Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 04:00:53
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
Had a situation come up that Id like to get the general communitys opinion on:
Mek firing from Wagon rolls double ones for strength so gun goes BOOM! Does the wagon suffer any hits for this? We played as though it didnt. Also what if a squad is embarked with him? Would they go bye bye as well? RAW I dont think so....Im just looking for confirmation on these matters!
Thanks!
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 04:09:17
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
What is the exact wording please, as we cannot give you an opinion without knowing what it does. For instance does it say the model is removed from play, does it say that it takes a strgenth x hit, does it say it causes a catastrophic event causing the entire world to be sucked into a black hole?
|
8000+points of |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 04:11:55
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
If you roll a double one remove the mek as a casualty...models within 6in are removed from play...this brings up another question for me too then.
If the mek stepped out and got this result and there was a vehicle 6in away would it be removed from play as well? What if troops were embarked on that vehicle?
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 04:16:54
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
seems to me that RAW if he was standing next to the vehicle (which is a model) it would be removed, and since there are troops inside the vehicle they are gone too as a result. the vehicle hasn't been destroyed, so they cant disembark. its simply been removed from play. in the instance of him firing from the actual vehicle i would go ahead and say yes the vehicle and squad inside are removed, and the 6 inches in measured from the hull (much like farseers measuring from the hull of wave serpents)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/04 04:17:49
7th Back in Action!
6th 2000+
5th 2000+ retired
4th 2000+ retired
3rd 2000+ retired |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 04:22:15
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
Ztryder wrote:seems to me that RAW if he was standing next to the vehicle (which is a model) it would be removed, and since there are troops inside the vehicle they are gone too as a result. the vehicle hasn't been destroyed, so they cant disembark. its simply been removed from play.
in the instance of him firing from the actual vehicle i would go ahead and say yes the vehicle and squad inside are removed, and the 6 inches in measured from the hull (much like farseers measuring from the hull of wave serpents)
+1 just like you would to see the range of a KFF inside a vehicle, its a trade off for double 6's.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 05:56:02
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Storm Guard
Minnesota
|
Noir wrote:Ztryder wrote:seems to me that RAW if he was standing next to the vehicle (which is a model) it would be removed, and since there are troops inside the vehicle they are gone too as a result. the vehicle hasn't been destroyed, so they cant disembark. its simply been removed from play.
in the instance of him firing from the actual vehicle i would go ahead and say yes the vehicle and squad inside are removed, and the 6 inches in measured from the hull (much like farseers measuring from the hull of wave serpents)
+1 just like you would to see the range of a KFF inside a vehicle, its a trade off for double 6's.
Yes indeed, a big mek w/ SAG in a full battlewagon flanked by 2 other battlewagons, with 3 trukks hiding behind, could easily remove from the game the entire formation with a roll of double ones. If that happens, you win the ork 'hilarious death' of the month and the other orks get a good guffah!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 06:00:11
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
Interesting...well it appears we played it improperly then!
Good to know!
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 06:06:28
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
Kintnersville/Philadelphia, PA
|
RAW, I suppose that yeah, it does remove the vehicle straight from play - I've questioned this several times when I play with my army, since I run a SAG Mek and a squad of 11 Lootas in a Killkannon-wagon. I tend to run it as the Mek and any infantry units in range are auto-removed, while any vehicles in range take an automatic penetrating hit. I dunno if that's correct, but I think it's a fair way to play it.
Just my thoughts.
|
Ouze on GW: "I'd like to be like, hey baby, you're a freak but you just got too much crazy going on, and I don't hook up with bunny boilers. But then Necrons are going to come out, and I'm going to be like damn girl, and then next thing you know, it's angry sex time again.
It's complicated."
Da Goldtoof Marauders - 2000 pts, The Sacred Host of Kai'Xili (Lizardmen) - 500 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 07:26:31
Subject: Re:SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well since since distances from a model embarked in a transport are measured from the hull of the vehicle, any model within d6" of the hull of said vehicle would be removed from play. Of course since the transport didn't get destroyed by the rules for the vehicle damage chart, the troops inside also don't get a chance to disembark but aren't technically destroyed.
...huh....interesting. Do the embarked models then count as kill points?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/11/04 07:27:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 08:13:48
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Embarked models removed from play definitely count as kill points.
And as has been said, the 6 inch effect from tge gun is an equaliser for the mek-embarked KFF, so models within 6 of the incident are gone.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/04 08:14:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 11:43:19
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The moral of the story is don't use SAG!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 15:08:37
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
It should be pointed out it's d6" you lose men, not 6". I would think inside a vehicle, you're so lose together you assume everyone got sucked in. I would think the vehicle would suffer a pen hit or just be removed as well
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 15:36:39
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Juvieus Kaine wrote:It should be pointed out it's d6" you lose men, not 6". I would think inside a vehicle, you're so lose together you assume everyone got sucked in. I would think the vehicle would suffer a pen hit or just be removed as well
Rules say that models are removed. No pen, no glance, the vehicle just disappears.
*poof* Gone along with everyone inside and any other model in range.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 16:43:17
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
Gwar! wrote:The moral of the story is don't use SAG!
But its sooooo much fun!
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 17:04:32
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
unless its been errata'd to say its a penetrating hit, the vehicle is gone. under the fluff of the SAG doesnt snake eyes create some kind of warprift/black hole type thing that sucks everything around the mek into it? im not sure how a vehicle would fare any better than a snotling in that situation.
|
7th Back in Action!
6th 2000+
5th 2000+ retired
4th 2000+ retired
3rd 2000+ retired |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 19:27:11
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
Shake Zoola wrote:Gwar! wrote:The moral of the story is don't use SAG!
But its sooooo much fun!
Yes, Yes it is.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/04 19:46:38
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Shake Zoola wrote:If you roll a double one remove the mek as a casualty...models within 6in are removed from play...this brings up another question for me too then.
If the mek stepped out and got this result and there was a vehicle 6in away would it be removed from play as well? What if troops were embarked on that vehicle?
The wagon was a model that was within 6". It is removed. Likewise, if he's disembarked.
I'm curious as to why you did not remove the wagon. What was the reasoning behind that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/06 02:31:05
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Shake Zoola wrote:If you roll a double one remove the mek as a casualty...models within 6in are removed from play...this brings up another question for me too then.
If the mek stepped out and got this result and there was a vehicle 6in away would it be removed from play as well? What if troops were embarked on that vehicle?
The wagon was a model that was within 6". It is removed. Likewise, if he's disembarked.
I'm curious as to why you did not remove the wagon. What was the reasoning behind that?
A double 6 removes models from play as well...except for vehicles which take an automatic pen...so i figured a vehicle would react the same way to a double 1...we were going to do this when we realized that the mek wasnt physically on the table (i hadnt thought about counting from the hull which technically does place him on the table else he couldnt shoot) so we didnt resolve a pen...it didnt matter anyway as it was my the final shooting of the final turn and I was up by like 6 KPs or so (we werent countin...just krumpin!)
Seems like we played it wrong...no worries wont be happenin again!
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/06 15:34:45
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I see what you were thinking now. However, the 66 and 11 results are quite different.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/07 03:59:23
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
Scott-S6 wrote:I see what you were thinking now. However, the 66 and 11 results are quite different.
Well aware...it just seemed the most logical call on the fly to us...
Good thing it was with my regular play partner...he and I completely trust each other!
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/07 12:28:42
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
I would just like to point out that, RAW, it doesn't say anywhere that vehicles take a pen INSTEAD of being removed. It just states that all models hit by the gun are removed from play. Vehicles take a penetrating hit. RAW this would mean that vehicles are removed and take a pen hit. Please correct me if I'm wrong as I'm very new to the game and I might be reading it wrong.
|
Da Bonebringaz Waaagh!!! 1500 point - - - - - - - 5W/4L/3D
DC:90-S+G+MB--IPw40K10#+D++A+/hWD-R+T(T)DM+
http://www.petitionspot.com/petitions/StopMattWard |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/07 15:13:44
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Viper217 wrote: Yes indeed, a big mek w/ SAG in a full battlewagon flanked by 2 other battlewagons, with 3 trukks hiding behind, could easily remove from the game the entire formation with a roll of double ones. If that happens, you win the ork 'hilarious death' of the month and the other orks get a good guffah!
HAHAHAHAHA    Thats just awesome
|
Waaagh! Skarshak - Back after being lost in the Warp, an' ready to Krump sum 'eads! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/07 23:22:17
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ixias - you are correct, the pen is redundant...they seemed to forget vehicles are models too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/08 15:28:50
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ixias wrote:I would just like to point out that, RAW, it doesn't say anywhere that vehicles take a pen INSTEAD of being removed. It just states that all models hit by the gun are removed from play. Vehicles take a penetrating hit. RAW this would mean that vehicles are removed and take a pen hit. Please correct me if I'm wrong as I'm very new to the game and I might be reading it wrong.
You are correct in your reading. But, most players (that I know) do assume there's a missing "instead" in that rule.
If you're using the SAG, make sure to discuss this with your opponent pre-game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/08 18:52:22
Subject: Re:SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Santa Monica, CA
|
The vehicle would take a pen hit, not be removed from play. Double 1s is the same as double 6s, it just changes where the pie plate ends up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/08 18:56:15
Subject: Re:SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
Multra wrote:The vehicle would take a pen hit, not be removed from play. Double 1s is the same as double 6s, it just changes where the pie plate ends up.
Double 1's dose NOT say pen hit, only double 6's dose. Double on is all model in d6in. are removed.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/08 19:00:01
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
Wait, are you all staying that the intended writing was "vehicles are removed from play instead" or that "vehicles take an auto-pen instead"? Automatically Appended Next Post: Oh, this question refers to result after having rolled double sixes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/08 19:01:05
Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/08 19:19:57
Subject: Re:SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Santa Monica, CA
|
Noir wrote:Multra wrote:The vehicle would take a pen hit, not be removed from play. Double 1s is the same as double 6s, it just changes where the pie plate ends up.
Double 1's dose NOT say pen hit, only double 6's dose. Double on is all model in d6in. are removed.
Actually double 6 says "every model hit by the gun is removed from play. All vehicles take a pen hit." So if people want to go strict RAW enemy vehicles would be removed from play on double 6.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/08 19:20:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/08 19:22:50
Subject: SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
Ah, I see. I think that argument might get me beat for rebuttal!
|
Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/08 19:29:33
Subject: Re:SAG goes BOOM!!
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
Multra wrote:Noir wrote:Multra wrote:The vehicle would take a pen hit, not be removed from play. Double 1s is the same as double 6s, it just changes where the pie plate ends up.
Double 1's dose NOT say pen hit, only double 6's dose. Double on is all model in d6in. are removed.
Actually double 6 says "every model hit by the gun is removed from play. All vehicles take a pen hit." So if people want to go strict RAW enemy vehicles would be removed from play on double 6.
I was pointing out that double 1's and 6's aren't the same as your post says. I know what is says. I wasn't talking about what happens on a double 6, just that double 1's dosen't say pen, just remove from play.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
 |
 |
|