Switch Theme:

Couple of Ork questions from a non-Ork Player (Tank Shock and Custom Force Field)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





Hi all,

I’m relatively new to the game and only play SM at the moment. I was playing a game last night against Orks and would like someone to clarify 2 rules for me.

1. Tank Shock. He Tank Shocked my Land Raider with a Deff-Roller equipped BattleWagon. Does this mean he gets D6 S10 hits against me? Then I get 1 ram against him?
2. He had 2 Big-Meks equipped with Custom Force Fields. These give vehicles a 4+ save and infantry a 5+ save. Is this save a cover save and therefore can be taken against anything?

Thanks in advance.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Right on both counts.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







XionXxen wrote:Hi all,

I’m relatively new to the game and only play SM at the moment. I was playing a game last night against Orks and would like someone to clarify 2 rules for me.

1. Tank Shock. He Tank Shocked my Land Raider with a Deff-Roller equipped BattleWagon. Does this mean he gets D6 S10 hits against me? Then I get 1 ram against him?
2. He had 2 Big-Meks equipped with Custom Force Fields. These give vehicles a 4+ save and infantry a 5+ save. Is this save a cover save and therefore can be taken against anything?

Thanks in advance.
1. No... he gets to do his normal Ram first, AND do his D6 hits. xD
2. it can be taken against things that don't ignore cover, because it is a cover save!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Washington DC

Gwar! wrote:1. No... he gets to do his normal Ram first, AND do his D6 hits. xD


Wait... the ram happens FIRST!!!!!

I was under the impression that the Dethrolla ability happens before the ram (and thus, independently from the Ram/Tankshock). If the Ram happens first, does the Dethrolla fail if the vehicle is destroyed(or stopped) by the ram/passes its skimmer save etc?

Also, to the OP, if he does not declare that he is ramming (thus going "full speed") then his dethrolla does NOT hit your land raider, as the rules for Tank Shock work differently then the rules for Ramming.

In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster

Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Daemon-Archon Ren wrote:
Gwar! wrote:1. No... he gets to do his normal Ram first, AND do his D6 hits. xD


Wait... the ram happens FIRST!!!!!

I was under the impression that the Dethrolla ability happens before the ram (and thus, independently from the Ram/Tankshock). If the Ram happens first, does the Dethrolla fail if the vehicle is destroyed(or stopped) by the ram/passes its skimmer save etc?

Also, to the OP, if he does not declare that he is ramming (thus going "full speed") then his dethrolla does NOT hit your land raider, as the rules for Tank Shock work differently then the rules for Ramming.
No, Sorry. xD By first I didn't mean First before the Deffrolla, I meant First as in resolve it first to see if the target explodes (so you can carry on), before doing the Deffrolla (which won't let you continue if it explodes) which all happen at the same time.

Sorry!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





Damn, Brutal...

I take it he can Deff-Roller me even if he moves 1" but declares full speed?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Washington DC

XionXxen wrote:Damn, Brutal...

I take it he can Deff-Roller me even if he moves 1" but declares full speed?


Yes, which means that if (when) the deffrolla destroys the target, it keeps moving till max speed. He can't stop it short to be able to shoot with it.

In Reference to me:
Emperors Faithful wrote: I'm certainly not going to attract the ire of the crazy-giant-child-eating-chicken-poster

Monster Rain wrote:
DAR just laid down the law so hard I think it broke.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Daemon-Archon Ren wrote:
XionXxen wrote:Damn, Brutal...

I take it he can Deff-Roller me even if he moves 1" but declares full speed?


Yes, which means that if (when) the deffrolla destroys the target, it keeps moving till max speed. He can't stop it short to be able to shoot with it.
Wrong. The RAM has to Explode the target. Wrecked isn't enough, nor is the Deffrola Doing it enough.

However, if he does end up stopping short, he still can't fire with it, nor fire with it's passengers (but is still hit on a 4+ if it went 6" (7" with RPJ) or less).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/12 13:46:34


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

We're already straying into a 8-page topic, but suffice to say the Deff Rolla rules leave some things to be desired when it comes to wording. One interpretation that I haven't seen refuted is that the Deff Rolla adds it's hits to a normal tank shock attack, in which case it's hits would be equal to the ram's natural hull strike.

That is for a different conversation, though, and is really a can of worms, but I personally think that interpretation makes for the smoothest game.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: