Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 02:20:28
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
I've a question about Eldar Exarch powers and ICs joining the Aspect warrior squads. For example, I know Autarch benefits from them, but does Defend, for example, also work on a Farseer joined with a squad of Dire Avengers? How about Bladestorm with a Fusion gun autarch? Reasonable thing to assume would be he'd need to have the Avenger shuriken catapult, but I'm interested in RAW of this. Bladestorming with a Fusion gun seems quite interesting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 02:28:49
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Exarch powers only ever affect Aspect Warriors and Autarchs. This is stated on page 21 of the codex, in the section entitled 'Exarch Powers'
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 03:35:42
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
I am aware of that, but the wording on Defend states that the Exarch's "unit" gains this benefit, hence the question.
More importantly, can you Bladestorm with a gun other than Avenger shuriken catapult?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 03:43:13
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Vancouver, BC, Canada
|
If the powers weren't explicitly limited to the aspect warriors and autarchs then maybe. Since page 21 limits them it doesn't matter what the wording is because they have a specific rule on who gets the powers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 04:14:57
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Araenion wrote:I am aware of that, but the wording on Defend states that the Exarch's "unit" gains this benefit, hence the question.
Doesn't matter. The rule on page 21 would take precedence. Only those members of the Exarch's squad that are actually Aspect Warriors or Autarchs can benefit from the rule.
Not that it matters much in this particular case... A joined Farseer (or any other IC) is counted as a separate unit in close combat. So even if the rule on page 21 didn't specifically exclude anything that isn't an Aspect Warrior or Autarch from benefiting from the Exarch's ability, at the point where Defend has any effect, the IC isn't considered a part of the unit anyway.
More importantly, can you Bladestorm with a gun other than Avenger shuriken catapult?
It doesn't specify Avenger catapults specifically... just shuriken weapons. So if you give the Exarch a Shuriken Pistol, it would still count, as would any shuriken weapon carried by a joined Autarch.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/20 04:15:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 13:43:36
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
insaniak wrote:
A joined Farseer (or any other IC) is counted as a separate unit in close combat.
So let's consider the following. An autarch joins a unit of Howling Banshees. Can you then only charge the IC? If you are already locked in combat can you make all your roll's against only the IC?
I am sure this is NOT the case.
|
War is my master; Death my mistress - Maugan Ra |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 13:58:42
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not excactly sure what youre asking here. Not at all.
You may be mistaking COUNTS AS for IS. When you charge Banshees+Autarch, they are one unit. When you come round to *resolving* the combat, you TREAT the IC as a seperate unit - in other words, only models in btb with the IC (or within 2" of a model in btb with the IC) can attack the IC. IF you are in btb with only the IC (no banshees) you MUST attack the IC, etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 14:56:11
Subject: Re:Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
So, as a summary, for my understanding as much as anyones  Please correct me if I'm wrong: DA Bladestorm: Shuriken weapons only. An Autarch with a Shuriken weapon would get a bonus shot. Farseer would not. Defend: Models alocating at least 1 attack to a DA or joined Autarch would loose an attack. Models only attacking the Farseer would not loose an attack. Banshee War Shout: Only effects enemy squad negatively, no bonus to Banshees. So, Farseer or Autarch could "benefit" from this. Acrobatic: Autarch gains counter-attack, Farseer does not. Dragon Tank Hunters: Autarch gains Tank Hunter, Farseer does not. Crack Shot: Exarch only effected. Scorpion Shadowstrike: Autarch explicitly forbidden. If an IC joins (other than Kahrandras), squad cannot Infiltrate. Stalker: Autarch and Farseer already have move through cover, so moot point. Reaper Crack Shot: Exarch only effected. Fast Shot: Exarch only effected. Hawks Skyleap: Farseer cannot join them in their leap. But, an Autarch can if it has wings, as per FAQ. Work out the strict RAW ruling on your own Intercept: Autarch gains the advantage, Farseer does not. Spiders Surprise Assault: An Autarch joined with the squad in reserves can deep strike with them. A Farseer joined with them in reserves means the entire squad cannot deep strike. Withdraw: A squad with an Autarch can all use Hit and Run. But, if a squad is joined with a Farseer, the entire squad looses Hit and Run. Spears: Skilled Rider: Autarch and Farseer both have skilled rider, so moot point. Withdraw: A squad with an Autarch can all use Hit and Run. But, if a squad is joined with a Farseer, the entire squad looses Hit and Run. Edit: Fixed some of these. Edit2: Fixed more.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/10/20 16:03:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 15:19:36
Subject: Re:Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Grakmar wrote:So, as a summary, for my understanding as much as anyones  Please correct me if I'm wrong:
DA
Bladestorm: Shuriken weapons only. An Autarch with a Shuriken weapon would get a bonus shot. Farseer would not.
Defend: Models alocating at least 1 attack to a DA would loose an attack. Models only attacking the Farseer or Autarch would not loose an attack. [correction, my fault]
Banshee
War Shout: Only effects enemy squad negatively, no bonus to Banshees. So, Farseer or Autarch could "benefit" from this.
Acrobatic: Autarch gains counter-attack, Farseer does not.
Dragon
Tank Hunters: Autarch gains Tank Hunter, Farseer does not.
Crack Shot: Exarch only effected.
Scorpion
Shadowstrike: Autarch explicitly forbidden. If an IC joins (other than Kahrandras), squad cannot Infiltrate.
Stalker: Autarch gains move through cover. If Farseer is part of the squad, they all have to move as slowly as the Farseer. Except as an IC the Farseer has MTC.
Reaper
Both powers effect Exarch only
Hawks
Skyleap: I'm confused here. Farseer cannot join them in their leap. But, an Autarch can. Can the Autarch deep strike with them the following turn? The rule gives them permission to deep strike, so this would over-ride the Autarch's inability to deep strike, correct? Giving the Autarch wings give him Deep Strike so no issue.
Intercept: Autarch gains the advantage, Farseer does not.
Spiders
Surprise Assault: An Autarch joined with the squad in reserves can deep strike with them. A Farseer joined with them in reserves means the entire squad cannot deep strike.
Withdraw: Again, I'm a bit confused here. A squad with an Autarch can all use Hit and Run. But, if a squad is joined with a Farseer, can the squad use Hit and Run, leaving the Farseer engaged in CC, or are they all stuck in CC? Hit and Run is covered under USRs in the BRB (lost if all do not have it).
Spears:
Skilled Rider: Autarch on bike gains this, Farseer on bike does not. Except as an IC the Farseer has SR.
Withdraw: See above, same issue.
See red text.
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/20 18:04:47
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 15:20:16
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
To the above poster... I'm going to reply only on those I think you answered wrongly or didn't answer at all... Dire Avengers Defend: I'd say the Autarch definitely does get the benefit, because pg 21. explicitly says the Autarchs benefit from Exarch powers and this definitely overrides the general rule of the rulebook. Scorpions Stalker: Farseer already has move through cover as every other IC, so they move just like they would in the Autarch case. Hawks: Skyleap: Autarch can indeed Deep strike with the squad if he has Hawk wings. Otherwise no, he can't. Spiders&Spears Withdraw: Just don't put a Farseer in those squads.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/10/20 15:22:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 15:29:00
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Araenion wrote:To the above poster...
I'm going to reply only on those I think you answered wrongly or didn't answer at all...
Dire Avengers
Defend: I'd say the Autarch definitely does get the benefit, because pg 21. explicitly says the Autarchs benefit from Exarch powers and this definitely overrides the general rule of the rulebook.
Scorpions
Stalker: Farseer already has move through cover as every other IC, so they move just like they would in the Autarch case.
Hawks:
Skyleap: Autarch can indeed Deep strike with the squad if he has Hawk wings. Otherwise no, he can't.
Spiders&Spears
Withdraw: I have to say I don't know how to resolve this myself...easiest solution: Just don't put a Farseer in those squads.
Defend: My thought was that the Autarch counts as a separate squad in CC, so Defend wouldn't benefit him. Is that wrong?
Stalker: Doh! I forgot IC have that
Skyleap: An Autarch without wings couldn't initially deep strike with them. But, he should be able to take advantage of Skyleap. And, Skyleap explicitly gives permission to deep strike the squad back onto the table. Doesn't that give him the ability to deep strike?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 15:35:24
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Skyleap sounds like bad writing of the rule in this context.
And the reason why Autarch do benefit from Defend is simply because pg 21. says they benefit from Exarch powers. Doesn't matter if he counts as a separate unit in the assault, if he's with DA Exarch that has Defend, he benefits from it, as per the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 15:49:47
Subject: Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Treated as, not actually is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 15:52:59
Subject: Re:Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My opinion is that the Autauch would benefit from Defend as the IC though being counted as a different unit in CC is still a part of the unit with the exarch. That is like state that a fortuned unit with a faseer allows the unit to benefit from it in CC but not the Farseer.
As for the Skyleap issue it's in the Eldar FAQ, gotta have wings for skyleap.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 16:02:01
Subject: Re:Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ok, I corrected my earlier post. Page 75 of the BGB clarifies my Hit+Run question.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 16:23:06
Subject: Re:Exarch powers and ICs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
BlueDagger wrote:My opinion is that the Autauch would benefit from Defend as the IC though being counted as a different unit in CC is still a part of the unit with the exarch. That is like state that a fortuned unit with a faseer allows the unit to benefit from it in CC but not the Farseer.
Precisely. He doesn't magically lose it when he enters CC, where it only works anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
|