Switch Theme:

Hive Tyrant Leech Essence?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Been having a careful read of the rules about this power.

It says the Tyrant gains every wound back for each wound INFLICTED - key word is inflicted, inflicted means give or apply when looking at a thesaurus.

Looking in the rule book you roll to hit and then to wound, for each wound RECEIVED that model then takes a armour save. On p20 it says roll a D6 for each wound the model has suffered and then compare to the armour save.

The powers rule, as mentioned, says inflicted, which means each wound the enemy models got the Tyrant gets wounds back - not unsaved wounds. The rule says nothing about unsaved wounds (it is ap2 anyway but obivously cover applies), just wonuds which have been inflicted, wounds which have been applied to the model.

I brought this up as I asked this question before ages ago and a few folk said it's after armour saves, though the rules do not mention failed armoured saves at all and clearly says wounds inflicted - when you roll to save, you roll for how many wounds have been inflicted on your unit.

Whatcha think?

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







mercer wrote:Been having a careful read of the rules about this power.

It says the Tyrant gains every wound back for each wound INFLICTED - key word is inflicted, inflicted means give or apply when looking at a thesaurus.

Looking in the rule book you roll to hit and then to wound, for each wound RECEIVED that model then takes a armour save. On p20 it says roll a D6 for each wound the model has suffered and then compare to the armour save.

The powers rule, as mentioned, says inflicted, which means each wound the enemy models got the Tyrant gets wounds back - not unsaved wounds. The rule says nothing about unsaved wounds (it is ap2 anyway but obivously cover applies), just wonuds which have been inflicted, wounds which have been applied to the model.

I brought this up as I asked this question before ages ago and a few folk said it's after armour saves, though the rules do not mention failed armoured saves at all and clearly says wounds inflicted - when you roll to save, you roll for how many wounds have been inflicted on your unit.

Whatcha think?
No. A wound is not inflicted until the save has been failed. If it had been, then a model with 1 wound who has to take 2 armour saves would be dead, even if he passed them.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Good question on this one, the wording is a bit vague overall. In the context of 'inflicting' wounds I believe the term is used several times in the BRB as well.

Generally, inflicting a wound means a model actually taking a wound after all saves have been applied. I will try to find a good reference for this when I get home.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

I'll agree with Gwar from a RAI perspective as well. There's almost nothing in the game that actually cares about your "to wound" roll results before saves are applied (I actually can't think of anything, but left "almost" just in case).

GW really needs to come up with a new term for the roll you perform after to-hit. Calling them "wounds" is just too confusing since they really aren't wounds until after saves are taken.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Gwar! wrote:
mercer wrote:Been having a careful read of the rules about this power.

It says the Tyrant gains every wound back for each wound INFLICTED - key word is inflicted, inflicted means give or apply when looking at a thesaurus.

Looking in the rule book you roll to hit and then to wound, for each wound RECEIVED that model then takes a armour save. On p20 it says roll a D6 for each wound the model has suffered and then compare to the armour save.

The powers rule, as mentioned, says inflicted, which means each wound the enemy models got the Tyrant gets wounds back - not unsaved wounds. The rule says nothing about unsaved wounds (it is ap2 anyway but obivously cover applies), just wonuds which have been inflicted, wounds which have been applied to the model.

I brought this up as I asked this question before ages ago and a few folk said it's after armour saves, though the rules do not mention failed armoured saves at all and clearly says wounds inflicted - when you roll to save, you roll for how many wounds have been inflicted on your unit.

Whatcha think?
No. A wound is not inflicted until the save has been failed. If it had been, then a model with 1 wound who has to take 2 armour saves would be dead, even if he passed them.


I get what you mean but the rule book doesn't do it that way, tbh it does things arse over tit. Really you receive a wound when failed the save, though the rule book says you receive wounds and then any which fail armour saves are casaulities, so a wound isn't inflicted until the save is the failed, the wound is inflicted when you roll to wound, then you get casaulities.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Love it, love everything about it.
It does say for each wound inflicted, not unsaved wound. To me that reads as each of the D3 S3 Ap2 hits that become wounds to be saved against would restore a wound to the hive tyrant. Not just the wounds that cause unsaved wounds or casualties. Wounds inflicted are just the hit dice that made it through, not the result of the opponent making any saves.
The Tyranid codex has a bunch of precedents.
"Hits inflicted by Dessicator larvae wound on a 2+." That reads the exact same way as per the usage of "Inflict". The dice you roll to see if you hit that are successful will trigger this rule.
The devourer which causes -1 Ld to a unit per casualty. Not per wound inflicted or unsaved wound, per casualty.
Venom cannons also say each glancing or penetrating hit inflicted, with similar usage ad meaning.

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The rulebook does define "inflicted" as prior to making armour saves (etc) - had this come up with the necron power that gives you hits for each wound inflicted.
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Doomthumbs wrote:Love it, love everything about it.
It does say for each wound inflicted, not unsaved wound. To me that reads as each of the D3 S3 Ap2 hits that become wounds to be saved against would restore a wound to the hive tyrant. Not just the wounds that cause unsaved wounds or casualties. Wounds inflicted are just the hit dice that made it through, not the result of the opponent making any saves.
The Tyranid codex has a bunch of precedents.
"Hits inflicted by Dessicator larvae wound on a 2+." That reads the exact same way as per the usage of "Inflict". The dice you roll to see if you hit that are successful will trigger this rule.
The devourer which causes -1 Ld to a unit per casualty. Not per wound inflicted or unsaved wound, per casualty.
Venom cannons also say each glancing or penetrating hit inflicted, with similar usage ad meaning.


Exactly! Plenty examples through the Tyranid codex how this works. Looking at it, the power obivously works like this because it's short ranged, low strength, low number of hits and is a free power and a free power won't be nerfed that much.

nosferatu1001 wrote:The rulebook does define "inflicted" as prior to making armour saves (etc) - had this come up with the necron power that gives you hits for each wound inflicted.


Exactly, inflicted is before to armour saves, so it's each wound inflicted. Nosferatu is probably my favourite rules laywer of Dakka

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







This is the same "problem" vect has too. He gains wounds for every wound he causes with the Orb thingies, not "unsaved" wounds.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Vect is a character in the D.E codex I guess? What's the exact wording of that?

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Doomthumbs wrote:The devourer which causes -1 Ld to a unit per casualty. Not per wound inflicted or unsaved wound, per casualty.


wait a second, they do?
*pages through codex* did devourers just become the most awesome weapon ever?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wish I had a rulebook to look up the page reference, but when making armour saves etc it talks about wounds that have already been inflicted - there is no "wounding hits" nomenclature, which would have been more useful!
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Just some math to show the balance on this.
[Edit: I blow at math]
As per the rules the Leech Essence is pretty clearly the winner in any way you want to look at for recovering wounds. That makes sense to me that the Tyrant and Swarmlord are the only Monsters capable of this power. Its almost assuredly giving you at least one wound back a turn. On a 4 wound model that your opponent really SHOULD have to work to kill and focus fire on according to fluff. If you're not, you maybe don't deserve to not get eaten. Just start rubbing yourself down with tenderizing spice.

Nos, I like you a lot better when we agree on things.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Garf, yes. Yes they are just that cool. If 7 models die to devourer shooting, its a -7 to leadership. The rule states when a unit suffers a casualty as a result of a model with a devourer it gets a -1 Ld.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Wording for Vect actually reads to side with Mercer, Gwar.

It says "No armor saves are allowed against wounds inflicted"
That kinda cancels out what you're saying, as the wounds are inflicted BEFORE the armor saves.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/11/03 16:59:18


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

garf wrote:
Doomthumbs wrote:The devourer which causes -1 Ld to a unit per casualty. Not per wound inflicted or unsaved wound, per casualty.


wait a second, they do?
*pages through codex* did devourers just become the most awesome weapon ever?


Not exactly. It says if the unit suffers casualities thanks to the devourer and then take a morale test it's -1, not -1 per casuality. The key word however is casuality.

It's like desiccator larve, it says hits are inflicted are wounded on a 2+, which means a wound is inflicted on a 2+ - key word here is inflicted, the same word as the leech essence bu no one argues it - you get a armour save per wound inflicted with the desiccator larve, everyone knows that so is the same for leech essence.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Wish I had a rulebook to look up the page reference, but when making armour saves etc it talks about wounds that have already been inflicted - there is no "wounding hits" nomenclature, which would have been more useful!


It's p20 I think. It says roll a D6 to save every model which has been wounded. The wound has already been inflicted at this point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/03 15:47:46


warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I thought the psychic shooting powers for a HT automatically hit Mercer?
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Doomthumbs wrote:Just some math to show the balance on this.
Hive Tyrant has a BS of 3, so his hit dice on Psychic shooting attacks need rolls of 4+ to hit. On average, hes going to roll a 2 for attacks on a D3. Those 2 dice have a 50% chance each to inflict a wound. Thats one inflicted wound, average. So you're almost guaranteed that you will recover a wound on the Tyrant. Your chances for a 5 or 6 on the D3 and 4+ on everything else and having a crazy good time are: [(1/3)*(1/2)*(1/2)*(1/2)] = a 1/24 chance (4.1%) of regenerating 3 wounds. Chances for two wounds making it through out of 3 are about 1/12 or a 8.3% chance. Not too shabby!

Now if I purchased regeneration for the Tyrant, I need to roll a 6 to regain a wound. Lets say the Tyrant is in bad shape and has taken 3 wounds. He gets to roll 3 dice at the start of the turn to regen. [3*(1/6)]= 50% chance to regen one wound. Or a 1/216 chance (0.46%) of regenerating 3 wounds. That sucks. If only there was a better way!
Leech Essense is that way, If you're a Tyrant.
As per the rules the Leech Essence is pretty clearly the winner in any way you want to look at for recovering wounds. That makes sense to me that the Tyrant and Swarmlord are the only Monsters capable of this power. Its almost assuredly giving you at least one wound back a turn. On a 4 wound model that your opponent really SHOULD have to work to kill and focus fire on according to fluff. If you're not, you maybe don't deserve to not get eaten. Just start rubbing yourself down with tenderizing spice.

Nos, I like you a lot better when we agree on things.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Garf, yes. Yes they are just that cool. If 7 models die to devourer shooting, its a -7 to leadership. The rule states when a unit suffers a casualty as a result of a model with a devourer it gets a -1 Ld.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Wording for Vect actually reads to side with Mercer, Gwar.

It says "No armor saves are allowed against wounds inflicted"
That kinda cancels out what you're saying, as the wounds are inflicted BEFORE the armor saves.


Doomthumb, the Tyrants power auto hits mate.

And as mentioned, the rule for the devourer is -1 to the leadership, not -1 per model. It says suffers -1 penalty not -1 per casuality.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:I thought the psychic shooting powers for a HT automatically hit Mercer?


They do. I didn't say they didn't, doomthumb did

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/03 15:51:24


warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

The PSA does auto hit the unit, yes.
But the D3 dice do NOT. That auto hit unit takes D3 hits. You Have to roll to hit that.
Wounds versus unsaved wounds are discussed on pg 25 under "Taking Saving Throws".

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Doomthumbs wrote:Wording for Vect actually reads to side with Mercer, Gwar.

It says "No armor saves are allowed against wounds inflicted"
That kinda cancels out what you're saying, as the wounds are inflicted BEFORE the armor saves.
I was not talking about that, I was talking about the Wound Restoration effect.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Also, I'm pretty sure it says one or more casualties as a result of "A" devourer. Not a unit armed with devourers.
If you wanted to be doing a full on RAW screw over, Roll each gun separately. Each devourer is the subject causing the effect. Each gun that gets a kill (up to 3 because of assault 3 and luck) causes a -1. Two Guns could cause -2. A pod of 20 devgaunts is pretty demoralizing.

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So you are saying that the auto hit only applies to the shooting power, despite the shooting power "weapon" being the D3 hits?

The weapon profile of the PSA is essentially "Assault D3" - the only portion of the power that CAN autohit is the D3 part, as there is no other effect.

If you auto hit you auto hit the D3 hits. Gah, too many hits!
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Doomthumbs wrote:The PSA does auto hit the unit, yes.
But the D3 dice do NOT. That auto hit unit takes D3 hits. You Have to roll to hit that.
Wounds versus unsaved wounds are discussed on pg 25 under "Taking Saving Throws".


Yes I know. You said he needs a 4+ to hit....

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

If it was "Auto hit" for the "D3 Hits" that it causes why would you roll a D3? Why wouldnt all of them auto hit?
Because its not the same thing.
The PSA hits the unit automatically, yes. Measured from the Tyrant to the closest model, If its in range, the PSA will hit.
When it does, it rolls a D3.
It rolls that many dice to hit on a 4+ due to a BS3.
It then rolls wounds against the targeted model's toughness at a ST3. Those are the wounds inflicted.

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Doomthumbs wrote:Also, I'm pretty sure it says one or more casualties as a result of "A" devourer. Not a unit armed with devourers.
If you wanted to be doing a full on RAW screw over, Roll each gun separately. Each devourer is the subject causing the effect. Each gun that gets a kill (up to 3 because of assault 3 and luck) causes a -1. Two Guns could cause -2. A pod of 20 devgaunts is pretty demoralizing.


It does say "a" devourer so I guess you could do it that way, it's going with the rules anyway and a squad of Devilgaunts would seriously hurt

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

You would have to roll separately, yes. Can't distinguish which gun was which if you roll in a big pile.
And it is a big pile, if 20 gaunts gives you 60 shots.
Or 20 piles of 3 rolling to hit and wound separately. If any wounds result from any pile, that pile of 3 dice just caused a -1 Leadership modifier.
If one pile of 3 gets 3 wounds and 3 casualties as a result, it still only gets a -1. So it is per gun, not per casualty as I think I garbled previously.

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Doomthumbs wrote:If it was "Auto hit" for the "D3 Hits" that it causes why would you roll a D3? Why wouldnt all of them auto hit?
Because its not the same thing.


You roll a D3 to determine the number of auto hits that occur? I am confused why you think the 'suffers x hits' for this is different than for, say, a vehicle explosion in which the unit suffers X S4 hits...same idea

I think the idea that a power is good or bad is a horrible way to decide if something should be allowed (in this case the inflicted debate).

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Someone wise just informed me that Vect;s rules are different from the wording I posted. I was using the 2001 DE Codex, not the new one.
Apparently he has a new weapon, Obsidion Orbs, that say "Each wound caused by an Obsidian Orb will heal a wound Vect has has suffered earlier in the battle."
As it says Wound and not "Unsaved Wound", it means even if someone passes a save against it he gets to heal a wound.

Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Doomthumbs wrote:You would have to roll separately, yes. Can't distinguish which gun was which if you roll in a big pile.
And it is a big pile, if 20 gaunts gives you 60 shots.
Or 20 piles of 3 rolling to hit and wound separately. If any wounds result from any pile, that pile of 3 dice just caused a -1 Leadership modifier.
If one pile of 3 gets 3 wounds and 3 casualties as a result, it still only gets a -1. So it is per gun, not per casualty as I think I garbled previously.


maybe roll them in a group of 20, replace any wounds with colored dice for the extra sets, colored dice dont cause more LD? while technically not "right" I think its pretty statistically close...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/03 16:22:22


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Doomthumbs - the 12" range is simply part of the weapon profile.

What "autohits" are the D3 "hits" that the power inflicts. It is D3 for the same reason as Lootas are D3 shots. Balance.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

While were discussing it, could someone quote the devourer rule on penalties to leadership - it seems to be really garbled.

Also, the rolling process you described is not statistically equivalent to rolling each individually for the purposes of determining which 'gun' caused the casualty.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Ex nihilo

Ummhmm... but you still have to roll to wound using Strength 3, correct? The D3 is the number of hits, you don't have to roll to hit past that.
But that number of automatic hits still has to roll to wound. Strength 3 versus toughness whatever you've got. The ones that make the grade are wounds that the hive tyrant gets back, as they are the inflicted wounds.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Its way off topic calypso, but I'll post it.
Page 81 Tyranid codex, Under Devourer, the part after the *
"If an enemy unit suffers one or more casualties as a result of a devourer and is required to take a morale check at the end of the phase, it suffers a -1 penalty to its Leadership."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/03 16:29:48


Tyranids attract more tang than an astronaut convention.
Success is a little more than I already have. Every day, Forever. Until you have nothing.
As Galactic ruler, I promise to be tough but fair. But tough.
"Dangerous terrain where you just die upon rolling a 1 is for sissies. Parts of the board you wont even move your models into because you're physically afraid of being stung by wasps? Welcome to a Tyranid invasion, cue danger music. "
Check out my NSFW Tyranids! Your eyes will burn for days.
Team NSFW: Making wargamers deeply uncomfortable since 2011.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: