on everything but the MS used is at BS 2.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in fi
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Finland

Yes, the Black Templars still have an older style Codex that gives them the option to add Machine Spirits to Rhinos, Razorbacks, Predators and Vindicators. Other Chapters lost that choice when they were updated to 5th Edition.

12001st Valusian Airborne
Chrome Warriors
Death Guard
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






But the other chapters do get a superior PotMS for the Land Raiders.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/04 20:14:19


 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

Yeah, but with the 5th edition rules regarding ordnance BS is almost (ALMOST) irrelevent.
A vindi capable of moving up and shooting even when stunned/shaken is going to be a huge problem. You can't just stun it then ignore it the rest of the turns shooting..you have to keep hitting it till you blow the weapon off or destroy it.
Not to mention the old trick of popping smoke then letting the machine spirit shoot the weapon.

Side question: Can a PotMS Vindi move 12" and then have the Spirit shoot the gun?

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






No, only 6".
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




dkellyj wrote:Side question: Can a PotMS Vindi move 12" and then have the Spirit shoot the gun?


This has been debated ad infinitum. Ask your opponent how he wants to read the rule. Is 0 = no weapons may fire or is it the start point for counting how many weapons may be fired. In the former case then PotMS adds nothing since no weapons means no weapons. In the latter then it becomes 0+1=1 weapon may fire.

GW really needs to FAQ this (among other things).
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Leo_the_Rat wrote:
dkellyj wrote:Side question: Can a PotMS Vindi move 12" and then have the Spirit shoot the gun?


This has been debated ad infinitum. Ask your opponent how he wants to read the rule. Is 0 = no weapons may fire or is it the start point for counting how many weapons may be fired. In the former case then PotMS adds nothing since no weapons means no weapons. In the latter then it becomes 0+1=1 weapon may fire.

GW really needs to FAQ this (among other things).


Well the Blood Angels Potms CAN shoot if you have moved at cruising speed. (i can imagine this is how 5th ed Potms will work)

the entry states that a vehicle that has either moved at cruising speed, or has suffered a 'crew stunned' or 'crew shaken' result can fire a single weapon.

This clears up any debate :-)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






The BT PotMS is very clear. The Machine Spirit may not fire if the vehicle moved >6".

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Xca|iber wrote:The BT PotMS is very clear. The Machine Spirit may not fire if the vehicle moved >6".

Yes

It also shoots at BS 2

But that is because the BT codex has not been updated for 5th ed yet.

Once they get the new codex the should have the new Potms.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/05 03:21:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Leo_the_Rat wrote:
dkellyj wrote:Side question: Can a PotMS Vindi move 12" and then have the Spirit shoot the gun?


This has been debated ad infinitum. Ask your opponent how he wants to read the rule. Is 0 = no weapons may fire or is it the start point for counting how many weapons may be fired. In the former case then PotMS adds nothing since no weapons means no weapons. In the latter then it becomes 0+1=1 weapon may fire.

GW really needs to FAQ this (among other things).


This is not how the BT PotMS is worded.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
DeathReaper wrote:Once they get the new codex the should have the new Potms.


And probably land raider only as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/05 09:00:13


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: