Switch Theme:

Falling Back  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Where does it say - or does it - that you must move your falling back units first, before anything else happens when your turn begins?

Or is this a presumption still leftover from 4th Edition?

I guess the question is more about regrouping. It looks like, in 5th, that you regroup before your move your falling back units. But there's nothing saying you must move your falling back units first - you simply test to regroup when you choose to move them (allowing you time to get a Fearless bubble into range of them, etc.).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/11 04:10:12


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

I can't seem to find anything. This must be a standard convention that most opponents want to see just how far that unit moves as it is now in a (slightly) fragile state. And, of course, I guess most of us want to see what the FallingBack unit does, as it has no choice and we would, accordingly, alter our other moves, depending on how far it retreated.

Whereas the other units have options.

What occurred such that waiting to move them was going to be helpful?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Brothererekose wrote:What occurred such that waiting to move them was going to be helpful?


He already mentioned the Fearless bubble (an Eldar Avatar, for example) which would make the unit regroup, and there's other rules/wargear that might help. Players have also thought about steering the retreating unit sideways so it won't run off the board so fast, commonly by placing another unit in the way.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/11 04:28:47


 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Spetulhu wrote:
Brothererekose wrote:What occurred such that waiting to move them was going to be helpful?


He already mentioned the Fearless bubble (an Eldar Avatar, for example) which would make the unit regroup, and there's other rules/wargear that might help. Players have also thought about steering the retreating unit sideways so it won't run off the board so fast, commonly by placing another unit in the way.


Right. A fearless bubble isn't entirely helpful, though, unless it has a special wording. Simply gaining Fearless does not immediately regroup you, unless the specific rule says it does. Like Synapse range. Synapse range specifically mentions that you immediately rally. However, immediately becoming fearless causes you to rally regardless of restrictions in your following movement phase. So, normally, you'd move your Fearless unit up, see if you're in bubble range and, if you're not, see if your unit continues to fall back into Fearless range, where they will stay until the following movement phase, when they auto-rally.

However, in the Tyranids' case, a unit of Genestealers may be broken, but a Tervigon casts Dominion, moves forward and manages to get the Genestealers into its Synapse range. They would immediately rally, move their 3" and be good to go.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

It doesn't say. You can move your units in any order you like. You do have to do it sometime in the movement phase, but the order is up to you.


“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, you can do it in any order.

Necrons do it all the time with 'porting through the lith. They can now no longer make a fall back move as they cannot move any further...
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Does that mean that a falling back unit absorbed by the monolith would regroup then? Or (technically) would they "fall back" out of the monolith on the next necron turn?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They are already on the table - when tey port they are immediately placed back on the table, they just are treated as if they had just disembarked.

Next turn they would fall back again, unless you pass / can take a Ld test to regroup before hand. Of course before they move you could always port them again.
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






So you can "recycle them" - and with real metal! And who says 40k wasn't good for the environment??

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep. Seen it used at a tournament, as it kept the necron player above phase out, and usefully had 10 more rapid fire shots to use....
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

ToBeWilly wrote:It doesn't say. You can move your units in any order you like. You do have to do it sometime in the movement phase, but the order is up to you.



nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes, you can do it in any order.


This leads me to ask, then, do they have to fall back? As in, do they have to actually move? If you choose not to move that unit (and hence, not to regroup), where is the rule stating that they must continue to fall back? Regrouping doesn't happen until you choose to move that unit. Is there anything saying that the unit must be moved?

Edit: This isn't rhetorical. I don't have my rulebook with me.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/11 16:01:54


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

A unit falling back must continue to do so each subsequent Movement phase.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

time wizard wrote:A unit falling back must continue to do so each subsequent Movement phase.


Gotcha thanks. So, they must keep falling back, but it's your choice when they do so. Guess it was a 4th Edition mindset that you must move them first.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, in 4th you explicitly moved them first - now you have a chance for things like autoregroup to happen. It also means you have less "start of turn" things happening, which is always a good thing given how confused they get....
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

liam0404 wrote:So you can "recycle them" - and with real metal! And who says 40k wasn't good for the environment??
And Necrons are all about the green too!
**crickets chirp**


Speltulhu wrote:He already mentioned the Fearless bubble (an Eldar Avatar, for example) which would make the unit regroup,

@Spetulhu : I experienced total blindness on the Fearless example. Maybe I thought it was 'signature' text and skipped it. Thanks for pointing it out ... nicely.

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: