Switch Theme:

Rule clarifications  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Canada

So I had a game last night where two things came up

1. 3 Terminators(1 Chainfist and 2 Power Fist) assaulted and attacked my Land Raider and a Dreadnought. He shot at the dreadnought with ML and missed then proceeded to assault and said "as long as they are in unit coherency he can hit both". My rebuttal was that he shot the dreadnought so he had to attack it. He didn't have any independent characters in there, that would be the only way I would have allowed him to split up his attacks.

2. He shot while running away, this one seemed pretty simple he was running you don't get to shoot until you pass your leadership or in this case Marines auto regroup the next turn but still don't get to shoot the turn they ran.

I let him do this because I hate to argue and the guy who was running the game night sided with him.


4500 of Dark Angels
2500 of Grey Knights
Malifaux - Rasputina and Viktoras
Hordes - Circle Orboros
WIP Beastmen  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1. If he was close enough to assault both dread and LR WHILE maintaining coherency with an already moved model, then he is actually compelled to assault the LR as well as you are required to get in base contact with an unengaged enemy model if possible.

So assuming closest to closest moves first, and the LR and Dread were within 2" of where the terminator ended up AND the next to move terminator was within 6" of the LR, the next terminator to move would move into contact with the LR.

You are tehn compelled to attack the unit you are in b2b with, unless you are in b2b with 2 or units (not possible in this situation)

2. Incorrect. You can shoot while falling back (see fall back) but you (obviously) count as having moved.

So your opponent was correct.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/10/29 15:30:00


 
   
Made in us
Aspirant Tech-Adept





St. Louis

Nos is right as usual. Also see page 34 for multi assault rules and page 46 for rules on shooting when falling back.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





When you assault you have to make base contact with your intended target unit if possible. If you can not reach into base contact with the original target unit then you must move to within 2" of another member of your squad. If you can reach another enemy unit while remaining with in 2" of your squad, and are unable to base an assaulted model, then you can assault them too. Keep in mind that if you can reach the original assault targets base then you HAVE to base that unit. This is all detailed on page 34.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Sol wrote:When you assault you have to make base contact with your intended target unit if possible. If you can not reach into base contact with the original target unit then you must move to within 2" of another member of your squad. If you can reach another enemy unit while remaining with in 2" of your squad, and are unable to base an assaulted model, then you can assault them too. Keep in mind that if you can reach the original assault targets base then you HAVE to base that unit. This is all detailed on page 34.


you are not compelled to move into base contact with unengaged models in the same squad only. You can opt to move into base contact with a vehicle after the initial assault instead. The same goes for 2 units. If your opponent is foolish enough to put two units so close together a terminator squad can assault one model into one unit and remain in coherency while putting another model into an unengaged model in the other unit, they may do so to draw both into the combat. I do this quite often against Tyranids to kill 10 or 15 Gaunts and force 15-20 fearless saves onto a Hive Tyrant with my Fiends.

That said, you do not HAVE to assault both units if you want to only assault one of them.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sol wrote:When you assault you have to make base contact with your intended target unit if possible.


Incorrect. PLEASE actually read the rules before contrdicting two different posters, it makes these threads much shorter.

There is NO REQUIREMENT in the assault rules for any model *after the first* to mvoe into b2b with the initial target unit. None whatsoever. I have given the only two rules that do matter, which is you must retain coherency with an already moved, and you MUST get into b2b with an enemy model that has not been engaged already if possible.

Note there is no requirement on *what* unit the enemy model belongs to.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Nos is correct:

First model to move has to move into b-t-b with the unit being assaulted and nothing else.

Models after the first can move into b-t-b with hit anything you want, but have to be in coherency with a model that has already done it's assault move.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in ca
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





Canada

So pretty much your allowed to stretch out a unit as long as you want and pull others into CC as long as it is within your 6 inch assault move and then attack both groups with whatever you assaulted with correct?

4500 of Dark Angels
2500 of Grey Knights
Malifaux - Rasputina and Viktoras
Hordes - Circle Orboros
WIP Beastmen  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




DisgruntldGoat wrote:So pretty much your allowed to stretch out a unit as long as you want and pull others into CC as long as it is within your 6 inch assault move and then attack both groups with whatever you assaulted with correct?


Well, it depends on whether you can fit within the requirements of the bullet points.

If you can do so without being forced into b2b, then you can start to build the chain.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Right, and you can often times (with clever assaultmoves) stack up some units on the 'back end' of the assault to create a bridge to another unit. Be really careful when you do this.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The easiest way to do it is to make sure you leave space between your models, and move the BACK models first - they generally wont have the room to make it into b2b, so you can then place them where you like (within 2" of another moved model, of course)

Takes practice and good skill.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Spreading the models out in the movement phase can make it easier. As Nos said, you need some models that are not in range of the target squad so that you can use them to bridge the gap to the next squad.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Sol wrote:When you assault you have to make base contact with your intended target unit if possible.


Incorrect. PLEASE actually read the rules before contrdicting two different posters, it makes these threads much shorter.

There is NO REQUIREMENT in the assault rules for any model *after the first* to mvoe into b2b with the initial target unit. None whatsoever. I have given the only two rules that do matter, which is you must retain coherency with an already moved, and you MUST get into b2b with an enemy model that has not been engaged already if possible.

Note there is no requirement on *what* unit the enemy model belongs to.


How about PLEASE learn how not to be a total douche bag. When I started typing that post the other 2 weren't even there yet. Also what difference does it make how long this thread is it is a freakin forum for posting threads and discussing 40k rules. Not a forum to be a jerk on.

Moving on. What about if that unit shot at a unit. Does that unit not have to first try to base everyone in the unit it shot at first before trying to assault another unit as well? Since it says you can only assault what you shot at? Or is one guy going into the unit you shot at enough?
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Sol wrote:Moving on. What about if that unit shot at a unit. Does that unit not have to first try to base everyone in the unit it shot at first before trying to assault another unit as well? Since it says you can only assault what you shot at? Or is one guy going into the unit you shot at enough?


Assaulting Multiple Enemy Units, page 34 of the rulebook. You must declare the assault against the unit you shot at, but the first guy moved is enough. Yes, you're required to try for base-to-base with enemy models but nothing about "primary" target first as long as you can follow the assault rules otherwise.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Sol wrote:Moving on. What about if that unit shot at a unit. Does that unit not have to first try to base everyone in the unit it shot at first before trying to assault another unit as well? Since it says you can only assault what you shot at? Or is one guy going into the unit you shot at enough?

No, only the first model to move (the closest one) must move into B2B with the target unit. The other models must move into B2B "with any enemy model". So one guy is enough. P34

Sol wrote:How about PLEASE learn how not to be a total douche bag. When I started typing that post the other 2 weren't even there yet. Also what difference does it make how long this thread is it is a freakin forum for posting threads and discussing 40k rules. Not a forum to be a jerk on.

When the question has been answered and someone chimes in to state something that's completely wrong all it does is drag the thread out with no real purpose whatever.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sol - of course they werent.

Page 34 has your answers. Please read the bullet points, note these are the only restrictions and requirements you are under when assaulting
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: