Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 17:53:36
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Ok I want to know if its possible for an HQ choice to be deployed in a transport by itself (without a unit)?
I mean, I know if its deployed with a unit it can but for instance Bjorn the Fell Handed is considered a Dreadnought wich has the dedicated transport rule but he doesnt so people argue that he cannot take one. So is that the same for say a Rune Pries or Wolf Gaurd Battle Leader?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 18:02:06
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Bjorn has no transport options, and cannot (generally) enter one as he is a vehicle. Other HQ options obey their own rules--which is to say infantry can embark into (most) anything, unless they are in terminator armor, or somesuch. Being an HQ unit has no bearing on transportation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/22 18:02:20
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 18:47:15
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The only limitation to entering a transport, dedicated or not, is if you are Infantry. Being an HQ / IC / etc is not important in this.
Bjorn is a Vehicle and therefore cannot enter a vehicle, unless he borrows a lift from a passing BA Stormraven....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 18:49:25
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Except that there are pretty much no HQ units that have a dedicated transport option.
You can only deploy in a dedicated transport if it was bought for you or you're an IC attached to the unit it was bought for.
So no, HQ's cannot start in a dedicated transport by themselves. Specifically, Rune Priests and Wolf Guard Battle Leaders cannot start in dedicated transports bought for other units unless they are attached to that unit. Bjorn cannot start in another unit's drop pod.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 18:55:24
Subject: Re:HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
The only stipulation that "dedicated transport" brings now is a unit cannot start the game in someone else's dedicated transport.
Infantry (vanilla ones only, not jump infantry or the like) are the only things that can embark on transports, barring a special rule on said transport (IE storm ravens).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 19:12:23
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Lord Commisars being an example where they can buy a dedicated transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 20:39:55
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Except that there are pretty much no HQ units that have a dedicated transport option.
You can only deploy in a dedicated transport if it was bought for you or you're an IC attached to the unit it was bought for.
So no, HQ's cannot start in a dedicated transport by themselves. Specifically, Rune Priests and Wolf Guard Battle Leaders cannot start in dedicated transports bought for other units unless they are attached to that unit. Bjorn cannot start in another unit's drop pod.
The only stipulation that "dedicated transport" brings now is a unit cannot start the game in someone else's dedicated transport.
Infantry (vanilla ones only, not jump infantry or the like) are the only things that can embark on transports, barring a special rule on said transport (IE storm ravens).
This is exactly the responses I continuosly recieve when asked in my local venue... One person says YES because (except Bjorn) they are Infantry so they can start inside a transpot... & some say NO because there isnt an option for dedicated transport in their profile..
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 20:46:20
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Being infantry means they can start the game in a transport, yes... but if it's a dedicated transport, they would have to join the owning unit in order to be in there at the start of the game.
If the IC has the option to purchase their own transport (as in the case of the Commissar Lord) then they are free to start in it. They can also start in any vehicle with a transport capacity that is not a dedicated transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 20:49:06
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
I also dont find the ruling that Bjorn is considered a vehicle to be enough to prevent him from using a drop pod as a normal, venerable & ironclad all have an option to select a dedicated transport. Not having that rule on his profile makes it more understandable as to why he cannot choose to have one then simply stating he cant because hes a "vehicle"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/22 20:49:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 21:05:36
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
WeeDawgNYC wrote:I also dont find the ruling that Bjorn is considered a vehicle to be enough to prevent him from using a drop pod as a normal, venerable & ironclad all have an option to select a dedicated transport. Not having that rule on his profile makes it more understandable as to why he cannot choose to have one then simply stating he cant because hes a "vehicle"
Bjorn being a vehicle means he cannot embark in a transport.
Starting in a Drop Pod would not actually entail embarking in the game, so it is allowed.
That said, Bjorn not having the option prevents Bjorn from utilizing the option that other units have.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 21:16:52
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
kirsanth wrote:Bjorn being a vehicle means he cannot embark in a transport.
kirsanth wrote:Starting in a Drop Pod would not actually entail embarking in the game, so it is allowed.
That said, Bjorn not having the option prevents Bjorn from utilizing the option that other units have.
This I already know, my initial question was for an IC other than Bjorn (he was used soely as an example) A Wolf Lord does not have that option on there profile either but is an INFANTRY type so can use it. but can I purchase a Drop Pod for him (& only him) to be deployed in.... is the real question
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 21:22:02
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
WeeDawgNYC wrote:kirsanth wrote:Bjorn being a vehicle means he cannot embark in a transport.
kirsanth wrote:Starting in a Drop Pod would not actually entail embarking in the game, so it is allowed.
That said, Bjorn not having the option prevents Bjorn from utilizing the option that other units have.
This I already know, my initial question was for an IC other than Bjorn (he was used soely as an example) A Wolf Lord does not have that option on there profile either but is an INFANTRY type so can use it. but can I purchase a Drop Pod for him (& only him) to be deployed in.... is the real question
No. You can only purchase a dedicated transport for a squad that specifically says you can buy a dedicated transport for it.
Drop pods are only dedicated transport, so you can't buy one alone.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 21:32:27
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above.
You CANNOT purchase a drop pod for a Wolf Lord as there is no option for him to take it in HIS entry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 22:03:07
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
WeeDawgNYC wrote:This I already know, my initial question was for an IC other than Bjorn (he was used soely as an example) A Wolf Lord does not have that option on there profile either but is an INFANTRY type so can use it. but can I purchase a Drop Pod for him (& only him) to be deployed in.... is the real question
You can't buy one for him, there's no option to do so in his entry.
However, if there is room in another unit's transport he can join that unit inside it.
Alternatively, you could buy a non-dedicated transport like a landraider and he can start in that. Note that pods, rhinos and razorbacks cannot be bought as non-dedicated.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/22 22:56:24
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Thanks everyone for your help.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 01:18:07
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
WeeDawgNYC wrote:Scott-S6 wrote:Except that there are pretty much no HQ units that have a dedicated transport option.
You can only deploy in a dedicated transport if it was bought for you or you're an IC attached to the unit it was bought for.
So no, HQ's cannot start in a dedicated transport by themselves. Specifically, Rune Priests and Wolf Guard Battle Leaders cannot start in dedicated transports bought for other units unless they are attached to that unit. Bjorn cannot start in another unit's drop pod.
The only stipulation that "dedicated transport" brings now is a unit cannot start the game in someone else's dedicated transport.
Infantry (vanilla ones only, not jump infantry or the like) are the only things that can embark on transports, barring a special rule on said transport (IE storm ravens).
This is exactly the responses I continuosly recieve when asked in my local venue... One person says YES because (except Bjorn) they are Infantry so they can start inside a transpot... & some say NO because there isnt an option for dedicated transport in their profile.. 
Re-read both of thewse quotes; Both Scott and Defenstrator said No starting the IC in a DT not Bought for them. Also the Rules in Plain text are on page 67 of the brb.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 02:12:05
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
Most people at my club agree that they can get their own transport if the dont have terminator armor in a rhino wings jumpacks or anything else treating the HQ as its own troops choice with no other units in it
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 02:20:06
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Scott-S6 wrote:
However, if there is room in another unit's transport he can join that unit inside it.
Bjorn isn't an IC iirc, or is there some DP rule I've forgotten that allows two different units to be embarked?
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 06:33:04
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nope, not an IC so he cant drop in with anyone, and no rule allowing him to hitch a ride in any normal vehicle - at least until the Stormraven appears!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 09:47:08
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
ChrisCP wrote:Scott-S6 wrote:
However, if there is room in another unit's transport he can join that unit inside it.
Bjorn isn't an IC iirc, or is there some DP rule I've forgotten that allows two different units to be embarked?
Even if he was an IC there's no pod that will hold two dreads. I was talking about the wolf lord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 12:47:36
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Khorne Flakes wrote:Most people at my club agree that they can get their own transport if the dont have terminator armor in a rhino wings jumpacks or anything else treating the HQ as its own troops choice with no other units in it
Assuming I parse your statement correctly.... most people at your club are playing with a House Rule, not the actual rules.
A unit can only get a dedicated transport if the option is in their profile.
If not included, if they are infantry, they can start the game in a non-dedicated transport if you have purchased it separately.
If not, they can get into a dedicated transport, after the game starts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 13:41:06
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
coredump wrote:
A unit can only get a dedicated transport if the option is in their profile.
If not included, if they are infantry, they can start the game in a non-dedicated transport if you have purchased it separately.
If not, they can get into a dedicated transport, after the game starts.
FINALLY....!!
This here is the perfect answer. thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 14:39:32
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
coredump wrote:If not, they can get into a dedicated transport, after the game starts.
Also - an infantry IC can start in another unit's dedicated transport if they are joined to that unit (and there's room)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/23 14:40:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/23 23:36:32
Subject: HQ's & Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Scott-S6 wrote:ChrisCP wrote:Scott-S6 wrote:
However, if there is room in another unit's transport he can join that unit inside it.
Bjorn isn't an IC iirc, or is there some DP rule I've forgotten that allows two different units to be embarked?
Even if he was an IC there's no pod that will hold two dreads. I was talking about the wolf lord.
Ah~ gotcha, thanks!
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
 |
 |
|