Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 17:37:42
Subject: Pinning MC
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Deciever has the ability to pin fearless units. Monstrous creatures can not go to ground. What if Deciever makes a Carnifex make a pin check?? This came up the other night I was playing. The person I was playing was fairly casual and they brought up the point of monstrous creature cant go to ground. I assume specific (deciever's ability) over rules general (monstrous creatures can not go to ground) but I just let it go. Curious of how it should be played if I run into bugs again with my Crons at a more competetive setting.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/20 17:38:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 17:41:01
Subject: Pinning MC
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
an MC can not go to ground voluntarily or forced. i would need to check the wording on the deceiver's rule but as far as i know it only over-rules the fearless part, not the MC bit. So no go.
|
"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 18:01:00
Subject: Pinning MC
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Unless otherwise specified in their special rules, monstrous creatures cannot go to ground, voluntarily or otherwise.
In short, no, he cannot pin a Carnifex.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 18:11:53
Subject: Pinning MC
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
If it were a matter of the MCs ignoring it because they are Fearless, it would work. It does not read that way, however. MCs do not autopass the roll, they simply cannot go to ground/be pinned.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/20 18:12:03
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 18:14:26
Subject: Pinning MC
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It would make for an entertaining conversion though, a Carnifex trying to go to ground...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 18:29:08
Subject: Re:Pinning MC
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
Or something like those old timey cartoons where the Carni cowers behind something 1/10th its size.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 18:48:59
Subject: Re:Pinning MC
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Actually, I'd think that the rules should be read as the following:
The MC is wounded and has to take a pinning test. But, even if he fails, he doesn't go to ground, as so doesn't get +1 to cover and does not loose his next turns actions. He'd still be "pinned", but it wouldn't actually cause him to do anything. But, he still has to take a meaningless test.
It's like the situation (I forget the models involved) where the defending model grants a re-roll on a successful wound and the attacking model grants a re-roll on a failed wound. You have to roll once and no matter what, re-roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 19:09:23
Subject: Pinning MC
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Gwar! wrote:Unless otherwise specified in their special rules, monstrous creatures cannot go to ground, voluntarily or otherwise.
Are there currently any MCs that have such a special rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/20 19:17:19
Subject: Pinning MC
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
The deceiver is telling a god-damned super walmart to sit down. No go.
|
Times banned from Heresy-Online: VI |
|
 |
 |
|