Switch Theme:

Sky Talon - IA8  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






IA8 introduces a new unit - the Valkyrie Sky Talon. This is a valk with no crew compartment that can carry a buggy or a couple of drop sentinels.
http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Warhammer-40000/Imperial_Navy/VALKYRIE-SKY-TALON_.html

It is not a transport vehicle. Rather, it has a special rule: Sky Lift
A Sky Talon can carry one Tauros or Tauros Venator or two Drop Sentinels. If you have sufficient Sky Talons, they may carry a vehicle squadron. The Sky Talons must remain in coherency whilst transporting a vehicle squadron.

This raises a number of questions:
1. Can it release the vehicles?
2. Is there any restriction on when the vehicles can be released?
3. Is there any restriction on the released vehicles moving and shooting?
4. Can the vehicles that are being carried be targeted?
5. What happens to the vehicles being carried if the Sky Talon is Wrecked or Destroyed?

The FAQ offers the following:
When a Tauros (or Drop Sentinel) ‘disembarks’ from a Sky Talon,
what can they do? Can they still move and shoot?
They disembark like infantry from a vehicle. So if the Sky Talon has
moved the Tauros can’t. If the Sky Talon hasn’t moved, then the .Tauros
can move as normal. They may still shoot.

This is not very helpful since they were never "embarked" as the Sky Talon is not a transport. However, it does offer a little guidance as to what was intended.

With no RAW at all for this, it comes down to how would you play it. Below is my thoughts on that but I'm curious to see what everyone else thinks.

1. Yes, because otherwise it's pointless.
2. I would follow the same restriction as disembarking passengers - only if it's moved 12" or less.
3. Again, I would follow the rules for passengers - may shoot. May not move unless the vehicle did not move before they disembarked.
4. No
5. ??

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/11/07 12:26:48


 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Since A) I rarely buy IA B) even more rarely get to play ... all i can give you is how i play it in apoc.

How far the transport vehicle has move is how far the transported vehicle has moved. In the case of squadrons its the largest distance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/07 13:53:43


 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Do you play that the carried model can be targeted? I'm not convinced it should be but nothing says it isn't.

What do you do with the embarked vehicles if a talon is wrecked or destroyed?
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

if the RAW aren't clear for #5, i'd go with the closest example available for RAI, the blood angels storm raven carrying a dreadnought. if the storm raven explodes, the dread suffers a strength 4 rear armor hit. that carries over easily to your example. as always, discuss it with your opponent.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Scott-S6 wrote:This raises a number of questions:
1. Can it release the vehicles?
2. Is there any restriction on when the vehicles can be released?
3. Is there any restriction on the released vehicles moving and shooting?
4. Can the vehicles that are being carried be targeted?
5. What happens to the vehicles being carried if the Sky Talon is Wrecked or Destroyed?

While it's not the best wording in the world, I would assume that when they say the vehicle may be 'carried' they mean that it is embarked as any other unit would be in a transport vehicle. This would be backed up by the FAQ pointing out that they disembark as infantry would.

Which nicely answers all of those questions.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






It's a shame they didn't make it

Type:
Vehicle
Skimmer (fast)
Transport (Tauros, Venator or 2x drop sentinels)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: