| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/17 18:16:12
Subject: Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I was toying with some mechanised IG lists the other day and a thought occurred to me when considering loading a veteran squad with three plasma guns - If by falling foul of the 'gets hot' rule when firing from within a chimera and consequently suffering 25% or more casualties would the unit still be forced to take a morale test? And what if they failed?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 07:51:30
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/17 18:37:16
Subject: Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The rules don't cover what happens in the situation you described. Some say the unit is destroyed since it can't disembark (trapped!), others think it will disembark and fall back as it's a special requirement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/17 19:03:55
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
RAW, nothing protects them from morale checks inside a transport, and they can only disembark in their own Movement Phase, and are therefore trapped.
Personally, I'd not explain it this way, I'd prefer the description "they were boiled alive by a rupturing plasma container".
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 08:00:32
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Alright, thanks guys. Unless I'm missing something though it seems to me RAW states models can only voluntarily embark or disembark in the movement phase (page 66 - Embarking and disembarking). This being an involuntary and mandatory action following a failed morale test suggests to me they disembark and hoof it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 17:23:49
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Tom Norman wrote:Alright, thanks guys. Unless I'm missing something though it seems to me RAW states models can only voluntarily embark or disembark in the movement phase (page 66 - Embarking and disembarking). This being an involuntary and mandatory action following a failed morale test suggests to me they disembark and hoof it.
Except that, like Mahtamori said, they may only disembark in their Movement phase, except in the single situation of an Emergency Disembarkation, which can only happen if the vehicle is Wrecked. So, ask yourself: are they taking the morale check in the Movement phase (and if it's from a Gets Hot! weapon, they couldn't be)? No? Then they have nowhere to fall back to, and are Trapped.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:20:49
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
SaintHazard wrote:Except that, like Mahtamori said, they may only disembark in their Movement phase, except in the single situation of an Emergency Disembarkation, which can only happen if the vehicle is Wrecked. So, ask yourself: are they taking the morale check in the Movement phase (and if it's from a Gets Hot! weapon, they couldn't be)? No? Then they have nowhere to fall back to, and are Trapped.
I think you're missing my point, bud. They can only voluntarily disembark in the movement phase; that's what it says. There's nothing to say they cannot be forced to disembark involuntarily. If the point you're making is exactly that (i.e. if the rules don't specifically state something then it ain't so) how then can we consider the vehicle occupants to be 'trapped'? The Trapped! rules don't make mention of models being inside other models. If it's a purely physical issue and you consider the hull of the vehicle to be impassable, that can be resolved by simply opening the back door.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:28:14
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A unit is trapped if it is unable to perform its full fallback movement. If the unit's embarked on a vehicle, the unit can't perform the move. And because it can't perform the move, 'trapped' would kick in and destroy the unit.
A house rule permitting an embarked unit to disembark is being generous.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:31:57
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Tom Norman wrote:I think you're missing my point, bud. They can only voluntarily disembark in the movement phase; that's what it says. There's nothing to say they cannot be forced to disembark involuntarily. If the point you're making is exactly that (i.e. if the rules don't specifically state something then it ain't so) how then can we consider the vehicle occupants to be 'trapped'? The Trapped! rules don't make mention of models being inside other models. If it's a purely physical issue and you consider the hull of the vehicle to be impassable, that can be resolved by simply opening the back door.
Hey! I'm not yer bud, friend!
Er. Basically, I didn't miss your point. My point is that nothing gives them permission to do so. In a permissive ruleset, "they can because nothing says they can't" is not a valid argument. They don't have permission to disembark outside of the movement phase with the specific exception of emergency disembarkation from a wrecked transport. Furthermore, nothing can be "forced" to do anything unless it has permission to do so, e.g. Lash of Submission, which has specific permission to force a unit to move outside the movement phase. There is no permission to force disembarkation given, thus you may not disembark, or be forced to disembark, if you fail a morale check. Thus, the unit is Trapped, and therefore destroyed.
Sucks, but them's the rules.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:37:38
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
SaintHazard wrote:Tom Norman wrote:I think you're missing my point, bud. They can only voluntarily disembark in the movement phase; that's what it says. There's nothing to say they cannot be forced to disembark involuntarily. If the point you're making is exactly that (i.e. if the rules don't specifically state something then it ain't so) how then can we consider the vehicle occupants to be 'trapped'? The Trapped! rules don't make mention of models being inside other models. If it's a purely physical issue and you consider the hull of the vehicle to be impassable, that can be resolved by simply opening the back door.
Hey! I'm not yer bud, friend! Er. Basically, I didn't miss your point. My point is that nothing gives them permission to do so. In a permissive ruleset, "they can because nothing says they can't" is not a valid argument. They don't have permission to disembark outside of the movement phase with the specific exception of emergency disembarkation from a wrecked transport. Furthermore, nothing can be "forced" to do anything unless it has permission to do so, e.g. Lash of Submission, which has specific permission to force a unit to move outside the movement phase. There is no permission to force disembarkation given, thus you may not disembark, or be forced to disembark, if you fail a morale check. Thus, the unit is Trapped, and therefore destroyed. Sucks, but them's the rules.
Eh!? I'm not your friend, pal! </Canadian> I would have to disagree and say that the unit isn't Trapped. The unit isn't ANYTHING, since you MUST make a house rule to deal with this situation, period.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:38:02
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 19:57:48
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:Eh!? I'm not your friend, pal! </Canadian>
I would have to disagree and say that the unit isn't Trapped. The unit isn't ANYTHING, since you MUST make a house rule to deal with this situation, period.
I'm not your pal, budday!
Actually, what's the definition of "Trapped?"
Page 45:
"If the unit cannot perform a full fall back move in any
direction without doubling back, it is destroyed"
Can the embarked unit perform a full fall back move in any direction without doubling back?
I think you'll find they fit the criteria, and are, therefore, "Trapped."
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 20:00:37
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
I would have to disagree and say that the unit isn't Trapped. The unit isn't ANYTHING, since you MUST make a house rule to deal with this situation, period.
This. There is nothing else you can do without it being a bit weird. Nothing says they can get out of the transport but falling back makes you do so. It can go either way and needs a house rule. I'd say it's fair that they run out of the vehicle and fall back, but that's just me. Automatically Appended Next Post: Alright, thanks guys. Unless I'm missing something though it seems to me RAW states models can only voluntarily embark or disembark in the movement phase (page 66 - Embarking and disembarking). This being an involuntary and mandatory action following a failed morale test suggests to me they disembark and hoof it.
I'd agree here. The key word is voluntary. When they fail a leadership test it isn't a voluntary action on the part of the controlling player.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 20:01:59
2nd Place 2015 ATC--Team 48
6th Place 2014 ATC--team Ziggy Wardust and the Hammers from Mars
3rd Place 2013 ATC--team Quality Control
7-1 at 2013 Nova Open (winner of bracket 4)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/19 18:17:21
Subject: Re:Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
SaintHazard wrote:I'm not your pal, budday!
Actually, what's the definition of "Trapped?"
Page 45:
"If the unit cannot perform a full fall back move in any
direction without doubling back, it is destroyed"
Can the embarked unit perform a full fall back move in any direction without doubling back?
I think you'll find they fit the criteria, and are, therefore, "Trapped."
I'm not your budday, mate!
But that is definitive enough for me. Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 01:13:32
Subject: Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
To necro I intended to post much earlier, went and did a reads. Unless somehow you can gain permission to disembark and move away from that vehicle in the shooting phase the unit is indeed 'Trapped!'. Even being able to move the vehicle itself wouldn't be adiquate iirc as the unit itself still wouldn't have performed the move~!
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 13:33:07
Subject: Falling back while embarked
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ChrisCP wrote:To necro I intended to post much earlier, went and did a reads. Unless somehow you can gain permission to disembark and move away from that vehicle in the shooting phase the unit is indeed 'Trapped!'. Even being able to move the vehicle itself wouldn't be adiquate iirc as the unit itself still wouldn't have performed the move~!
Not to mention the unit only counts as having moved, and has not actually performed the action of moving, but that's another can of worms for another thread.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|