Switch Theme:

Thunderhawk Transporter  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Can a Thunderhawk Transporter pick up an enemy vehicle (considering if it would fit) and then dump it somewhere else, possible causing damage to the target vehicle?

Eg: A TT picks up a Chaos Land Raider and dumps it on the other side of the board.

Please no answers along the lines of "It's Apoc, work it out for yourself"

Thanks,
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Ummm... I'm not familiar with this guy. Is it from a IA book?

I assume it's rules should be fairly clear in this point. Does it say it can transport enemies? If it does, then it can. If not, then it can't.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Units cannot embark in enemy vehicles; though the only rule I see that actually prevents it is the restriction of being within 1" of enemy models (when not assaulting) on page 11.

I am probably missing it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/05 21:50:43


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Well it doesn't specify that the vehicle is embarking, it states that it is carrying the vehicle instead or something like that. Also it doesn't specify wherever it can or it cannot transport enemy ones.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Valkyrie wrote:Well it doesn't specify that the vehicle is embarking, it states that it is carrying the vehicle instead or something like that. Also it doesn't specify wherever it can or it cannot transport enemy ones.
Does it say it Can?

If not, then no.

My Land Raider doesn't have a rule allowing it to move 88" an hour, but that doesn't mean I can claim I can because it doesn't say otherwise.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Gwar! wrote:
My Land Raider doesn't have a rule allowing it to move 88" an hour, but that doesn't mean I can claim I can because it doesn't say otherwise.


88" an hour??? How long does a turn represent? 10 seconds? (a unit can only move about 3 or 4 times it's height in that time and pull the trigger of a gun once or twice) So, you want your Land Raider to move less than an inch a turn?

I'm ok with that!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/05 22:09:58


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Valkyrie wrote:Well it doesn't specify that the vehicle is embarking, it states that it is carrying the vehicle instead or something like that.


Yes, it does.

"Transport: The thunderhawk transporter may carry two rhino sized vehicles or one land raider sized vehicle."
"Unloading vehicles: Vehicles can disembark from the transporter"

So, the vehicle is carried using the transport rules and "disembark" when you drop them off. They're embarked.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Ok thanks for that Scott
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No rule that allows it, so no.
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Gwar! wrote:
Valkyrie wrote:Well it doesn't specify that the vehicle is embarking, it states that it is carrying the vehicle instead or something like that. Also it doesn't specify wherever it can or it cannot transport enemy ones.
Does it say it Can?

If not, then no.

My Land Raider doesn't have a rule allowing it to move 88" an hour, but that doesn't mean I can claim I can because it doesn't say otherwise.


Even if it had such a rule, there's no Flux Capacitor upgrade so you're still SOL, GWAR!.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







I think this topic really needs the following reminder:

Remember that a Land Raider or Rhino which disembarks from a Thunderhawk Transport is not allowed to assault that turn.
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Grakmar wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
My Land Raider doesn't have a rule allowing it to move 88" an hour, but that doesn't mean I can claim I can because it doesn't say otherwise.


88" an hour??? How long does a turn represent? 10 seconds? (a unit can only move about 3 or 4 times it's height in that time and pull the trigger of a gun once or twice) So, you want your Land Raider to move less than an inch a turn?

I'm ok with that!


Me and a friend had a discussion about how long a game is relative to in-universe time. Given the small amount of area covered, a 6 turn game is roughly 15 minutes in-universe. doing the calculations backwards, the Raider would have to move at around 3-4 inches a turn to go 88 inches an hour soooo Gwar was right o.0

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





SF Bay Area, California

I think this is one of the few times that logic should kick in. I know it normally is not used for rules debates, but in this case it may help shine some light on the situation.

   
Made in us
Torch-Wielding Lunatic



San Diego, CA

Even if your LR can move 88 inches an hour, it needs more Jiggawatts!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: