Switch Theme:

Hmmm....Dark Eldar eh?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Just been looking in my shiny new Codex, and a thought struck me...is there anything preventing a Monstrous Creature embarking a Transport?

Don't have my 40k rulebook to hand, so having to ask.

If there isn't, I reckon a Cronos mounted on a Raider could be good for a laugh. At least, until the FAQ....

I mainly ask because I seem to recall the Craftworld codex specifically excluding the Wraithlord from such shenanigans...
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Yes. You have to be type "infantry" in order to be allowed in a transport. MCs aren't infantry, they're MCs.

To further clarify: Check out page 66 of the BGB under Transport Capacity. They actually list this twice and the second time, it gets it's own special paragraph

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/16 21:30:23


6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Cock. (not you. Cock as a term of general disappointment)
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

lol true MC can't get into a transport, but it would be hilarious

   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:lol true MC can't get into a transport, but it would be hilarious
Fex in a spod disagrees.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Will just have to creep out the rather convenient Portal then.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oooooooh! Good point!

Seriously people....page refs (I know I can't go check meself, but it's good to know it's a rule and not an opinion. Not attacking anyone, just a general pref of mine)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/16 21:31:15


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

guess transport's too generic of a term;

Guess a MC cannot get into a vehicle

although it can get into another MC

   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







In 40k the general rule is only infantry can be transported ... however specifically there are many rules that let you transport non infantry. Blood angels can transport jump infantry and dreads, Tyranids can transport MC ... in Apocalypse, super heavies can transport almost anything.

But you need a rule that lets you; otherwise it’s just the infantry that can get in.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Bah, and indeed arses.
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Guess a MC cannot get into a vehicle

although it can get into another MC


And that's how baby carnifexes are born!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/16 22:45:31


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Scyzantine Empire

Well, if you equip a model with a webway portal and put them in a raider while holding that Chronos in reserve...


nah, it's all just semantics.

What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money

"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Beast of Nurgle



Fort Wainwright Alaska

Tri wrote:In 40k the general rule is only infantry can be transported ... however specifically there are many rules that let you transport non infantry. Blood angels can transport jump infantry and dreads, Tyranids can transport MC ... in Apocalypse, super heavies can transport almost anything.

But you need a rule that lets you; otherwise it’s just the infantry that can get in.


Not to muddy the waters but Monstrous Creatures ARE infantry, just a specialized type. Like Jump Infantry.

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Priesmal wrote:Not to muddy the waters but Monstrous Creatures ARE infantry, just a specialized type. Like Jump Infantry.

No, sorry, they're not.

Infantry, Jump Infantry, Monstrous Creatures, Bikes, etc... are all distinct Types of units. They share some similar rules, but are each different types.

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




That's certainly my understanding of it.

Bah.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: