Switch Theme:

Casting Spells  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Human Auxiliary to the Empire




Middle-Finland, Karstula

Can you charge and cast spells?
If you don't manage to cast spell.. can you cast any other spells that turn?

Tau Empire: 2500p
Warriors of Chaos : 3000p
Dark Eldar: 2000p
Dark Elves: 1600p  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) Yes, you can declare a charge and still cast, assuming the spells you cast can be cast while in combat (if you make it, that is!)

This is because, UNLIKE shooting, there is no prohibition on spell casting after movement.

2) If you fail to reach the casting value of a spell, you are *usually* free to cast another spell. The exception is if you roll a 1 or 2 on your dice (unmodified) in which case "not enough power" (from memory...) kicks in, and you lose concentration preventing you from casting further that turn.
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Actually Nos...

If the total of the dice are a natural 1 or 2, you automatically fail.
pg 32 Not Enough Power: "No matter how powerful a Wizard might be, he cannot cast a spell where the total of the natural dice scores is less than 3."

And

If you fail to cast the spell, that Wizard done for the turn for casting.

pg 32 Broken Concentration: "If a Wizard fails to equal a spell's casting value, or the total of the natural dice scores is a 1 or 2, not only is the spell not cast, but the Wizard... is unable to cast spells for the rest of the Magic phase."

As to charging and casting, yep, you can as there is nothing that stops you.

*Edit* Chaged you to that Wizard.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/22 13:57:03


I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Close, failing to cast a spell also prevents you from casting further that turn. "Not Enough Power" just says if your total dice roll is 1 or 2 that even if you do meet the casting value of the spell, you still fail to cast.


(pg 32 of the big rule book, don't have the small one with me.)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
ouch, beaten by almost a minute XD

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/22 13:51:45


 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




It's all good, the more the merrier

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gah, brain fart back to 7th ed. Remembered that replacement for minimum casting = 3, but forgot failing to cast means you're done as well....
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: