Switch Theme:

10-12 Miscast and 3rd Eye of Tz?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch






The 10-12 result for a miscast says that the wizard loses d3 levels and spells, starting with the one cast.

The rules for 3rd Eye of Tzeentch is that the sorcerer is counted as knowing the spell(s) that an enemy wizard in his LoS knows for the duration of the turn.

So, if a Sorcerer uses the 3rd Eye and the gets the 10-12 miscast, does he forget that spell and include any other spells he got from the 3rd Eye when determining which other random spells are lost?
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

Whats the exact wording on Third Eye?

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






IIRC, 3rd eye is the spell that is miscast, so its the first to go. Then you have to decide if 'counts as knowing a spell' is the same thing as 'actually knows.' I would say that the spells that he counts as knowing dont count, as he doesnt actually know them.

BTW, this is not limited to 3rd eye. Perhaps a better example is the wizards tower that lets you know your entire lore. As a counts as effect, you can not lose any of these spells.

Or more bluntly, say a lvl 2 wizard of beasts has transformation and spear, but is next to a wizard tower. He miscasts transformation and lost 1 level as well as transformation. HOWEVER, he still has transformation as long as he is near the tower, as he counts as having the entire lore while next to it.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Right. He forgets the spell that turn, but can pick it up again next turn.

Nice eye.
   
Made in ca
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





3rd Eye isn't a spell. It's a daemonic gift IIRC. I believe the spell he's refering to is the spell he's casting with 3rd Eye. ie. a spell the opposing wizard knows.

I don't remember the exact wording of it, but I agree that if it says "counts as" then you would lose the spells you actually know. Counting as knowing is not the same as knowing. However, you can still cast your opponents spells according to 3rd Eye if you don't hit lvl 0.

nosferatu1001 wrote:That guy got *really* instantly killed.
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: