Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 12:16:33
Subject: scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Just checking -
1) as its not a dedicated transport can Scouts deploy in a land speeder storm.
2) Same question in regards to outflanking
ta
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 12:27:06
Subject: scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
danman wrote:Just checking - 1) as its not a dedicated transport can Scouts deploy in a land speeder storm. 2) Same question in regards to outflanking ta
1) Yes. Any unit of scouts can deploy inside of it at the start of the game regardless of whether it is deployed or in reserves. 2) See #1 but replace "deploy" with "outflank". 3) The same applies to the Valkyrie and Vendetta as well, just to go off on a tangent.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/09 12:27:41
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 13:15:01
Subject: Re:scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
cheers can you point me in the direction of the rules for that.
also if they deploy and outflank in the LSS can they also infiltrate?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 13:20:12
Subject: Re:scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
danman wrote:cheers can you point me in the direction of the rules for that. also if they deploy and outflank in the LSS can they also infiltrate?
There is no single page for that ruling, but a mixture of several pages. For reserves, you are given explicit permission to be inside a transport. Page 94, "Reserves", "Preparing Reserves", Paragraph 4 For non-reserves, you have permission to deploy within your Deployment zone. You also have permission for infantry units to be embarked on a transport. Inside a Transport vehicle inside your deployment zone is inside your deployment zone, so you can begin with them inside. And no, they cannot Infiltrate, because the LSS doesn't have Infiltrate.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/09 13:20:39
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 15:06:46
Subject: scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
danman; it is quite impossible for any unit to "deploy and outflank" and also Infiltrate.
Infiltrate is a special deployment type that only functions during army deployment. It opens up the ability to outflank, but outflanking is only used when you put the unit into reserve. Then, when you come in from reserve(assuming you had declared the unit with either Scouts or infiltrate USRs was going to outflank) you deploy by the outflank rules(and no other deployment options are used by that unit, even other deployment options are available to them).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 15:42:46
Subject: Re:scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
thanks gwar thats useful
Kommissar Kel, I do understand that it is impossible for a unit to deploy and outflank AT THE SAME TIME, however there are many units in 40k that can both deploy and outflank however in any one game they may one do one or the other. I confusion in syntax I believe.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 20:25:50
Subject: Re:scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
danman wrote:thanks gwar thats useful
Kommissar Kel, I do understand that it is impossible for a unit to deploy and outflank AT THE SAME TIME, however there are many units in 40k that can both deploy and outflank however in any one game they may one do one or the other. I confusion in syntax I believe.
Well, infiltrate is done at the deployment Phase instead of deploying regularly(every Scenario that allows infiltration has a step during deployment that tells you to deploy your infiltrators); and if you unit is in Reserve awaiting to outflank(or come in regularly) it will be coming in well after that step has come and passed(at or after first turn depending on scenario).
Similarly you cannot ever Infiltrate a Non-troop, Non- HQ unit in a "Dawn of War" mission(because those units cannot be deployed until after the "deploy infiltrators" step).
Also when your outflanking units become available; they then "deploy" using the outflank rules, So you do in fact Outflank and Deploy at the same time.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/09 23:18:18
Subject: scouts and landspeeder storm
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
danman wrote:Just checking - 1) as its not a dedicated transport can Scouts deploy in a land speeder storm. 2) Same question in regards to outflanking ta
1) Yes. As long as the vehicle meets the transport capacity for the squad and the squad does not have any special rules that prevent them from entering a transport, they may be deployed inside a transport. For reserves, this is also true, see page 94, left column, Preparing Reserves 2) Edit: YES, in this specific case. Simply because both units are Scouts to begin with. Neither rules for Scouts nor Outflank give a non-dedicated transport permission to Outflank or make a Scouts move. The rules for Scouts confers the Scouts ability to dedicated transports only, see page 76, left column, Scouts*. The rules for Outflanking further dictate that a unit with Outflanking rule may outflank with their dedicated transport, but must do so together, see page 94, right column, Outflanking*. * This piece of rule is a bit confusing. Since they are embarked, they must naturally arrive at the same time! As far as I can tell, it seems that if you put both the Scouts and their dedicated transport in outflanking, they must be deployed together, but that you may alternatively deploy them separately or indeed have the Scouts inside a secondary transport as long as not both are outflanking. P.S. Remember that outflanking (Scouts) is also lost if you attach an independent character to the squad!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/09 23:24:31
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
|