Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 08:42:33
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
WTF IS UP WITH THEM?
They are considered flyers, and i've seen all sorts of interpretations over the interwebz on how they work. Then looking at the Imperial Armor Apoc book they are listed as flyers, but they are also deployed like drop pods..... so uhh what?
can someone clarify? and im assuming you cannot assault out of one? I also can assume they lift back up immediatley after? like assault phase?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 10:14:10
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Read ia6, it has better rules for them!
also try a search, as you can assault out of them, they don't deepstrike, etc. there was a thread on this a while back
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 10:30:52
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Not only do I have IA6(downloading as we speak) but the more recent book, IA apocolapse: says its put in reserve and deployed like a drop pod. Conflicting rules?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 10:56:31
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As I said, do a search on this forum. Additionally from memory ia6 was after ia apocalypse.
They arrive from reserves as normal, but fly for a turn instead of landing. they then land without using deepstrike rules, and you can assault from them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 11:13:26
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Brisbane, OZ
|
Don't pirate the bloody book!
|
Son can you play me a memory? I'm not really sure how it goes... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 14:40:23
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
IronfrontAlex wrote:Not only do I have IA6(downloading as we speak) but the more recent book, IA apocolapse: says its put in reserve and deployed like a drop pod. Conflicting rules?
IA6 (published 2008) is more recent than IA: Apoc 1 (published 2007).
And it's not conflicting rules at all. The Dreadclaw rules tell you to use the Drop Pod rules, so you flip to the page in IA: Apoc for Drop Pods. They're almost identical to the IA6 rules.
So it's simple: put them in reserve, as per normal rules for both ( IA) Drop Pods and Flyers. When they arrive from Strategic Reserve, place them anywhere on the board, as per the normal rules for both ( IA) Drop Pods and Flyers. In the following turn, move them their minimum movement distance as per the normal Flyer rules and scatter D6". The unit inside gets out and does its thing (remembering that it counts as an open-topped transport when disembarking). It's a Flyer, so it takes off again in subsequent turns, but since it doesn't have Hover Mode it can't pick up any other units.
Yes, that means that the earliest you can get the units they carry onto the table is turn 3 (or turn 2 if you use Careful Planning).
The only time it gets confusing is when you take that Dreadclaw formation, which actually Deep Strikes onto the battlefield instead of arriving normally...
In an actual game, however, I'd be inclined to ask my opponents if I could just use the rules for deploying Codex SM Drop Pods, using the cost and wargear (or lack thereof) of the Dreadclaw. It's just so much simpler...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 14:51:46
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Omg thanks! Very clear! I didn't realise my date mistake!
Idk assaulting out of the pods is pretty sweet, risking being a little close to enemy AA is worth it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 15:54:33
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I could be wrong but I think the IA:Apoc FAQ/errata says that the SM drop pods should use the rules from the codex, so the dreadclaw would in turn use those rules. I don't have all the IA books but apparently the rules are a convoluted mess.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 17:07:16
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
The IAApoc QandA doesn't say anything of the sort. IA2:Update brings the SM drop pod in line with the codex. This has no effect on the DreadClaw. Basically, the dreadclaw is a big mess. There are currently four slightly different versions of the rules - one in IA5's renegade list, one in IA6, one in IA6's renegade list, one in IA7's renegade list. The most recent rules listing ( IA:A2) has the dreadclaw entries in all three of those books listed as current. However, the differences between these versions are pretty minor. They are nothing like drop pods, they're flyers, they don't deep strike and they can take off again after landing. ETA - see this thread here for explanation of how the dreadclaw works and also for me and Nos talking round in circles because we're looking at very slightly different versions of the rules http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/321021.page
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/10/14 12:15:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 19:00:54
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
A friend of mine says that the IA5/IA apoc rules are how to deploy it, not the IA6 because it had recently been updated, is this a legit point? Also!!! Nowhere on either datasheet does it say that it has an assault ramp, just that those that disembark count as doing so from a moving vehicle
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 19:22:11
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
moving, open topped vehicle.
Use IA6 or 7, as they are the most recent rules. Or wait till they redo it properly, eventually...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 19:26:52
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
His argument is that an older edition of IA has been UPDATED recently after the release of IA6, does this mean those rules are the legit ones?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 19:36:36
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, as IA7 has the most current rules (identical to IA6 in fact), as IA:Apoc2 tells you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 20:17:38
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
hm. so its not just a weaponless drop pod. but what about the assault rule? i read IA6 just now and nowhere does it state it counts as open topped once landing
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/13 23:24:10
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Did you read the link you were given?
Under the servants of slaughter list it states it is open topped for the purposes of the unit disembarking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/14 01:02:37
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Ahh! This is so silly!!! I wanna write and call forge world for a clarification!!!!!!! Ah! Grr
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/14 12:12:27
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
IronfrontAlex wrote:A friend of mine says that the IA5/IA apoc rules are how to deploy it, not the IA6 because it had recently been updated, is this a legit point? Also!!! Nowhere on either datasheet does it say that it has an assault ramp, just that those that disembark count as doing so from a moving vehicle IA Apoc2 has a big list of which rules are current. It lists IA5, IA6 and IA7 as all being current. (despite IA5 not having the dreadclaw and IA6&7 having three different versions of the rules) Automatically Appended Next Post: nosferatu1001 wrote:Did you read the link you were given? Under the servants of slaughter list it states it is open topped for the purposes of the unit disembarking. Technically that version would only be available for use in a servants of slaughter army. The other listing in IA6 would be the one to use for a generic chaos army. It's a huge mess.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/10/14 12:22:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/14 16:27:22
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Scott-S6 wrote:
IA Apoc2 has a big list of which rules are current. It lists IA5, IA6 and IA7 as all being current. (despite IA5 not having the dreadclaw and IA6&7 having three different versions of the rules)
It does? Well, then I'd say that for simplicities sake, each IA book lists a different Dreadclaw with different rules that happen to share a name (much like a "Land Raider" between different SM codexes). If you want to field one, pick which IA ruleset you want to use and you're stuck to using that specific one, without any input or changes from the other ones.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/14 16:31:50
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
It's a bit more complicated than that. The only entry for the dreadclaw on it's own is IA6.
It also appears in IA6 and IA7 as part of renegade army lists. Each of these is different.
I would say that those are special versions for those armies. The generic one, not connected to a specific army list, is the one that should be getting used in other army lists (like C:CSM)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/14 17:09:59
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
and that generic one you cannont assault out of, but comes in as a flyer then scatters d6? lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/14 17:31:01
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They all come in as a flyer that scatters D6:...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/14 18:47:29
Subject: Regarding dreadclaws
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
I know but i mean then that's basically it for the standard right? I mean they don't get open topped. I can however use the slaughter one because it's apoc tho, at least that's what im going to assume! :p
|
|
|
 |
 |
|