Switch Theme:

Attached IC with faster movement  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Andy Chambers






Tampere

Say my IC with a jump pack is at the back of a tactical squad. I move the squad forward 6". I then jump over the squad with the IC. I find that the IC is within 2" of the leading marine, and thus is within squad coherency. The IC is considered to be joined to the squad.

Legal?

Does it work the other way around, with moving the IC first and then the squad to within 2" of the IC?

"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"

EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Jabbdo wrote:Say my IC with a jump pack is at the back of a tactical squad. I move the squad forward 6". I then jump over the squad with the IC. I find that the IC is within 2" of the leading marine, and thus is within squad coherency. The IC is considered to be joined to the squad.

Legal?

Does it work the other way around, with moving the IC first and then the squad to within 2" of the IC?
In short, No.

In Long, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

In extra Long, no, this has been hashed out before but I cannot find it now. it has to do with the fact that the squad cannot move to detach from the IC, the IC has to move to detach from the squad (the same to attach) Since the IC must have moved to detach, the squad cannot now move to attach itself again.

So in your example, either the entire squad moves 6" forward (and so the IC doesn't leave and is limited to 6" of movement), or the IC leaves and can move 12", but the unit now cannot move to within 2" and attach itself, since the IC is the one who must move to attach.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:36:34


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





If you don't want the IC to join the squad, he must remain more then 2" away.

A squad can never join an IC, the IC must join the squad.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

If he is part of the unit, he can move 6"--the speed of the slowest model in the unit.

If he is not part of the unit (until after he moves) that would be fine.

If I read that correctly.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




If the IC starts within 2" of a unit then he is automatically attached to the unit. As such the unit as a whole can only move as fast as its slowest member. Therefore in your example the IC can only move 6" (assuming a normal tac squad). Or you can detach the IC during the movement phase and allow him to move his normal move speed. However I would not allow him then to reattach to the same unit since he already declared that he was leaving the unit. Aside from the last line all of this can be found on p48 of the BRB.
   
Made in fi
Andy Chambers






Tampere


That was my thinking too, but was trying to see if there was some kind of loophole. Thanks for a speedy response!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/18 19:38:16


"Dire Avengers are even great in close combat, I mean, an Exarch with a Diresword can even take down a Carnifex!!"

EUROCHEESE - You can smell it.

 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

Actually, unless I recall incorrectly, the rules state that the IC can't move within 2" of the squad without joining it.
They don't say the squad can't move within 2 ". They don't say he can't BE within 2". Just that he cannot MOVE within 2". So, if he moves first, then the squad moves in behind, they're fine, provided the IC wasn't within 2" when HE completed HIS movement.

I would appreciate a page # or GAMES WORKSHOP FAQ reference from anyone disagreeing, so that I can research your response. Without the page # or OFFICIAL FAQ reference, I will disregard your post as mere opinion.
Thanks.


Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Page 47 of the main rules.

"If a character does not intend to (or cannot) join a unit, it must remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase."

Other than that line, the movement refers to the IC's. However, that line taken as a rule would prevent the squad from being within 2" even using its own movement.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/10/18 20:54:37


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

kirsanth wrote:Page 47 of the main rules.

"If a character does not intend to (or cannot) join a unit, it must remain more than 2" away from it at the end of the Movement phase."

Other than that line, the movement refers to the IC's. However, that line taken as a rule would prevent the squad from being within 2" even using its own movement.


So, what happens if an IC does end up closer than 2" away? Imagine the following scenario:

1) During movement, a unit moves next to an IC (a legal move)
2) The IC is not allowed to join the unit (say, it's a Phoenix Lord and the squad is a different aspect)
3) The IC tries to move away, but has to make a difficult terrain test and can only move 1", leaving him within 2"
4) You now have a unit and an IC within 2" that cannot join. The movement phase ends, and this is illegal.

So, what happens? All moves were legal at the time they were made, but you've been left in an illegal situation. Are you required to re-move a unit to get 2" away, or does the game break?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/19 14:13:46


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Move the frikkin' IC first. Problem solved.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Grakmar wrote:So, what happens if an IC does end up closer than 2" away? Imagine the following scenario:

1) During movement, a unit moves next to an IC (a legal move)
2) The IC is not allowed to join the unit (say, it's a Phoenix Lord and the squad is a different aspect)
3) The IC tries to move away, but has to make a difficult terrain test and can only move 1", leaving him within 2"
4) You now have a unit and an IC within 2" that cannot join. The movement phase ends, and this is illegal.

So, what happens? All moves were legal at the time they were made, but you've been left in an illegal situation. Are you required to re-move a unit to get 2" away, or does the game break?


The game breaks. There is no rule allowing you to go back an re-move the squad... it's explicitly forbidden by the movement rules, in fact.

It's not particularly game breaking, though. The rule prohibiting you from leaving the IC within 2" of a unit he isn't joining is simply there to reduce confusion. You don't have to try to remember which characters are joined to which units... they're in coherency, so they're joined. So in the odd instance where you might wind up with a character illegally close to the unit (there would be very few situations where it could actually happen, and those aren't going to happen very often) just ignore it and carry on.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: