Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 16:37:02
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Right. so, lets say a chimera with turret multi laser and hull heavy flamer has not moved and may fire both weapons.
i say my target is a unit that is within range of the multi laser, but out of template range. now since none of the target unit can be hit by my flamer template am i free to turn it where ever? like on the unit that is in perfect flamer formation right in front of the tank?
now if i could clip one model of the other unit with the flamer template then i must do so.
OR lets say a wraithlord with Bright lance, Missile launcher and 2 flamers says his target is a tank that is again within range of the 2 guns, but not the flamers.... would it be free to toast the unit of guys standing by him?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 16:47:06
Subject: Re:firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Storm Guard
Minnesota
|
If the template is out of range it misses outright and wouldn't fire/hit anything. You especially could not target another unit with the flamer just because you were out of range.
P.17 of the BRB for that rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/25 16:47:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 16:47:50
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
Indeed, being out of range = auto miss
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/25 20:27:55
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
quite right, out of range ='s auto misses
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 13:54:38
Subject: Re:firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
flamers do not roll to hit though.
The wording on page 29 the mini rule book is
"instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing, and the rest of the template covers as meny models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models"
if we go by RAW then well, i cant touch any of the target unit so i am free to turn it how i wish.
if we go by RAI then well, i cant touch any of the target unit so i cant fire.
i am going by RAI on this one, but what do you do to the rules lawyer who tries to do this? by RAW i cant see why he couldent do it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 14:02:32
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, if you go by RAW ANY weapon that is out of range AUTOMATICALLY misses.
Read the shooting rules, "check range", which precedes rolling to hit. BTW the range of a template weapon is "template".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 14:41:00
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Nos is right envy, if the 8.1" flame template is out of ranged of the targeted squad unfortunately it will AUTO-MISS
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 15:12:14
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You dont get to the "roll to hit" stage, essentially - even though you hit automatically, if you are told you will miss automatically the step before you never find out you woul dhave hit automatically had you been in range...
Or something like that.
In the end: RAW you cannot flame one unit when your actual target is out of range.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/26 16:44:58
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Envy; go back to the First line of the hit resolution paragraph: "Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that it's narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without also touching any friendly models."
I Italicized the important bit here; if the Target unit is out of range of the Template; can you legally place the template?
No, no you cannot.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:04:43
Subject: Re:firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
can a flamer hit multiple units at once?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:17:35
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
yes providing 2 situations:
1) the main target unit is hit
2) The template covers as many models as possible in the Main target unit
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:27:37
Subject: Re:firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
Ok so the rulebook says, "place the flamer template so that it hits as many models in the target unit as possible."
So couldn't a situating occur where, and I'll use Envy's example for this, you have a Chimera with Multi Laser and Heavy Flamer. You fire the Multi Laser at, lets say a unit of Land Speeders, and then lets hypothetically say that there is also a unit of marines in front of the Chimera in Flamer range that just happened to be at the same angle as the unit of Land Speeders you just shot at.
Now the rules say you have to attempt to cover as many enemy models in the targeted unit as possible, but since the Land Speeders are out of range the flamer would still fire. The template, however, would aim toward the Land Speeders in the "attempt" to cover as many of them as possible, and in the process would hit the marines that were standing in front.
I believe this is correct because the flamer would still fire but you can not angle the template whichever way you like, but in the rare situation that the unit is at the same angle couldn't you still fire the flamer and hit them in the "attempt" to cover as many models as possible? Note it says the word "attempt" that means even in the event of a failed shot.
|
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:33:13
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
IIRC It also says that if the Target unit is out of range the Template misses entirely.
That means it does not hit anything.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:53:06
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sanguinis - there was just a thread about this.
If you are out of range you miss automatically. No ifs, buts, or anything.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 18:00:22
Subject: Re:firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
Ok thanks Nos!
I was wondering because someone pulled that on me.
I never actually tried it myself.
|
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 20:16:33
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
|
i believe it falls into the same category as the vindicator thats not in range. You can shoot it hoping that it'll scatter onto something, you have to be able to actually put the template on your target and not just hope for a lucky roll to extend your range.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 20:53:10
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
pjmcgrath07 wrote:i believe it falls into the same category as the vindicator thats not in range. You can shoot it hoping that it'll scatter onto something, you have to be able to actually put the template on your target and not just hope for a lucky roll to extend your range.
What its a flame template, not a blast template, so no you can't.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 20:54:42
Subject: Re:firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Envy89 wrote:if we go by RAW then well, i cant touch any of the target unit so i am free to turn it how i wish.
What RAW gives you permission to target a different unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 21:21:09
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Noir wrote:pjmcgrath07 wrote:i believe it falls into the same category as the vindicator thats not in range. You can shoot it hoping that it'll scatter onto something, you have to be able to actually put the template on your target and not just hope for a lucky roll to extend your range. What its a flame template, not a blast template, so no you can't. I read his post and was very confused by it. It seems to claim one thing and them claim the opposite. I am 99% sure it's just a typo. Add 't to can in his 2nd sentence and it not only makes sense but is also correct rules! Automatically Appended Next Post: Scott-S6 wrote:Envy89 wrote:if we go by RAW then well, i cant touch any of the target unit so i am free to turn it how i wish.
What RAW gives you permission to target a different unit? He's saying the following: You have to place the template to cover the maximum number of models in the target squad. If they're out of range, you can't cover any models. That means that any placement that doesn't hit a friendly model is equally legitimate. So, placing the template to hit a 2nd squad (while maintaining your maximum of zero on the target squad) would be allowed. From that logic, he's correct. But, he was missing the issue that when your target is out of range, you auto-miss, even for guns that don't have standard hit/miss rules.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/11/30 21:25:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/30 21:24:50
Subject: firing flamers when out of the templat range.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I think he is just missing the 't' in his 'cant' for it, the rest of the post suggests he thinks you need to be in range or you automatically miss.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|