Hi. Sorry if my Question has already been answered elsewhere, but i did search and found nothing.
The question is:
Does a Model with a flamer have to direct the flamer straight away or can it shoot "sidewards".
To show what i mean let me give you an theoretical example:
We have a Razorback with Twinlinked heavy flamer. Said razorback gets charged by some genestealers, immobilizing it. now they are lined up at the right flank or the razorback.
if that razorback now wants to shoot them using his flamer, she first turns his gun to his right flank. then i put the small end of the flamertemplate to the end of the barrel. if i want to cover as many genestealers as possible, i would have to put the large end next to the front of the razorback. that way the gun is directed outward to the right side, but the templade is directed forward, which looks very strange to me. can i still do it? or does the template have to face the same direction as the barrel does?
This is just an example, but i can think of many situations where you want to use a flamingtemplate not in the obvious way, like when your flamer is at the corner of a building and she wants to flame around the corner, or when a flamer fires from a sponson that usually can only fire in 90° he could want to lay the template facing backwards. (from RAW i always do it as intended, i put the small end to my base/endofbarrel and the template itself over as many opponents as possible)
Afaik the RAW say i have to do it the first way, even if it looks awkward. logic says i cant fire a flamer in a different direction as the barrel points to.
How do you guys play it? how would you rule it in your actual games? before answering, if would you rule it differently if you were the guy beeing shot at, dont answer.
thanks in advance.
|