Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/05 00:21:32
Subject: Abhor the witch
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
After skimming my codex again, thought of this problem:
If I choose Abhor the Witch! as my battle vow, I get a 5+ inv save against psychic abilities. Saves apply against wounds, so how would this work for abilities like Tyrannid's Peroxism? Or null zone? These things don't inflict damage, but they would affect me. The only two solutions I could come up with are:
1) Roll one dice for the unit as that unit's "Save"
2) As these powers don't inflict wounds, no save applies
Any other thoughts?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/05 00:23:24
Subject: Abhor the witch
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
I'm thinking #2, it sounds like it falls into a grey area.
|
Emperors Faithful wrote:
metallifan wrote:Maybe it's not the ROFLSTOMP that Americans are used to...
Best summary of foeign policy. Ever. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/05 00:27:53
Subject: Abhor the witch
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
That's not what the rule says.
It states, "...psychic powers targeted against any Black Templars unit or character (or which includes them in its area of effect) are nullified and will not work on a D6 roll of 5+ (only roll once for each power...)."
This is not a save. The power simply is nullified, and therefore the rule is applicable to any power that fulfills the requirements (essentially, if it affects a BT model).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/05 00:30:25
Subject: Abhor the witch
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
So it works in a sense like a psychic hood?
|
Emperors Faithful wrote:
metallifan wrote:Maybe it's not the ROFLSTOMP that Americans are used to...
Best summary of foeign policy. Ever. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/05 00:31:01
Subject: Abhor the witch
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Xca|iber has it spot on. It is VERY important to read rules correctly. Also note that the power is NULLIFIED COMPLETELY. DA's Forever wrote:So it works in a sense like a psychic hood?
Yup. Actually, it works more like a Crappy Runic Staff.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/10/05 01:46:14
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/05 00:33:41
Subject: Abhor the witch
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
That's my bad - not at home and didn't have codex to hand.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/05 01:40:08
Subject: Abhor the witch
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
It operates exactly like 'Shield of Faith' does for SoB.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|