Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 02:24:35
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
In the Ork Codex, the Big Mek is allowed to upgrade his choppa (close-combat weapon) for a burna. Under this scenario, he continues to retain his slugga (pistol).
Question: In the shooting phase, may the Big Mek fire both the slugga & the burna?
Additional Question: Does the slugga (with the burna) confer an additional attack? I know it doesn't with the power klaw.
**Edited: for error.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/21 03:18:07
Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 02:31:38
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I think what you mean is can the Mek fire both the slugga and Burna. He can make one shooting attack a turn unless he has a special rule enabling him to make more attacks (like by being a MC). Does the Mek have this rule?
Does the Mek have two CCW? If so, he can benefit from the rule enabling him to gain an extra attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 03:00:03
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Normal infantry, which I believe the Big Mek is (don't have my codex in front of me), can fire one weapon per turn. So, no, he can't fire his slugga and his burna in the same turn.
I believe the Burna REPLACES the choppa. And since a burna is an assault weapon, it does not give him an additional attack. He can't claim the additional attack with the burna.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 03:11:50
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
PraetorDave wrote:Normal infantry, which I believe the Big Mek is (don't have my codex in front of me), can fire one weapon per turn. So, no, he can't fire his slugga and his burna in the same turn.
I believe the Burna REPLACES the choppa. And since a burna is an assault weapon, it does not give him an additional attack. He can't claim the additional attack with the burna.
The above 2 posters are correct about the only being able to fire 1 weapon.
The Burna Gets stupid; If the Mek fires the burna in the Shooting Phase before the assault then the burna is just a gun and nothing more; therefore he gets no bonus attack(only having the pistol as a CCW).
However, if he does not fire the Burna in the shooting phase before the assault(does not fire any weapon, fires the Slugga, or gets assaulted on the enemies turn), then the burna is a power weapon and as such grants him a bonus attack when used in conjunction with the Skugga.
P.S. Dave: a pistol is an assault weapon and it is also a Close combat weapon that allows a bonus attack when paired with another 1-handed CCW.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/21 03:13:50
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 03:26:44
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
@Calypso,
You're right, my error; it's now fixed. The attack baseline of the Big Mek is 3; with the gear he's given (two close-combat weapons), he has four assaults. It seems he can weild the burna one-handed; otherwise, won't he have to replace BOTH the slugga AND the choppa? I should think, yes; ergo, with the slugga/burna combo, doesn't that entitle him to four attacks?
@ Kommissar Kel,
Right right right. I kow that the burna is no longer a power weapon in assault if used in prior shooting phase. But thanks for the reiteration.
@ Calypso, PraetorDave, Kom. Kel,
Thanks for the rule clarification on shooting.
|
Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 05:12:44
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
I actually brought it up to point out that if he fires it he does not get the Bonus because he is no longer fighting with 2 ccws; just the Slugga. A burna is not any type of CCW when it is not a power weapon(which makes it just 1 giant headache to even think about).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 05:22:30
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
|
That makes the most sense, if you look under the burna entry, they don't have choppas, if they did that would be pretty crazy. 4 power weapon attacks each on a charge...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 05:36:04
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
@Kommissar Kel,
Wait, so if the burna is no longer a power weapon, does it not then become the equivalent of a choppa (which it replaces), and then thus allows for the extra attack (i.e., 4)?
Actually, I'm looking at the rule for fighting with two single-handed weapons, a normal & a special weapon: Here it states that models gain one additional attack, and all attacks (including bonus) benefit from the special weapon's ability, excepting power fists, etc., but not burnas! So, is that four baseline power-weapon attacks?
@Greenbay,
Yeah, for boys the burna must be a two-handed weapon, and on the charge (assuming they did not flame during the shooting phase) have THREE power-weapon attacks. Sweet.
(Man, I wish Gwar! would get in on this!)
|
Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 09:53:18
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not necessarily; it doesnt become *anything* in terms of CCW - so no 2 CCW bonus.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 10:58:51
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
This thread would appear to be a call for yet another reminder.
For reference, the rule about firing a single weapon is on page 15. Second paragraph (or third, if you include the little fluff blurb at the top).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/21 10:59:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/10/21 14:05:02
Subject: Big Mek: Sluggas, Choppas, Burnas
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Sorry about that I was trying to 'lead a horse to water' by asking those questions. The Burna needs to be counted as a PW in order for it to count as a CCW as Nos and Komissar stated.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|