| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 01:54:31
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
Hey Guys,
Just a quick question. This guy have a Chosen chaos space marine and they have infiltrate. He put them in a land raider, so the land raider can out flank?
Thanks
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 02:00:01
Subject: Re:Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Raging Ravener
N Nevada
|
No. The Vehicle cannot outflank, as it doesn't have the rule.
Likewise a unit cannot be pre-deployed in a non-dedicated-transport.
I think that fully answers your question.
|
"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 02:26:57
Subject: Re:Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:
Likewise a unit cannot be pre-deployed in a non-dedicated-transport.
I don't think that you are correct. Page 94 of the BRB. Any unit (subject to capacity rules) can start the game in a non-dedicated transport. That includes starting in the transport in reserves. Dedicated transports can only start with their purchasing unit in them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 02:30:39
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
but if the land raider was somehow a dedicated transport it would then work I think?
|
"Reality is, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away"
-Philip K. Dick
Constant Lurker, Slowly getting back into modelling! Someday a P&M Blog link will lurk here! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 02:34:56
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Yes, only Dedicated Transports may be used in this way. Unless the transport itself has the rule (like Valkyries). Automatically Appended Next Post: Hallowed_Da'Credo wrote:No. The Vehicle cannot outflank, as it doesn't have the rule.
Yes!
Likewise a unit cannot be pre-deployed in a non-dedicated-transport.
I think that fully answers your question.
No!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/12 02:35:52
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 03:35:42
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Raging Ravener
N Nevada
|
Sageheart wrote:but if the land raider was somehow a dedicated transport it would then work I think?
Yes, But it cannot be taken as one.
And after BGB review, ya I was wrong about units starting in non-dedicated-transports.
|
"When [have] guns you (not), then [make] guns (you) do."
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/431550.page
"Mystery Comics, Where the pen is mightier than the sword, and chain sword is mightier than the pen!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 06:06:56
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Sageheart wrote:but if the land raider was somehow a dedicated transport it would then work I think?
I don't think so. IIRC, it works on scouts, but not on infiltrate.
|
There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 06:39:22
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
MekanobSamael wrote:Sageheart wrote:but if the land raider was somehow a dedicated transport it would then work I think?
I don't think so. IIRC, it works on scouts, but not on infiltrate.
Models with Scouts or Infiltrate confer the ability to outflank inside a DT.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 06:58:40
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
"If a unit with [infiltrate] is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infiltrate." -75
"If a unit with [scouts] is deployed inside a dedicated transport vehicle, it confers the scouts ability to the transport too." -76
This means that scouts in a DT can outflank, but infiltrators cannot. Am I right?
|
There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 07:05:59
Subject: Re:Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
Even though they can't Infiltrate, they still have the USR infiltrate. To Outflank, you have to have the USR Scout or Infiltrate.
Related question: If Shrike joined a unit of Terminators in a DT Landraider, and stayed in reserves, could the whole unit Outflank? I believe Shrike can join a unit in reserves, and that unit gets Infiltrate, and Units with Infiltrate confer that ability to DT, right?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/12 07:08:47
From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 07:10:26
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
MekanobSamael wrote:"If a unit with [infiltrate] is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infiltrate." -75
"If a unit with [scouts] is deployed inside a dedicated transport vehicle, it confers the scouts ability to the transport too." -76
This means that scouts in a DT can outflank, but infiltrators cannot. Am I right?
No, you are not.
Page 94:
During deployment, players may declare that units with the 'scout' or 'infiltrate' special rules are attempting to outflank the enemy...
...
Note that if such units are picked from their army list together with a dedicated transport, they may outflank with their transport, but if they do so they must move onto the table embarked in it.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 07:43:16
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sental - Shrike can never embark on a transport, as he is not type: Infantry.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 07:46:57
Subject: Re:Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
Well, my face is red. Thanks for the clarification.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/12 07:48:16
From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/12 07:49:41
Subject: Chaos Marine have outflanking land raiders?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Sental - Shrike can never embark on a transport, as he is not type: Infantry.
"Never" is such a harsh word.
He can in Apocalypse and/or 2v2 Games.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|