Switch Theme:

Tau Pathfiner Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Rhizome 9

The tau codex says pathfinders have pulse carbines with makerlight target designators. Does that mean I can move and shoot the marker lights? Or even possibly shoot the markerlight and the carbine?




 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander




Jacksonville Florida

No. You choose to shoot either or, you can't shoot both from the same model and you can't move and shoot the markerlight.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Soulx wrote:The tau codex says pathfinders have pulse carbines with makerlight target designators. Does that mean I can move and shoot the marker lights? Or even possibly shoot the markerlight and the carbine?

The weapon profiles themselves in no way change. Pathfinders are essentially armed with two shooting weapons: the markerlight, and the pulse carbine. The pulse carbine has an Assault 1 profile - you may therefore move and fire it. The markerlight, on the other hand, is Heavy 1, therefore you may not move and shoot it.

The fact that it's coincidentally strapped to the body of the carbine has no effect whatsoever on the rules.

Also, as normal, you may only use one of these two shooting attacks, you can't use both in the same turn.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

Ninja'd by SH!

Soulx wrote:The tau codex says pathfinders have pulse carbines with makerlight target designators. Does that mean I can move and shoot the marker lights? Or even possibly shoot the markerlight and the carbine?
In short, no and no.

Look at what kind of weapon the MarkerLight is: Heavy. A carbine is Assault 1.

Just like Space Marines who have two toys, you can shoot one or the other, but not both, and you must obey each wep's limitations.
Bolter: Rapid Fire.
Bolt Pistol: Assault 1
Or even a LasCan toting SM. He doesn't get to go Assault 1 with it because he has a bolt pistol.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/14 04:15:09


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




Rhizome 9

Alright thanks I get it now. The fact that said it carbines with markerlights instead of carbines and markerlights kind of tripped me up.




 
   
Made in za
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge





South Africa

Soulx wrote:Alright thanks I get it now. The fact that said it carbines with markerlights instead of carbines and markerlights kind of tripped me up.


Yup, if you have just started playing Tau, or you are like me still, the Tau codex is very hard to understand. Dont feel stupid though, I have only recently understood the whole thing (didnt play my Tau for a whole year).

Hopefully whenever we get a new codex it will be written better (Starts praying to whatever God is up there that the new dex comes soon)

Lost my old page, so check out Ricekake87 for all my old stuff
1500 and growing 2000+pts 3000+pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: