Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/24 02:19:23
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Hunting Glade Guard
|
I haven't been able to find something in the BRB about this.
The question is, if Dwellers from Bellow, or some other similar type spell that affects all models in a unit is cast on a monster who has handlers, does the crew have to take strength tests as well?
If not, does that mean that if the monster fails the strength test, then the monster is only removed from the game on a role of 1-4 and one of the handlers is removed on 5-6?
(I ask because I'm desperately trying to find a way to take on a WoC Hellcannon with my WE army)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/24 03:29:50
Subject: Re:monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
This is an interesting one for sure. Some thoughts:
The Monster and Handlers section on pg. 73 makes no mention of the handlers not being separate models. It does say that we ignore them for most gaming purposes, treating the monster itself as the extent of the unit though.
Furthermore, only if the monster suffers an unsaved wound are we told to roll the die and determine if its the Monster or the Handler who suffers the wound.
Dwellers makes no mention of wounds. It says "Every model in the target unit must pass a Strength test or be slain, with no saves of any kind allowed."
I *think* that this means if you hit the HC with Dwellers, then the cannon would test on its own S value. If it failed that test, it would indeed die, as you are not told to randomize this between the HC and the Dwarves.
I would like to hear others thoughts on the rules though as I am not sold on this as the official ruling.
|
2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/24 03:38:26
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos
|
I think you have it correct, Lensherr. Dwellers never puts a wound on the target, it just removes it.
|
“It was in lands of the Chi-An where she finally ran him to ground. There she kissed him deeply as he lay dying, and so stole from him his last, agonized breath.
On a delicate chain at her throat, she keeps it with her to this day.”
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/24 23:38:00
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Scribe of Dhunia
|
The crew and the cannon aren't treated as separate units so the cannon itself would take a test on it's own strength, and the crew would take a test on theirs. If the cannon dies from the spell, all the crew are removed with it but should the cannon live, it's just a matter of passing at least 1 crew test to keep it on the table.
Those are my thoughts anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 00:51:20
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
One test for the whole model, using the highest value.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 04:51:44
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Killjoy00 wrote:One test for the whole model, using the highest value.
I'm sorry but thats for ridden monster where everything is one model.
However there was a thread a while back where we discussed and proved the handlers are immune to such spells.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/11/25 04:52:23
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 19:18:59
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Scarecrow456 wrote:The crew and the cannon aren't treated as separate units so the cannon itself would take a test on it's own strength, and the crew would take a test on theirs. If the cannon dies from the spell, all the crew are removed with it but should the cannon live, it's just a matter of passing at least 1 crew test to keep it on the table. Those are my thoughts anyway. This is the hellcannon, not an empire cannon. The WoC Hellcannon is treated as a monster with handlers that happens to be able to shoot, not a war machine like you are thinking. If the hellcannon's crew die (either by enemy action or by being eaten by the beast itself) other things happen. As to the topic, I kind of think each model would have to test for Dwellers, monster and handlers included. I can see both sides though. I it is just my feel for it that the handlers are ignored for the movement related game purposes, and we use them as is for the rest such as combat, shooting and spells. I really don't have any particular back up for that, except that the handlers are able to attack and be attacked in melee, and the rule for them hiding behind the monster causing hits to be randomized is specially called out in the monster section, as are the special rules about movement (pretend they are not there). I might well be very wrong there, though, but I am just assuming that unless they tell me differently, I only ignore them for purposes of what they tell me to. A good question though...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/25 19:19:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 21:15:18
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The handlers can't be attacked in melee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 02:36:23
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Are you certain about that? I thought handlers fought in melee... or am I now getting the warmachines and monsters mixed up?
Damn, should have brought my rule book to my folk's house
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 04:35:33
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
They can attack but can't be attacked back.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/26 04:35:43
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 09:52:52
Subject: monster and handlers vs. dwellers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, you can only ever hit the monster - essentially makng everyones monster and handlers like Hydras.
|
|
 |
 |
|