Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/08 13:36:08
Subject: When do templates scatter?
|
 |
Sniveling Snotling
Plymouth Michigan
|
Last night me and a couple friends had a game and we were wondering, for certain moves that utilize the various blast templates, how do you know when they scatter? His Eldrad has a psychic power that uses the small blast template, and I believe he also has a psychic power that uses the large blast, do those scatter? what about cover saves? How do you determine whether someone has a cover save when using ordinance weapons? This may be in the big rulebook but I couldn't find it... any help would be much appreciated.
|
1800 1250
Hello Guardsmen, look at your Leman, now back to mine, now back to your Leman, now back to mine. Sadly, your Leman isn't mine, but if they stopped using standard engines and switched to Lucifer Pattern, they could move like they're mine. Look down, back up. Where are you? Your in a battlefield with the Rhino your Leman could move like. Whats in your hand, back at me, I have it, it's the fire control for the Twin-linked Assault Cannons aimed at you. Look again, it's a Deep-Striked Land-Raider. Anything is possible when your Tanks move like Blood Angels, and not like Guardsmen. I'm on a Baneblade. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/08 13:44:49
Subject: Re:When do templates scatter?
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Templates scatter when they say they scatter.
Eldritch Storm, Eldrad's psychic power, is used in the Shooting Phase and is thus a Psychic Shooting Weapon - therefore it scatters like a normal template attack, iirc, but it doesn't require line of sight. It's a large blast, however, not a small one. No, it's not worth it's points on a normal Farseer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/08 13:45:25
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/08 13:58:49
Subject: Re:When do templates scatter?
|
 |
Sniveling Snotling
Plymouth Michigan
|
but eldritch storm doesn'tsay it scatters. Do all template weapons(obviously not flame templates) scatter 1d6? I thought I remember reading how ordinance scattered more(2d6)
|
1800 1250
Hello Guardsmen, look at your Leman, now back to mine, now back to your Leman, now back to mine. Sadly, your Leman isn't mine, but if they stopped using standard engines and switched to Lucifer Pattern, they could move like they're mine. Look down, back up. Where are you? Your in a battlefield with the Rhino your Leman could move like. Whats in your hand, back at me, I have it, it's the fire control for the Twin-linked Assault Cannons aimed at you. Look again, it's a Deep-Striked Land-Raider. Anything is possible when your Tanks move like Blood Angels, and not like Guardsmen. I'm on a Baneblade. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/08 14:30:42
Subject: When do templates scatter?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Any weapon with the blast profile follows the rules for blast markers & scatter, as written in the BRB.
I can't say specifically for Eldritch Storm, but just because it doesn't say it scatters does not mean it does not. It must say "it does not scatter" in order to override the more general rule of blast marker attacks scattering.
Note that some abilities that use the blast markers (such as "The Last Laugh") are not shooting attacks and therefore do not follow the rules for scatter - they simply use the marker as a convenient circular measurement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/08 14:39:01
Subject: When do templates scatter?
|
 |
Sniveling Snotling
Plymouth Michigan
|
Xca|iber wrote:Any weapon with the blast profile follows the rules for blast markers & scatter, as written in the BRB.
I can't say specifically for Eldritch Storm, but just because it doesn't say it scatters does not mean it does not. It must say "it does not scatter" in order to override the more general rule of blast marker attacks scattering.
Note that some abilities that use the blast markers (such as "The Last Laugh") are not shooting attacks and therefore do not follow the rules for scatter - they simply use the marker as a convenient circular measurement.
Thank you much! I was saying that, but he was saying it shouldn't scatter since it is a psychic power. We are both fairly new to the game though so either case would have made sense to us.
|
1800 1250
Hello Guardsmen, look at your Leman, now back to mine, now back to your Leman, now back to mine. Sadly, your Leman isn't mine, but if they stopped using standard engines and switched to Lucifer Pattern, they could move like they're mine. Look down, back up. Where are you? Your in a battlefield with the Rhino your Leman could move like. Whats in your hand, back at me, I have it, it's the fire control for the Twin-linked Assault Cannons aimed at you. Look again, it's a Deep-Striked Land-Raider. Anything is possible when your Tanks move like Blood Angels, and not like Guardsmen. I'm on a Baneblade. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/08 15:10:59
Subject: Re:When do templates scatter?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
As already stated, they do scatter the standard 2d6-BS.
Also, Farseers (and Eldrad) only have a power that uses the Large Blast Marker, nothing that uses the Small Blase Marker. (P.S. It's really bad and not worth using).
Also also, the Flame weapon plastic thing is the only one called a "Template". The other 2 are called "Large Blast Marker" and "Small Blast Marker". It's not a huge issue (and many veteran players screw up the terms), but it can help avoid any confusion that can sometimes come up when reading the rulebook.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|