Switch Theme:

Monolith Port and Reserves Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Ok, just I just played my first game tonight (1500 point Necrons vs Eldar) and I won; however, a rule came up about Monoliths and Teleporting. Here is the rule in question:

If a unit of Necron Warriors is eligible to enter play from reserve (see the Necron Warriors entry) then they must emerge from the portal even if you would prefer to use the particle whip. Only one unit of Warrior can enter play from each Monolith in a single turn. The Necron player can decide which.

(Necron Warrior Rule): Any Warrior units in excess of the minimum required by the Force Organisation chart for the mission being played may being the game in reserve whether Reserves special rule is in use or not. When they arrive they must emerge from a Monolith Portal. If there is no Monolith when the units become available, they will be forced to wait until a Monolith becomes available.

Ok, so here are the two questions:

1) Since the rule says they HAVE to come through a Monolith, what happens if the Monolith is destroyed before they can come out of reserves? Like if I have 3 units of Warriors in reserve, and my Monolith get whacked before I get them out, do I just lose those 30 Warriors?
2) Since they HAVE to come through the Monolith, does that mean you can only get 1 squad from reserves per turn (I.e if I have 3 squads in reserve, does that mean that the EARLIEST I could get that third squad out there is turn 4?)
3) If I'm reading it correctly then, Warriors cannot come out of reserves on the edge of the table under any circumstances. Is that correct?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Nevermind - Found the answer: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-08_5th_Edition.pdf

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/08 07:55:09


 
   
Made in au
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge



Tongala, Victoria, Australia

1. They die.

2. Obsolete rule due to 5th mechanic.

3.Incorrect, the first two can do either, others after must come through the monolith, however some play it as with ALL 5th ed, you choose (nominate before game starts)
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





South Africa

mulkers wrote:

2. Obsolete rule due to 5th mechanic.



Which mechanic, do you have a page reference?

War is my master; Death my mistress - Maugan Ra 
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-08_5th_Edition.pdf I have this page. It updates the rule so you can decide whether or not the little guys are hopping out of the Monolith or walking on. Don't let anyone force you to waste a particle whip dragging in a bunch of soldiers 'cause of the quote in the codex.

Kilkrazy wrote:There's nothing like a good splutter of rage first thing in the morning to get you all revved up for the day.

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






But you have to choose WHERE they come on from prior to the game starting, you can't make your decision when the reserve roll is made. Also, if you have more than 1 lith, you don't have to determine WHICH monolith they come in from, just that they come in FROM a monolith. But yes, if the lith is destroyed before warriors designated to come in through it are able to do so, they are counted as destroyed at the end of the game.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Kevin949 wrote:But you have to choose WHERE they come on from prior to the game starting, you can't make your decision when the reserve roll is made. Also, if you have more than 1 lith, you don't have to determine WHICH monolith they come in from, just that they come in FROM a monolith. But yes, if the lith is destroyed before warriors designated to come in through it are able to do so, they are counted as destroyed at the end of the game.


They aren't counted as destroyed at the end of the game. They are counted as destroyed the moment you loose your last monolith.

For most armies, the distinction is meaningless, but for necrons and phase out, it is an important distinction.

So, if you have a monolith and enough warriors in reserve teleporting through it, your opponent can win on their first turn with just a single S9 attack. (Technically, not until the beginning of your turn, but for all practical purposes, it's immediate )

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Ah, good catch, my mistake.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: