Switch Theme:

Did the new FAQ break Dark Eldar and Eldar?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






OK, keep one thing in mind....
I'm not saying I would try to enforce this, nor would I play this way, but I brought this up the the gamers at my local tournament and they agreed that it was a problem.

On Page 5, question 11 reads as follows:

Q: Can a unit with the Fleet special rule assault after
disembarking from a transport? (p75)
A: No, it cannot. The Fleet rule simply removes the
prohibition of assaulting after running.

Page 75 is a reference to the USR 'Fleet'.

According to the rule as written, any Dark Eldar or Eldar that disembark from a transport are barred from assaulting on the turn that they disembark if they have the Fleet USR.

As written, a Dark Eldar Raider could roll up, disembark their Wytches and be unable to assault until the next round because there is no grey area in the answer, just a simple "NO, IT CANNOT"
On the other hand, a unit of Trukkboyz that roll up to a similar target WOULD be allowed to assault after disembarking because they do NOT have the Fleet USR and the restriction seems to only apply to units with Fleet.

I know an observation like this deserves a good 'Dreadsocking', but it is a little broken imho.

Fire claws innocents without number
As charred cinders replace green life
Death takes good and evil to their slumber
And guilt stabs into me with its knife 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





This issue is adressed and dismissed in the FAQ thread in News and Rumours.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






DE have OPEN TOPPED transports. Different than just 'transports'....
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






[facepalm]
OP, these are not rules - they are QandA. The fleet question is for people who believe they can disembark a non-opentopped transport, run and then, because they have fleet, assault.
Clearly this is not the case. This QandA is not creating a new restriction, it's confirming an old one.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

This FAQ entry doesn't 'break' anything. It takes a willful mis-reading of it to result in what is being suggested here.

Nothing to see here that hasn't been discussed and dismissed previously. Moving on.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: