Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:13:32
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
Ok had an issue come up in a game the other day.
IG player had Medusa's and fired 1 of them at my Land Raider, now the blast template scattered and the hole landed over the Flamstorm sponson. My question is, does the Sponson of a vehicle IE: Flamstorm Cannon, Lascannons, Heavy Bolters, etc, Count as "The Hull" of the vehicle?
I asked my opponent because I wanted to be sure, and he said he believed the sponson was part of "The Hull" of the vehicle, I respectfully disagreed because the sponson is not "The Hull". "The Hull" of the vehicle in my understanding would be any main part of the model such as, the body, the treads, or fuel/ammo tanks on the back. After all if a shell lands on the sponson yes it has a chance of destroying the weapon but I doubt that would be able to destroy the whole tank. My opponent told me it was a point of argument and that it hasn't really been decided yet, but it was a friendly game and my opponent was really nice so we went with no it wasn't, but I want to see what dakka's PoV on this would be as I hope I didn't cheat against him or anything.
Thanks guys!
|
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:17:07
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I dont have my rulebook handy but I'm pretty sure the mount counts as hull but the barrel does not.
so if it landed over the Gun mounts then its hull. any part of the barrel of the flamestorm and its not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:18:16
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
I have never had this come up yet, but I would not play it as part of the hull unless the rulebook said otherwise.
|
Jidmah wrote:That's why I keep my enemies close and my AOBR rulebook closer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:19:39
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
mrdabba is correct.
Gun barrels, antennas, dozer blades and the like are not hull. Everything else seems to be.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:21:23
Subject: Re:What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
I would be inclined to call it part of the hull. The BRB says the hull does not include barrels flags and decorations. Those are the only things that it says does not count as hull. It is somewhat unclear but I would venture to say its part of the hull.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:21:37
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
The rules say hull or turret, but ignoring gun barrels.
Sponsons are not turrets, but neither are they really decorative elements.
I would say the sponson can be hit, but the gun barrels themselves (alone) would not be a viable target.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:24:55
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Mighty Gouge-Horn
|
What about the Vendetta's wings?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:26:26
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Grix wrote:What about the Vendetta's wings?
Same, they can be shot.
Like Eldar skimmers.
Not permitting shooting at them causes far more silliness than permitting shooting at them does.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/11/29 19:26:38
Subject: What constitutes as "The Hull"?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
hull. Basically ask yourself: is it a Gun barrel, dozer blade, or decorative element? If not then it is hull.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/29 19:26:58
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|