| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 03:37:42
Subject: Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
A question came up about the Trygon Deep Strike (Subterranean Assault): "When a Trygon deploys via deep strike if it scatters on top of impassable terrain or another model friend or foe, reduce the scatter distance by the minimum required to avoid the obstacle." What exactly does that mean? Does that mean it can NEVER be within 1" of a model, and therefore NEVER rolls on the mishap table? Or does it just mean if it scatters onto any enemy model, move it slightly away and thus still have to roll on the mishap table. (If it means move it 1" away, why in the world wouldn't they just say a Trygon can never mishap?!?!!?! and make it clearer)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 03:39:22
Subject: Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
It avoids mishap in those cases, but can still suffer Mishap if it lands off table.
|
Gwar! wrote:Huh, I had no idea Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines posted on Dakka. Hi Graham McNeillm Dav Torpe and Pete Haines!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can I have an Autograph!
Kanluwen wrote:
Hell, I'm not that bothered by the Stormraven. Why? Because, as it stands right now, it's "limited use".When it's shoehorned in to the Codex: Space Marines, then yeah. I'll be irked.
When I'm editing alot, you know I have a gakload of homework to (not) do. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 03:48:55
Subject: Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
ikky2win wrote:A question came up about the Trygon Deep Strike (Subterranean Assault): "When a Trygon deploys via deep strike if it scatters on top of impassable terrain or another model friend or foe, reduce the scatter distance by the minimum required to avoid the obstacle." What exactly does that mean? Does that mean it can NEVER be within 1" of a model, and therefore NEVER rolls on the mishap table? Or does it just mean if it scatters onto any enemy model, move it slightly away and thus still have to roll on the mishap table. (If it means move it 1" away, why in the world wouldn't they just say a Trygon can never mishap?!?!!?! and make it clearer)
It means that if you scatter onto an enemy model, reduce the distance so it doesn't mishap (you know, just like the rule tells you to do).
The table edge still makes you mishap, as does aiming it somewhere that would cause a mishap and rolling a hit.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 04:08:46
Subject: Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
It means that if you scatter onto an enemy model, reduce the distance so it doesn't mishap (you know, just like the rule tells you to do).
The table edge still makes you mishap, as does aiming it somewhere that would cause a mishap and rolling a hit.
Well the second part is where the question arises. He deep striked within an inch of one of my guys and rolled a hit
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 04:13:41
Subject: Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ikky2win wrote:
Well the second part is where the question arises. He deep striked within an inch of one of my guys and rolled a hit
Then he was an idiot and would have had to roll on the Mishap Table
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/18 04:32:19
Subject: Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
ikky2win wrote:Well the second part is where the question arises. He deep striked within an inch of one of my guys and rolled a hit
Yes, he was an idiot and would have mishaped then.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/18 04:32:40
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 15:22:41
Subject: Re:Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
5°15′N 117°0′E
|
Sorry for grave-digging an old threat.
My question is about the rules of Subterrancean Assault
""Any Tyranid infantry units (excluding those with wings) that arrive from reserve in subsequent turns may attempt to utilise this tunnel network and emerge from it instead of arriving as normal. If they choose to do so....."
Let's say the reserve units are 1 Trygon, 1 units of Devilgant, 1 units of Hormagaunts.
In turn 2, Trygon pop out after getting successful roll on reserve.
So in turn 3, can all the reserve units (the Devilgant and Hormagaunts) all come out from the tunnel together? (if both got successful roll from reserve and choose to deploy through the tunnel)
Or, only 1 unit can use the tunnel to deploy from reserve at one turn?
Also, if a lictor is on the table, can the trygon just pop out within 6" of it without needing to roll for scatter? (via rules of deep strike)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/19 15:27:13
Subject: Re:Trygon Deep Strike Question (Subterranean Assault)
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Mr Gold wrote:So in turn 3, can all the reserve units (the Devilgant and Hormagaunts) all come out from the tunnel together? (if both got successful roll from reserve and choose to deploy through the tunnel)
Or, only 1 unit can use the tunnel to deploy from reserve at one turn?
Read the rest of the rule - "No more than a single unit may emerge from each tunnel entrance in the same turn."
Mr Gold wrote:Also, if a lictor is on the table, can the trygon just pop out within 6" of it without needing to roll for scatter? (via rules of deep strike)
Yes, but note that the lictor must be on the table at the start of the turn to use pheromone trail - i.e. it must have arrived from reserve on a previous turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|