Switch Theme:

Carnifex; a quick of clarification.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Raging Ravener




Norwich

Hi guys,

When looking at Carnifex options I noticed this:

".Replace any set of scything talons with:
- Twin-linked deathspitter.............. xx points per model
- Twin-linked devourers with
Brainleech worms .......................xx points per model"

This may be optimistic at best but does the plural literally mean two twin linked devourers putting out 12 re-rollable shots per turn per set of scything talons?

Cheers,

disty

EDIT - It seems I can't type talons

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/24 20:16:00


Codex Infestation, my Hrud Fandex, can be found here
Advice and constructive criticism is always appreciated. 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

There should be an 'or' in between the two different guns.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Else the tables of the free world would be a wall-to-wall wall of Carnifexes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/24 20:12:30


I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

I think he was asking if the twin linked devourers each consist of 12shot weapons--since each option lists devourers.

To which, I would say no.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

A twin linked weapon shoots the same number of shots as a single weapon, but you re-roll misses.

You can exchange one set of talons for one twin-linked weapon.

Without looking it up, I don't know how many shots the Carnifex heavy devourer has.

Does that cover all the bases?

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




Norwich

I was asking if the devourers were just that, for example:

Twin-linked deathspitter: str 5 AP 5 Assault (re-rollable)
Twin-linked Devourer (BL): str 6 AP - Assult 6 (re-rollable)
Twin-linked Devourers (BL): str 6 AP - Assult 6 (re-rollable) * 2 (re-reollable) Hence 12

As for the comment concerning 'or' I agree, however that's not how it is in print. Although I'm not that much of a rules lawyer to try that one.

Codex Infestation, my Hrud Fandex, can be found here
Advice and constructive criticism is always appreciated. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes, you can have 2 twin-linked devourers on a Carnifex giving you 12 rerollable strength 6 shots.

Edit:
Now I can see the confusion. Each devourer will only give you 6 twin-linked strength 6 shots. Having 2 sets will give you 12 shots total.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/24 20:32:59


 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

Yes, but not in exchange for a single set of talons.

Otherwise you could have four twin-linked devourers for 24 rerollable shots.


I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




Norwich

Kilkrazy wrote:Yes, but not in exchange for a single set of talons.

Otherwise you could have four twin-linked devourers for 24 rerollable shots.



Yes that's what I'm getting at. It's fine if everyone is in agreement with it although personally RAW it's 12 shots per set of scything talons, after all it should read deathspitter and devourer or devourers and deathspitters, mixing singular and plurals is asking for trouble. All said though I'm very much a RAI guy, thanks for all your input.

Codex Infestation, my Hrud Fandex, can be found here
Advice and constructive criticism is always appreciated. 
   
Made in at
Deranged Necron Destroyer





MC's can only fire 2 weapons a turn anyway. 4 Devourers don't make much sense.

https://atlachsshipyard.blogspot.com/
Just a tiny blog about Dystopian Wars and Armoured Clash 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

disty wrote:
Kilkrazy wrote:Yes, but not in exchange for a single set of talons.

Otherwise you could have four twin-linked devourers for 24 rerollable shots.



Yes that's what I'm getting at. It's fine if everyone is in agreement with it although personally RAW it's 12 shots per set of scything talons, after all it should read deathspitter and devourer or devourers and deathspitters, mixing singular and plurals is asking for trouble. All said though I'm very much a RAI guy, thanks for all your input.


You're assuming devourers means 2. Why not 3? Or, if you prefer, why not zero? After all, zero devourers is proper.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener




Norwich

Grakmar wrote:
disty wrote:
Kilkrazy wrote:Yes, but not in exchange for a single set of talons.

Otherwise you could have four twin-linked devourers for 24 rerollable shots.



Yes that's what I'm getting at. It's fine if everyone is in agreement with it although personally RAW it's 12 shots per set of scything talons, after all it should read deathspitter and devourer or devourers and deathspitters, mixing singular and plurals is asking for trouble. All said though I'm very much a RAI guy, thanks for all your input.


You're assuming devourers means 2. Why not 3? Or, if you prefer, why not zero? After all, zero devourers is proper.


Haha, that did cross my mind whilst reading but let's not go there; my old screamer-killer has been nerfed enough :(

Curse me for living in a dream world where the old brute is useful!

Codex Infestation, my Hrud Fandex, can be found here
Advice and constructive criticism is always appreciated. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

disty wrote:
Haha, that did cross my mind whilst reading but let's not go there; my old screamer-killer has been nerfed enough :(

Curse me for living in a dream world where the old brute is useful!


He's still a great model. Don't just judge based on competitive play. There's plenty of us out there who play classic non-optimized armies that the Carnifex fits right in.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






disty wrote: - Twin-linked devourers with
Brainleech worms .......................xx points per model"

This may be optimistic at best but does the plural literally mean two twin linked devourers putting out 12 re-rollable shots per turn per set of scything talons?

No, it's a single twin-linked weapon but they are always referred to in the plural as a twin-linked weapon consists of two weapons connected.

e.g. Twin-Linked lascannons is two lascannons connected to form a single weapon (one shot) with the twin-linked rule.

However, you can swap both sets of talons for devourers so that you have 2x twin-linked devourers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/25 09:16:43


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






The Problem the OP was having was that the Nid Dex Lists all the other T-L Weapon options in the Singular.

Example: Twin linked Deathspitter, or twin linked Heavy Venom Cannon.

Only the Carnifex and the Hive tyrant gets twin linked Devourers.

Then again that might be because the Devourer's Ammunition is also defined; and the Fact that the Definition for Brain-leech worms also refers to them as "devourers" in the Plural.

at any rate it is only the 1 Twin-linked gun with 6 Re-rollable attacks.

Even if you were to take it as a plurality meaning 2 You would Still only Fire 6 re-rollable shots/ twin linked Devourer, so would require both your MC Shooting attacks to get the 12(nothing in it tells you that the Twin-linked Devourers with Brainleach worms count as a single weapon but fire as 2). Mind you the "it's plural, therefore it is 2" theory does allow for some better builds, gaining 2 guns and a Set of CCW biomorphs(lashwhip, bonesword, and 2 Devourers; or Crushing Claws and 2 Devourers). But it relly doesn't seem to work that way.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in iq
Dakka Veteran






The simplest way to think about this is like so:

Tyranids:

6 Limbs

2 = Legs/Feet

2 (or 4) = CC weapons (Scything Talons, Crushing Claw, etc)

2 (or 4) = Ranged weapons (All others)

Thusly, you will have modeled 2-4 weapons on the big beasty himself, however they only fire as 2 separate weapons being able to re-roll. As ranged weapons have always taken up 2 arms minimum when modeled on the model itself. There has never been a single arm mounted Ranged weapon. (That I've seen, that isn't made up fan-fiction.)

Anywho, I don't know if this helps, but it's clear in my eyes.

Have fun with your Carnifex's I will miss using them in competitive games.

: 1500pts - : 1000pts - : 1500pts
I want you to know that every time I fart under the covers... (Frrp!)
I'm doing it because I care about you and I want to keep you warm.
Don't fight my methane cuddels. Enjoy them!
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






This Carnifex:

Would like to have a word with you.

This is the Stock, default Configuration for a Carnifex with Devourers(Twin linked). Note that they are 2 separate "hands" holding a Devourer each.

It is still 1 "weapon system" in 2 hands; but more akin to "guns akimbo" then 2-handed wielding of a combined gun.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in iq
Dakka Veteran






Fexor wrote:
...

Thusly, you will have modeled 2-4 weapons on the big beasty himself, however they only fire as 2 separate weapons being able to re-roll. As ranged weapons have always taken up 2 arms minimum when modeled on the model itself. There has never been a single arm mounted Ranged weapon. (That I've seen, that isn't made up fan-fiction.)

...


Ok THIS might have confused you, because I was meaning when you modeled the Carnifex with 4 guns, as in 2 Ranged weapon choices (ie. Two Single Handed Twin-Linked weapon choices, which means 1 in each limb, which would be 4 weapons), you don't get to fire 4 weapons, only 2 with re-rolls. I'm sorry if that was confusing or hard to follow.


Kommissar Kel wrote:This Carnifex:


Would like to have a word with you.

This is the Stock, default Configuration for a Carnifex with Devourers(Twin linked). Note that they are 2 separate "hands" holding a Devourer each.

It is still 1 "weapon system" in 2 hands; but more akin to "guns akimbo" then 2-handed wielding of a combined gun.



So, like I said...1 weapon selection takes up TWO arms. How is this confusing?

You picked Twin-Linked Devourers, there is no option for a single devourer, which means, when you selected the Ranged weapon you HAD to model TWO arms.

Where am I losing you on this?

*Note: The crushing claws also prove my point, 1 weapon selection and the model has TWO arms with Crushing Claws...amazing!

: 1500pts - : 1000pts - : 1500pts
I want you to know that every time I fart under the covers... (Frrp!)
I'm doing it because I care about you and I want to keep you warm.
Don't fight my methane cuddels. Enjoy them!
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Houston TX

ok so if ordering for forge world i would need two sets the twin linked devourers right? each set they come as a pair so I need in total four arms of twin linked devours right?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

You do realize you just resurrected a four year old thread?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Houston TX

yep,


Automatically Appended Next Post:
why make a new thread about the same topic

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/30 16:40:45


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Dakka's Forum Rules, specifically Rule #6.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Krazed Killa Kan




Claremont, ON

For the forgeworld you only need 2 arms. Each arm has two devourers. Totaling 4 Devourers. Each arm is a a twinlinked devourer. You can have a max of 2 twin linked devourers so you need but 1 set (2 arms) for each carnifex. The other two arm sockets go unused if using the forgeworld set.

2500 4000 4000 5000 5000
DE 2500 TS: 2500 2500  
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Forum Tenets maybe?
Resurrecting old threads makes it harder to determine what is and isn't a current issue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/30 16:55:25


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







Yes, please.

Please check the date of the last post in a thread before posting in it - thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: