Switch Theme:

Fusion Cascade. How many dice?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

I know that GW have been moving away from variable rates of fire this edition, but FW still love them. So here's my question. If I have multiple XV9s, say two, both armed with fusion cascades how many dice do I roll for the number of shots?

1 die*4 or 4 dice?

The reason I ask is that the only variable shot weapons I can find, Lootas, has the direction to only roll 1 die multiplied by the number of models in the unit.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1 dice, multipled by the number of cascades, seems the most sensible and in keeping with other usage.

It is, however, less likely to gi ve you the average number of shots..
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Cheers, that was my initial thought. But always good to check with someone else.

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






I would disagree.

Lootas have a rule telling you to roll once for the whole squad.

XV9's don't have this so each weapon would roll separately.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

If each guy has a Fusion Cascade, then each guy will get one D3 shots, rather than a D3 for the whole unit. So 3 XV9's all with dual Cascades will get 6D3 Fusion shots!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




That wasnt the question - the question was do you roll:

XD3, where X is the number of cascades; or do you roll 1D3 x X

The latter is how Lootas roll, and ensures wider variation as you are less slikely to hit the middle of the bell.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Exactly as Nos put it.

There is only one unit in 40K that has variable shots, ie Lootas. Since the XV9s' have a similar variable I wanted to know how others would play it. If each guy has to roll seperately I could end up having to roll for each individual model and then seperate them for ranges etc.

One roll makes it simple.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





AndrewC wrote:Exactly as Nos put it.

There is only one unit in 40K that has variable shots, ie Lootas.

Reaver Jet bikes are pretty similar. They roll a die for each model.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Zap guns roll for the battery. But they have a special rule telling us to do so.

Reavers do not have that rule so we do not.

If two meks with SAGs formed a unit we would roll for them separately as we are not told to roll together.

Does the fusion cascade have a rule telling you to roll once for the whole squad?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

No, but no other weapon that I know of has variable shots. Reavers I know nothing about, what are their rules?

Cheers

Andrew

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/27 23:29:47


I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The do D3 S4 or D6 S6 hits on any unit they roll over.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: