Switch Theme:

Power dice  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

according to the rules you may only have 12 power dice at the same time. if I roll a double 6 when generating power dice do I lose my banner of sorcery for that turn or can I use 3 PD and then activate the banner?

RB

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos





On the perfumed wind

Depends on the exact wording of the Banner of Sorcery. If it specifies that you may use it at any time during the phase, then yes. If it doesn't, then this bit of the FAQ applies:

Q: If I have a special rule that generates power or dispel dice at
that doesn’t state when they are added or specifies they are added at
the start of the Magic phase, when are these dice added to the
pool?(p30)
A: They are added after rolling for the Winds of Magic but
before any casting attempts have been made.

If I remember correctly, the banner falls under this FAQ, and so in your example, your banner is "wasted". But then, you still have 12 dice in your power pool.

RZ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/17 13:10:08


“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.

On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Based on the wording it would probably happen at the start of the magic phase as it states that D3 power dice are added to your "pile" implying that it is cumulative at the time of winds.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges






Limbo

Yes. If you happen to roll 12 for your Winds of Magic, you effectively 'lose' the D3 PD from the Banner of Sorcery.

DS:80S+GM--B++I+Pwhfb/re#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(O)DM+++

Madness and genius are separated by degrees of success.

Remember to follow the Swap Shop Rules and Guidelines! 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Jin wrote:Yes. If you happen to roll 12 for your Winds of Magic, you effectively 'lose' the D3 PD from the Banner of Sorcery and/or Teclis.

Fixed.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot



Provo, UT

I agree. Hey guys, long time no post, I know.

"If you want a picture of the future, imagine a boot stamping on a human face--forever." -1984, pg.267

I think George Orwell was unknowingly describing 40K.

Armies - Highelves, Dwarves 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: