Switch Theme:

C'tan question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

This came up in a game on friday. I had a unit of marines behind an outcropping of on of the administratum buildings with about 1"between the closest model and an outcropping of the building. My friend wanted to assault with the deciever and he was almost exactly 6" away in a straight line through the building. However, the outcropping would've been pretty much in the middle of his base after his assault move. Now, given the ability "Immune to Natural law", would he be able to assault anyway and end up in impassible terrain? There was literally no way to place his model in a way for it to remain there and for me to pile in on. It also would've been about 4-6" up.

Shoddy diagram:
D=deceiver
M=marines
each line is 1"


D

|
|
|
__
|
|M
|MM

Immune to Natural Law: C'tan never treat any terrain as impassible and are never required to make difficult terrain tests. They may float above impassible terrain. C'tan also count as having frag grenades when they attack models in cover.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

No, as it says you cannot stay in impassable terrian...

I'd have thought if you had the codex on you to make that quote, you'd have read that part?

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

It says they float above and cannot claim to be inside terrain. So if he wants to assault, he'd have to be able to reach you from the top of the impassable terrain or be able to place on the other side where the model was clear of the terrain.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

I don't have the codex on me and am not very familiar with necrons in general, but I thought it said you cannot claim to be in impassible terrain for shooting purposes. Can you quote me the page so I can look it up later, please?


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Boosting Black Templar Biker




California

Is the "outcrop" of the building impassable terrain or a part of a ruin? I believe if it's part of a ruin it can be moved through and you would just WMS the C'tan.
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

The outcrop was on the outside wall of a ruin.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

Exact quote is:

C'tan ignore terrain when moving, will tend to float above impassable terrain and cannot claim to be 'inside' objects to avoid being shot at."


Really I guess you can try to WMS it and as long as a unit couldn't shoot at it anyway, you could place inside an object if you go by RAW...although you might have to premeasure the range for certain units to determine if it could or could not be shot at, and I don't think that would be allowed. For me it's just too cumbersome, so I consider my C'tan to be able to pass completely through an object or be able to land on top of impassable terrain, but they can never end a move partially or entirely inside an object. It's simple and imo in the spirit of the rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/15 21:03:12


11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

We played it exactly how you said and disallowed the assault. I was just wondering if anyone else had come across this problem.

You find another way the rules are broken everyday I guess

Maelstrom808 wrote:Exact quote is:

C'tan ignore terrain when moving, will tend to float above impassable terrain and cannot claim to be 'inside' objects to avoid being shot at."


Really I guess you can try to WMS it and as long as a unit couldn't shoot at it anyway, you could place inside an object if you go by RAW...although you might have to premeasure the range for certain units to determine if it could or could not be shot at, and I don't think that would be allowed. For me it's just too cumbersome, so I consider my C'tan to be able to pass completely through an object or be able to land on top of impassable terrain, but they can never end a move partially or entirely inside an object. It's simple and imo in the spirit of the rule.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






I play with Ctan and we allowed the assault...although for us it was a tree in question.


The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points

"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK 
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

Right on, did you put the model into the combat or just leave it off the board and simulate it being there?


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: