Switch Theme:

Attacks in CC?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I've read a couple other forums but I'm still a little unclear. Lets say I have an Imperial Veteran Squad and they are being assaulted by anything. Now for my attacks with the Veteran Sergeant in his profile it states that he gets 2 Attacks, and in wargear it says he has a pistol. Now I always thought that he still gets 2 Attacks, but my friend insists that you add +1 Attacks for having the pistol
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

You must have 2 CCWs, the pistol counts as one so you'll have to have another as well to get the bonus.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in ca
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord






The Veteran Seargent in this case would, as his wargear includes a CCW and a Laspistol. So your friend was right, but he just forgot to inform you on the reason of his stance.

Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!


Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.


When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




so by having a CCW and a pistol it's +1A? or +2 for having 2 attacks and a CCW? cause my friend says it's an additional 2 attacks for the CCW and the pistol.
   
Made in us
Nigel Stillman





Seattle WA

CCW and pistol = +1 attack

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/14 21:14:12



See more on Know Your Meme 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




got it, thank you all for your help
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

The requirement to get a bonus attack is to have 2 CCWs. You get no bonus with 1, and you only get a single bonus attack with 2 or more.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






No thats not quite correct Grakmar, you get + 1 for having 2 weapons, and the +1 for every weapon you have over that.

Thats why Ork Deff Dreads can have around 5/6 attacks per dreadnought.

(Although I appreciate that this is different to the infantryman, but thought i'd chime this in!)

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

liam0404 wrote:No thats not quite correct Grakmar, you get + 1 for having 2 weapons, and the +1 for every weapon you have over that.

Thats why Ork Deff Dreads can have around 5/6 attacks per dreadnought.

(Although I appreciate that this is different to the infantryman, but thought i'd chime this in!)
This is not correct, see page 37--there are specific models/weapons that allow that to occur, but otherwise +1 is the maximum.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/14 23:22:22


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Ugh I misread. But if you read page 73...

"If a walker is armed with two or more close combat weapons, it gains one bonus attack for each additional weapon over the first"

That must be what I was thinking of, apologies Grakmar.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




liam0404 wrote:No thats not quite correct Grakmar, you get + 1 for having 2 weapons, and the +1 for every weapon you have over that.

Thats why Ork Deff Dreads can have around 5/6 attacks per dreadnought.

(Although I appreciate that this is different to the infantryman, but thought i'd chime this in!)


Incorrect. This only happens with WALKERS and ONLY because the DCCW rules specifically state they do.
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

Page 42, BRB.

There are no rules for additional weapons beyond the first two (unless the model has two or more special weapons), but there are exceptions to some models such as Walkers who gain +1 attack for each additional Dreadnought Close Combat Weapon.

Note that absolutely anything can be used as a weapon, including fists, nails (don't break 'em!), and claws - but only actual items grant bonuses*. It is strictly only one-handed close combat weapons which grant extra attacks. A pistol is defined as a one-handed weapon. A Lasgun is a two-handed close combat weapon, but having a Lasgun and a "close combat weapon" (these default to one-handed) does not grant additional attacks.

* Sometimes those items are marked as anatomical parts, or they may be one item that's two items (Abaddon's weapon, for example), but rule-wise they are still one weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/14 23:34:20


I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






That begs the next question - what non-walker models would wield more than 2 CCW's?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

Models that explicitly state they can, and tell you how to treat their special weapons and assumed weapon options.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

liam0404 wrote:That begs the next question - what non-walker models would wield more than 2 CCW's?
Tyranids used to be able to, they have 6 limbs.

/shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Any combination of two one-handed weapons will grant the +1 attack. Case in point, Neural Shredder. Not a pistol, not a CCW, it's an assault 1 template weapon. But they clarified in the FAQ that it is indeed a single-handed weapon. Why? Because two single-handed wapons grants +1 attack unless something else prevents it.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in ca
Hellacious Havoc




My friend tried to get me to believe his Triple scything claw tyrant had 1 attack PER claw + his attacks

.....
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Maybe it used to work like that in previous additions, honestly no idea.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

bucketwalrus wrote:My friend tried to get me to believe his Triple scything claw tyrant had 1 attack PER claw + his attacks

.....
Triple?

Last codex 2 pair of scything talons gave +2 attacks.

They allow re-rolls now, however.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Brisbane, OZ

An honour guard marine can take a Relic Blade, bolt pistol and combat blade. But he would always have to use the Relic Blade and therefore never gain the bonus for having two close combat weapons.

I say this just to clarify further rules disputes that may arise. You always have to use your special weapon type attacks.

Son can you play me a memory? I'm not really sure how it goes... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: