Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 14:15:51
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
What happens if the centre of the template falls partially on the veh's hull, and partially outside? Does it hit with half strength, or no?
Please reference your answer to a page in the rulebook.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 14:25:45
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Are you asking if the MARKER central hole is entirely voer the hull or not?
The centre hole has to be entirley over the vehicles hull, otherwise it is half strength.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 14:38:32
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Are you asking if the MARKER central hole is entirely voer the hull or not? The centre hole has to be entirley over the vehicles hull, otherwise it is half strength.
unless there is another rule that negates it but these rules are normaly listed with the weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/17 14:42:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 14:39:56
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I thought it was only the DeathStrike that had that rule?
BEsides, there are exceptions to pretty much everything in 40k, we'd be here a while if we tried to list them all
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 14:47:11
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
I know but its worth warning people to check (I thought that bastion breacher shell did it but no only an extra D6 ... still that’s Str5+2D6 gives an average of 12.5 so not too shabby)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/17 14:47:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 15:09:27
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Are you asking if the MARKER central hole is entirely voer the hull or not?
The centre hole has to be entirley over the vehicles hull, otherwise it is half strength.
I would disagree with this.
The two bullet points on page 60 of BGB say:
"The centre of the blast marker ends over the vehicle's hull" and "The centre of the blast marker ends outside the vehicle..."
So, it's not the actual hole that matters, it's the very center point. As long as that center point of the hole is over the vehicle, you resolve at full strength. That definitely leaves open the possibility that some (or even most if you hit a corner) of the hole is off the vehicle and you'd still resolve at full strength.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 15:11:58
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:I thought it was only the DeathStrike that had that rule?
And the cyclops. Automatically Appended Next Post: Grakmar wrote:The two bullet points on page 60 of BGB say:
"The centre of the blast marker ends over the vehicle's hull" and "The centre of the blast marker ends outside the vehicle..."
So, it's not the actual hole that matters, it's the very center point. As long as that center point of the hole is over the vehicle, you resolve at full strength. That definitely leaves open the possibility that some (or even most if you hit a corner) of the hole is off the vehicle and you'd still resolve at full strength.
The preamble for those bullet points says "it makes a big difference if the hole in the centre of the marker is over the hull or not:"
I too would take the centre of the hole being over the hull as the requirement but whole hole or any part of the hole would also be valid. Another lovely bit of ambiguity. Incidentally, who's noticed that the large and small markers have different size holes? (bigger on the small marker)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/11/17 15:15:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/17 15:23:54
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
In this case it is less ambiguous, because it tells you what happens if the centre is outside the hull - resolve at full strength. No partial / fully worries there
Grakmar - as Scott says, the preammble talks about the hole being the "centre".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 02:06:33
Subject: Re:Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well, so the conclusion is :- As long as any part of the centre hole lies on the hull, it will be considered full strength? And you can't argue for the opposite, i.e. the centre (OR part of the centre) is outside the hull , right?
So nosferatu1001 's initial answer is incorrect?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/18 02:07:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/18 10:44:21
Subject: Blast Templates against Vehicles
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gah, typo - meant "resolve at half strength"
If the centre is outside of the hull, even a little bit, you resolve at half strength as the rules for half strength would kick in.
|
|
 |
 |
|