Switch Theme:

Assaulting in 5th Ed. 40k  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine






NJ, USA

Okay gents,
A minor confusion has developed within my gaming group lately. We are all relatively new players to 40k as a whole, so bear that in mind.

The situation goes like this:

Space Marine Player takes his tactical squad (10) and assaults Ork Players boyz squad (24). Each tactical squad model is moved into btb contact with an Ork boyz. Now here is the question, does the Ork player then "React" and is able to move the non-engaged models 6" before the assault actually commences?

As the rulebook reads, I would support this, but I just wanted some clarification.

An open mind is like a fortress with its gates unbarred and unguarded

Starter 40k Army Lists for Beginners!

One Chapter to rule them all: SW to BA Conversion  
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger




Yeah. You make a pile in move after you have been assaulted. You also will move in unengaged models again at the end of each assault phase.


 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






Yes they would. The charged unit would try and get as many models into btb contact as possible.

If some guy mentioned it's not possible, they might be refering to an older edition of 40k, where only models with the Counter Attack Rule were allowed to make this "pile in" move.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






If you're still unsure, read the sequence of events in the Assault Phase, listed on page 33.

So yes, after you've finished moving all assaulting units for that phase, the defenders can react. Only after all this is done do you resolve the actual fighting in each combat.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: