Switch Theme:

Multiple Tank Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer





US

I was called out on a thread in a different section of the forum, i thought to bring the arguement here even though i beleive i am in the right.

The Turn after it arrived from reserves Via Deapstrike, I declare an Assault against an Ig tank (i want to say lemon russ, but i really dont know that army) and move my Trygon in to base contact with the vehicle. Due to poor planning on part of my opponent, the base of the Tyrgon also comes into contact with two more tanks that where not in a squadron, nor where declared in the assault. Based on the Multiple Combat rules on page 41 of the BRB I Split my attacks to 3 on the main tank, and 2 on each of the others, (Trygon prime gets 7 attacks on the charge) roll each 'set' of attacks separately, and proceed to wreck havoc on three tanks.


Was this a Legal Assault?

"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






I can't see why this wouldn't be legal, bit then again I've never multi assaulted 3 units with 1 model before!!

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Because you can't!

Top left page 34
"as usual the closest attacking model must be moved to contact the closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared. Then the remaining models may assault models belonging to other enemy units."

While declaring an assault you're still forbidden to move into btb with other model that you are not assaulting and one may only assault another unit once the first has assaulted theirs.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






I wish I brought my rulebook to work...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Are there no exceptions for monstrous creatures or walkers for this?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 10:33:30


Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer





US

ChrisCP wrote:Because you can't!

Top left page 34
"as usual the closest attacking model must be moved to contact the closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared. Then the remaining models may assault models belonging to other enemy units."

While declaring an assault you're still forbidden to move into btb with other model that you are not assaulting and one may only assault another unit once the first has assaulted theirs.


I moved to btb contact with the model i declared to assault, given the amount of room i had for my model, the player did not need to move any of his to accomidate the large size of my model, and that size also brought two "bystanders" if you will into the fray, as during the assault phase i am allowed to declare attacks to any model that is in contact with mine.


Are there no exceptions for monstrous creatures or walkers for this?


Only thing mentioned in the MC section is the 2D6 + STR pen roll

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 10:35:08


"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Nah see, when you brought them bystanders into the fray you broke the 'no moving in btb with models you're not assaulting' cavet.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In other words if the only way for you to assault vehicle A with a Trygon is to move into contact with Vehicles B, C or D then you CANNOT assault vehicle A, as you would be breaking the first rule of the assault section.

You may ONLY contact the initial unit with the first model you move.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






However, if you had (for example) a brood of two carnifexes then the first could contact the first tank and the second could get into b2b with as many tanks as it likes providing it stays in coherency.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In fact it HAS to get in contact with a new un-based unit if possible, second bullet point from memory
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: