Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Andy Chambers






Tampere

Can I use GOI more than once during my turn with say, an epistolary? To teleport twice?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/08 08:44:25


"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"

EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.

 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





Not really, GoI is used at the start of the movement phase.
If you've used a power and teleported you're not in the beginning of the movement phase anymore, eh?

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in fi
Andy Chambers






Tampere

How do you define when the beginning of the movement phase ends?

"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"

EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.

 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





When you've done something?

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in fi
Andy Chambers






Tampere

I dont have my codex on hand, so I cant check the wording, but IIRC it does say "at the beginning of the movement phase... the unit is replaced anywhere within 24" using the deep strike rules."

So doing anything at all ends it? and who does it end the beginning of the movement phase for? The unit that did something? Or the whole army?

"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"

EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.

 
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





Let's put it this way...
To use the power you have to to do it in the beginning of the movement phase, that's what it says in the codex.
If you then do something else, you're no longer in the beginning of the movement phase.
I.e: The first thing you have to do in the movement phase is to cast the power, if you want to use it.

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Syracuse, NY, USA, Terra, Segmentum Solar

Oscarius wrote:Let's put it this way...
To use the power you have to to do it in the beginning of the movement phase, that's what it says in the codex.
If you then do something else, you're no longer in the beginning of the movement phase.
I.e: The first thing you have to do in the movement phase is to cast the power, if you want to use it.

So by your thinking, if I have two Librarians with GoI : The first uses the power to move a unit, and now the second can't because it's not the start of the movement phase by virtue of the action of the previous Librarian?
   
Made in se
Powerful Pegasus Knight





Yup, sort of. Wonderful RaW eeh?

If I use -><- I'm not mocking you, it's a reflex from using the " silly" icon on every other forum.
However, if I use this -><- I might just mock you.
Rats with hats: 3k
: 750p
Karash (at the home page of SATW) on the subject of America's fear of nudity:

which gets even weirder, seeing how you americans tend to use [the F-word] more often in various meanings than a smurf would use "smurf".


Nearly a quote except the censorship.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Syracuse, NY, USA, Terra, Segmentum Solar

Oscarius wrote:Yup, sort of. Wonderful RaW eeh?

Which is why RAW without RAI or Common Sense is like taking a hike with just one boot on.
Basic Rulebook @ Pg.2 wrote:
THE MOST IMPORTANT RULE!
Warhammer 40,000 is an involved game, with many different armies, weapons, and possibilities. In a game of this size and complexity there are bound to be occasions where a particular situation lies outside these rules, often when unusual models interact.
...
All these instances can lead to arguments, so it is important to remember that the rules are just a framework to create an enjoyable game. Winning at any costis less important than making sure both players - no just the victor - have a good time.
...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And not reading the tenets of this section are what now?
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

GoI doesn't say at the beginning of the movement phase (as in the player's turn) it says at the beginning of the Librarian's Movement phase.
Now I know that each model doesn't have it's own Movement phase (by RAW) because the rules do not specifically say they do, but a comparable ability, the Necron Veil of Darkness says the Lord uses it "...at the start of its Movement phase...".
So the rules seem to back up that in the player's movement phase, when you move each unit or model, that is a movement 'phase' for each one. This is because you pick a model, move it, and then pick another unit. You cannot go back to a unit that has completed its move and move it further.
So in the case of GoI, if you have 2 Librarians (each with GoI), then each could use GoI at the start of each one's movement phase.
In the case of having an Epostolary, even though it can use 2 powers, it could only use GoI once because after it has completed the teleport, it has completed its move and therefore is no longer at the start of its Movement phase.
Similar to not being able to use 2 psychic shooting attacks in the same turn.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

dswanick wrote:
Oscarius wrote:Let's put it this way...
To use the power you have to to do it in the beginning of the movement phase, that's what it says in the codex.
If you then do something else, you're no longer in the beginning of the movement phase.
I.e: The first thing you have to do in the movement phase is to cast the power, if you want to use it.

So by your thinking, if I have two Librarians with GoI : The first uses the power to move a unit, and now the second can't because it's not the start of the movement phase by virtue of the action of the previous Librarian?


No, because here's the sequence of events: 1) Your movement phase begins 2) All abilities which have "At the beginning of the movement phase" trigger 3) They are each put on the stack 4) Each fully resolves, in reverse order of how they were put on the stack

Wait... That's not right... Hmmm... I must be thinking of a game system where the rules are clearly outlined and are fixed whenever there's a hole in them...

Seriously though, there's no good definition of "beginning" in 40k. Is it the very first thing that happens? Is it the first third or so of your movement phase, which would be before the "middle"? How would you even quantify how far into the movement phase you are?

Most people I know typically play it as you perform each and every ability that says "beginning" before moving your first unit.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in fi
Andy Chambers






Tampere

time wizard wrote:GoI doesn't say at the beginning of the movement phase (as in the player's turn) it says at the beginning of the Librarian's Movement phase.
Now I know that each model doesn't have it's own Movement phase (by RAW) because the rules do not specifically say they do, but a comparable ability, the Necron Veil of Darkness says the Lord uses it "...at the start of its Movement phase...".
So the rules seem to back up that in the player's movement phase, when you move each unit or model, that is a movement 'phase' for each one. This is because you pick a model, move it, and then pick another unit. You cannot go back to a unit that has completed its move and move it further.
So in the case of GoI, if you have 2 Librarians (each with GoI), then each could use GoI at the start of each one's movement phase.
In the case of having an Epostolary, even though it can use 2 powers, it could only use GoI once because after it has completed the teleport, it has completed its move and therefore is no longer at the start of its Movement phase.
Similar to not being able to use 2 psychic shooting attacks in the same turn.


Its clearly stated when you cant use 2 psychic powers per turn regarding psychic shooting. It says nothing about not being allowed to use GOI twice.

You can cast any other start of the movement phase powers more than once, such as wings of sangiunius, although it wont often do much if youve already cast it successfully. Otherwise if a psyker had 2 different powers that are cast "at the start of the movement phase", then he could only ever cast 1 of them.

"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"

EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

"he can use up to two psychic powers each turn" is not "he can use the same power twice".

Sounds like a no to me.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Syracuse, NY, USA, Terra, Segmentum Solar

Grakmar wrote:
No, because here's the sequence of events: 1) Your movement phase begins 2) All abilities which have "At the beginning of the movement phase" trigger 3) They are each put on the stack 4) Each fully resolves, in reverse order of how they were put on the stack

Wait... That's not right... Hmmm... I must be thinking of a game system where the rules are clearly outlined and are fixed whenever there's a hole in them...

lol I remember playing MtG, and I remember the arguments over the half dozen variations of Regeneration and the problems with CoP:White. I wouldn't go touting MtG as a paragon of tight, bulletproof rules. Netrunner, yes...MtG, no.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







As stated, you must use it at the start of the Librarians Movement phase (that is, when you pick him to move).

Once he has used GoI once, it is no longer the start of his movement phase, so he cannot use it a 2nd time.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: